We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Huge Cockroaches!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Ranked #297 of 464 Hotels in New York City
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Huge Cockroaches!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

My room had huge cockroaches in the bathroom. The A/C- heat was loud. Lots of street noise. I was on the Lexington side.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1dutymanager, Front Office Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Please accept our apologies that your stay with us was less that perfect. We would like the opportunity to discuss the details of what happened with your accommodation while here.

I am unsure if you had the opportunity to express the concerns you mentioned with one of our management team, however we would hope to discuss this to your satisfaction and have you feeling comfortable about staying with us in the future.

Please contact me at your convenience and we can talk. michaely@stgilesnewyork.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    607
    831
    356
    117
    60
See reviews for
357
762
117
316
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

The rooms are relatively spacious for New York. It's a great location within walking distance of times square and grand central station.The hotel has a bar and a restaurant in the ground floor but didn't try either so can't comment on the quality of both. My room (on the 11th floor) came with free wi-fi, and the usual amenities of mini bar (usual new york pricing though), safe, iron and ironing board, temperature control, shower with attached bath, flat screen tv, free paper in the morning (USA today) and writing desk. Access to your floor on the lift is via your key card so the safety aspects are taken care. My flight was at 11pm so i needed to check out before noon but the hotel stored my luggage till i came back to collect.
Positives-Great service specially from the front desk staff and doormen. Great lobby area with a pool table and lounge off to the side. Convenient location. Fast check in and check out.
Negatives- The room i stayed in could use an upgrade of a few of the fixtures (the hanger holding up the ironing board was broken), would have been useful if the mini-bar had an ice-maker

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Great location. Rooms are the largest i found in that star rating. Excellent team. Especialy the concierge Juan Santamaria. He's the one that made the diferent between good and great.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Levdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1dutymanager, Front Office Manager at The Court – A St Giles Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you so much for your very kind feedback regarding your visit with us! The team works hard to make service seem effortless and it is incredibly rewarding to receive you recognition. We look forward to your next stay with us. Until then your commentshave energized us to eagerly await your return.

Warm Regards,
St Giles Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stated at The Court for a 3 night / 4 day break in NYC in January, booked through booking.com on a special offer. This offer made it incredibly good value for money given the Hotels location one block away from Park Avenue. We could see the Chrysler building from our 7th floor bedroom window and Empire State and Grand Central are just a few minutes walk away.

The bedroom was large with a good king size bed, en suite bathroom facilities and mini bar. The hair dryer provided was a bit useless but did its job eventually. Good, hot shower and plenty of clean towels daily, even toiletries were replaced every day which was nice. There is a mini bar in the room but as you'd expect it was very expensive.

Negative points were that the room had to the or coffee making facilities, and there was free wifi in the hotel lobby area but you had to pay $14.99 per 24 hour period to use it in the bedroom.

We didn't use the hotel bar or restaurant so can't comment- when you're in New York why be limited to your hotel??? There were lots of cafe's nearby and I particularly liked breakfast at Dunkin Do'nuts!

Staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. We arrived before the 3pm check in time and were quickly shown to our room. There was a lot of noise from the street but when you're in the city that never sleeps you have to expect it- we were so tired from walking all day we slept through it so it can't have been that bad.

We would return to the hotel on a similar offer, however I wouldn't pay the rack rate. A good 4 star!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The St. Giles staff, formerly the W Court, are what makes this place shine. Many of them are career hotel people, i.e., professionally trained and invested in making the hotel a great place to stay. The rooms are generally lovely, clean and when you ask the staff for something, it gets done. The Midtown location is a good base for explorations of the city and it's out of the Times Square jungle. If you get a rate under $300/night at this hotel, snap it up - for NYC it's worth it and you'll generally have bigger hotel amenities with boutique level service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoMarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#127 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#133 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Midtown
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
IBEROSTAR 70 Park Avenue Hotel
#236 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Midtown
Dylan Hotel NYC
Dylan Hotel NYC
#380 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Court – A St Giles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court – A St Giles Hotel

Property: The Court – A St Giles Hotel
Address: 130 E 39th St, New York City, NY 10016-0906
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
#217 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#247 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,653 - ₹ 26,210
Hotel Class:4 star — The Court – A St Giles Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultimate New York experience awaits you at The Court. While many hotels leave you feeling claustrophobic, The Court’s 199 spacious guest rooms (Superiors begin at 350 square feet) allow you to spread out in comfort and style. Signature Suites include the Empire Suite, the Chrysler Suite, and our fabulous Terrace Suites, featuring outdoor terraces with views of the city skyline. When you venture out, you will find yourself just steps away from Grand Central Terminal and the iconic Chrysler and Empire State Buildings. Icon Restaurant serves a variety of breakfast options each morning, while Court Bar mixes handcrafted cocktails by night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Court – A St Giles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w New York City
The w Hotel
w Hotels New York City
w New York Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing