We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #322 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We just got back from our second stay at the St Giles...didn't think it was possible but we loved it even more than the first time! The staff is great, the rooms are huge and comfortable, and the location is perfect. It really feels like a home away from home, and leaves you wanting to book your next stay before you even leave! We recommend this hotel to everyone we know who is visiting the city!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,091)
There are newer reviews for The Court – A St Giles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,380 - 1,384 of 2,091 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Hotel has a great Location, walking distance to 5th Avenue, Grand Central Station as well as up- and downtown. The receptionist are all very friendly and helpful. We had the executive junior Suite, a very very spacious room for NYC.
Breakfast however is not so great, I would recommend to eat somewhere else.
All in all great value for a great price. I would go back there

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

First of all, Juan, one of the Concierge at The Court, was wonderful and very knowledgeable. He knows almost everything / everyone in NYC. Juan is well connected and booked restaurants for us on the spot - even those that are hard to make reservations - particularly on the same day. Don't know how he did it, but a few clicks of a mouse, we were in!

Everyone was very helpful and I've read some people lacked coffee / tea - all you need to do is ask. Ice was also provided on request - a large or small bucket.

We had a junior suite for an excellent price. Our room was on the 15th floor with nice views of the Chrysler Building. It was HUGE. A bedroom with a super king sized bed and TV, closet and bathroom. We also had a balcony - a nice surprise. We also had a sitting room with a bar, TV, sideboard, study table and another closet. There was also a sofa-bed.

To be completely honest, there are a few areas that need renovation and I am sure once The Tuscany (next door) is complete, The Court will be next. Regardless of this, we were very comfortable in the room and would recommend it for the space and price - after researching a number of hotels on the net, this is by far the best value for money.

The location was perfect. I would recommend staying Midtown. The Court is 2 blocks from Grand Central Station and there are plenty of restaurants just outside the door, don't think you need to travel to find a good place to eat.

We would pick up lunch from the local Gourmet Deli (a big plate of sashimi for $14) which quite happily fed the two of us. Other tips - go to the Bagel House on Lexington, just outside the hotel to get hot pastrami sandwiches to take with you - a much better choice than the vans parked outside the attractions which are fairly priced, but the lines are long.

This was our first time in NYC and staying at The Court was a fantastic choice.

Room Tip: Go for a Junior Suite - it's not that much more and you get 650 sq ft
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerf00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

St Giles is located in midtown, very near to Grand Central Station and within walking distance of uptown locations like Central Park and downtown locations like Greenwich Village, as well as Times Square. The decor is old but this does not claim to be a ***** hotel. The real features are the spaciousness of the rooms, the very friendly and helpful staff, and great location. The staff were wonderful and assisted us with much courtesy and efficiency throughout our stay. There are many nearby restaurants. We enjoyed Mapo Tofu and Rare Bar and Grill. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We've just returned from a long weekend... And we really enjoyed our stat at The Court hotel.

We usually stay in quite budget places- so this was a bit of an expense for us. But it was worth it- very large comfortable room, great shower, lots of wardrobe space, and huge bed. Meant lazing around very pleasant.

Location also great- one block from Grand Central, and Crysler. And short stroll to 5th avenue, and main shopping area. Generally in middle of manhattan to easy to pop to all areas on subway or in taxi.

Guys in reception and on the door were all very friendly and helpful. Looking after our bags and helping with cars and taxis.

There is a lively bar on the ground floor that we didn't try. Same with breakfast and the salon.

Would definitely go again.



  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krl_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#190 of 468 in New York City
795 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#137 of 468 in New York City
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#196 of 468 in New York City
3,365 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#131 of 468 in New York City
4,867 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#248 of 468 in New York City
2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Business Hotel in New York City
#201 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#241 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 11,525 - ₹ 30,970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing