We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got The Room at a Great Price!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #299 of 467 Hotels in New York City
medford new york
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Got The Room at a Great Price!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I stay in NYC a lot since I live on Long Island. This hotel was a great price so I couldn't resist staying there. I would actually give it 3.5 stars because there were many things I liked about it. The room was very clean. The bed was very comfy as were the pillows. The desk staff, as well as the concierge, were polite and helpful. The location is great and in a good neighborhood.
The only thing I didn't like was that the room they gave us had a lot of imperfections. If it wasn't for the great price these imperfections would have been quite bothersome. For one thing, the heater made an awful sound all throughout the night. Parts of the room were worn and in need of an update. The television worked intermittently due to a weak signal. I'm thinking the room price was so low because of these imperfections. Read other reviews to compare. Overall, I would stay there again at that price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MedfordNewYorkDotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    612
    839
    360
    117
    62
See reviews for
358
771
119
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Yes indeed, the St Giles benefits from its excellent spot right smack near such centres of interest as the Grand Central Station -with its legendary Oyster Bar-, the Morgan Library, the Chrysler Building and the Empire State, just to name a few. But the spacious, comfortable,affordable, well appointed rooms, with nice amenities are an added drawing asset. I found the staff unfailingly courteous and helpful. The minus has been described elsewhere: the radiators do tend to clink clank clunk a bit. But I certainly would warmly recommend the St Giles.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the Lexington side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torontonian54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed at the St Giles Hotel-The Court with a friend last weekend. This was my first trip to New York and this hotel surpassed my expectations. It has an excellent location only a few blocks from Grand Central Station. You can also walk all around Manhattan and take in the New York Public Library, Rock Center, Broadway, Times Square, etc.

The room itself was quite spacious. The rooms are modern and clean and the bed was very comfortable. I was also surprised at how quiet it was. We didn't have a special view from our room, but for the price, that didn't matter. It was a great launching pad for exploring Manhattan.

Service at check in and check out was very friendly. They were also happy to hold our bags for us when we arrived in the city early. The concierge was a bit brusque but she directed us to a wonderful restuarant in the West Village (Phillip Marie).

Overall, I would definitely recommend tihs hotel if you get a good rate. I felt it was an excellent value at a couple hundred dollars per night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit, Bucks
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is in a very central location - within walking distance of The Empire State Building, Grand Central Station, Times Squares and the Rockafeller Centre. The room was spacious and on the 14th floor so noise was not a problem, the beds were really comfy and we had an amazing view of the Empire State Building. We got a really good deal through booking.com. It's not a particularly child friendly hotel as our kids aged 14 and 11 were not allowed in the bar area - although this was not really a problem as we were out most of the time. There are quite a few diners/cafes in the near vicinity including Scotty's diner (really good for breakfast) as well as Starbucks/ Dunkin Donuts. We did not use the restaurant as it was pretty pricey and I ordered room service for breakfast on my Husband's birthday as a breakfast treat, knowing it was very expensive, however what they delivered to the room was a joke considering the price I paid. Later on that day we returned from a busy day out to a plate of cupcakes as a birthday surprise which was a nice touch. All in all I would stay here again if it were available for the price we paid, purely for the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor to reduce noise and for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brit_BucksFairydust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My room had huge cockroaches in the bathroom. The A/C- heat was loud. Lots of street noise. I was on the Lexington side.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1dutymanager, Front Office Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Please accept our apologies that your stay with us was less that perfect. We would like the opportunity to discuss the details of what happened with your accommodation while here.

I am unsure if you had the opportunity to express the concerns you mentioned with one of our management team, however we would hope to discuss this to your satisfaction and have you feeling comfortable about staying with us in the future.

Please contact me at your convenience and we can talk. michaely@stgilesnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#128 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,605 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#242 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#130 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Midtown
The Renwick Hotel New York City, Curio Collection by Hilton
The Renwick Hotel New York City,...
#73 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,451 - ₹ 25,098
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing