We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Never met expectations...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #297 of 464 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never met expectations...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The website was impressive which led to a big disappointment on arrival. Our Room was very old and in desperate need of renovation. bathroom taps/shower was rusty, the carpet was old and rugged in corners. A very basic 3 star room. Our room went without being cleaned, which led us to complain and get ready for dinner in a dirty room. The concierge service wasn’t the best, lacked effective communication skills when dealing with customers. I'm not in a rush to return - there are much better value hotels in NY.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simtravel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1dutymanager, Front Office Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear Simtravel_12,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies that your expectations were not met on this most recent visit. We do in fact have an extensive refresh of our product at the Court Hotel scheduled for 2013 following this summers completion of the renovation of our sister property the Tuscany Hotel a few steps up the street.

St Giles Court Hotel has many rooms that are in great condition. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss the particular room that you stayed in as well as a way to have you here with us again so that you may experience our hotel as the majority of our guests do. At your convenience please contact me so that we can discuss your stay in more detail.

Warm Regards

Michael Yancy
Director of Front Office
St Giles New York Tuscany & Court
michaely@stgilesnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    832
    357
    117
    60
See reviews for
357
763
117
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

All you could want during your trip to NYC. We stayed in the St Giles, Court Hotel from 22nd to 29th March 2012 on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed at the sister hotel, Tuscany, late last year. As the Tuscany was undergoing renovations we had to change our booking to the St Giles  and were pleasantly surprised.
 
On arrival we were given a code for our complementary WIFI (incredibly handy as a first time visitor to the city). Unfortunately the welcome wasn’t quite as expected, the staff were quite indifferent and didn’t offer to help us with our luggage, nor were they anxious to help us book a table at a local restaurant and on requesting if our luggage could be stored after check-out I was told ‘yes’, and if it was safe, ‘it is what it is, it’s your call!’, which didn’t exactly inspire confidence. (Our luggage was fine when we returned to pick it up before departing).
 
We had quiet room, as requested, on the 11th floor overlooking the Empire State building. Having read horror stories of NYC hotels bed bugs, roaches and other nasties we scoured the room – nothing. All clean. The bed was big and comfortable, the pillows delightfully fluffy, the linen was changed as per request, the bathroom towels were replenished daily.
 
The location was excellent – close to Grand Central – perfect for the subway, Empire State  - a must for a first time visit, Time Square, Central Park and many other attractions.
 
This hotel was ideal after a long day trekking around the sites; lovely comfortable bed, delicious Philosophy toiletries and a welcoming hot shower.
 
Having never stayed in the city before I have no benchmark for comparison however I think you would have to hunt afar to match such a great deal as the St Giles, the Court Hotel. I would stay here again without hesitation and recommend to a friend or family member.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astrophella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We always read reviews before booking a hotel, and have so far agreed with the review average ratings.

This goes for the St Giles Hotel The Court too. Average rating is four stars. Agree!

This was the first hotel we stayed in on our very first trip to the USA. Stayed there for four nights. Were out of hotel most of the day, and did not eat at the hotel. Would go back there next time we visit New York City!

Good: Friendly staff, nice room, good amenities, location.
Bad: Be careful with the use of toilet paper!! The toilet got jammed (fortunately the last morning). Guests should have been warned in advance - like e.g. some hotels in, say, Greece. Not good value for money, but I guess hotel prices are high in NYC. Similar hotels may cost as much.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TVTravelerHaugesund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Spending 6 days here with my wife and 2 teenage daughters was great, it was the perfect location: a brilliant view of the empire state building, grand central station just 2 blocks away and many restaurants on your doorstep. The room was for the 4 of us and was a resonable size with 2 queen sided beds. But a limited amount of storage space. Very good upkeep on cleanliness. The staff were very helpful and recommended restaurants and places of interest. A gym was available 5 mins away as the hotel gym was under referbishment. The bar had a great atmostphear and was always buisy although if your looking for a quiet drink with the kids its not the place for you. we were shocked to find out that a cup of coffee was $9 and we would recommend buying own food/snacks for the room. Overall we were very impressed and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This Hotel has big rooms with big comfy beds, ideal location for site seeing, walking distance of Grand Central Station, The Empire State Building, The Chrysler and Times Square and with Grand Central on your doorstep anywhere else is just a subway ride away! The only negative was no tea/coffee making facilities, but we solved that problem when we discovered a fab little diner on the first morning - Scotty's, which is opposite the hotel on Lexington Avenue! We were hardly in the hotel and didn't try the bar or restaurant. The rooms have free safety deposits box, shampoo etc There's a mini bar (charged) and it was kept clean...no complaints!

Room Tip: We were on seperate floors to our friends when we arrived, but the offered to move us to the same fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,556 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#197 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#239 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,126 reviews
Midtown
Dylan Hotel NYC
Dylan Hotel NYC
#379 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,694 - ₹ 25,939
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing