We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #113 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle,MA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We just returned from spending 2 nights in NYC and stayed at the Jewel. The hotel was pertect - moderately priced (for New York); the room was sufficiently large to accomodate 2 adults and a 12 year old; furnishings were very comtempory; staff was nice and helpful; amenties was nice and the location was superb . The only negative thing i can say about the hote is that the key cards were a royal pain - did not work well and kept having to get replaced but other than this minor annoyance, everything else was perfect. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    562
    131
    32
    36
See reviews for
377
740
130
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

My cousin and I planned a quick, overnight, business trip to New York and booked a room at the Jewel hotel. The rate was reasonable and the location is fantastic-literally one half block away from Rockefeller Center and on the same block as Radio City Music Hall. The hotel is tucked away in the middle of the block. There is no doorman but the front doors open into a modern and functional lobby. One common theme prevails throughout the hotel---no wasted space. Instead of a large imposing reception area, the hotel staff are purched on computer stands tucked into a corner of the efficiently appointed lobby area.

The hotel was clean and crisp feeling---the decor is modern and minimalist. Our room was extremely pleasant. One note, we requested two beds but apparently most of the rooms come with only a queen size bed. The bed was confortable and the linens were excellent. The room was a model of efficiency and convenience. The furniture is modular built-ins with very functional features. Each piece of furniture serves a purpose well and the convenience features are tucked in all around the room. Each side of the bed had a comfortable reading light built in at the perfect height and the nightstand has an abundance of power plugs (and USB chargers too) for rechargeing an assortment of mobile devices. Also, the controls for the heating and air conditioner are very easy to use and conveniently located right beside the bed. The room has a very efficient desk area with an excellent, adjustible reading lamp and several more power plugs to allow for using plenty of devices. A mini-coffee pot is located just above the desk area and tucked in to a shelf for convenient preparation of a coffee or tea.

The wardrobe is perfectly sized to fit a carry-on suitcase inside and allows for easy storage of all your belongings out of sight.

The bathroom was well lit, modern and very nicely finished.

The staff were helpful and attentive. At their recommendation, we ate a quick meal at a Bill's Burgers which was very good and reasonably priced and best of all, right across the street.

All in all this hotel was a lovely, functional and pleasant experience. I would certainly recommend it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElleaPeagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I don't think you can get any better location than this! I stayed there for 3days after XMas with my 23m old and we had a wonderful time! We walked a LOT and could have walked more if we had more time to spare. Because the visit was short, I decided to take a cab in order to save time. Very safe, close (like, same block!) to Radio City Hall (sp?), Rockfeller center, Saks 5th Av, st Patricks church, American Girl Doll store, etc.

Clean, modern, and "big" room for NYC standards! The bathroom was also nice, although, it needs some kind of door or better shower curtains - it gets all wet!

Free chilled water otters in the hallways.

I got one of those blind/cheap deals from Hotwire and that is why I could afford it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Jewel Facing Rockefeller is clean, efficient and in the perfect location. Half a block from St. Patrick’s, Rockefeller Center and Radio City Music Hall. An easy cab ride or by subway, close enough to the excitement of NYC, but not stuck in the middle of it.

The rate on price-matching sites was the same as booking direct, check-in was easy with their self-check in, though an attentive staff member helped me from the moment I walked in the door. Room 601 on the front of the building, right next to the purified water station. (A nice perk as water in the city can be as much as $3 a bottle.)

The room reminds me of a cruise ship room – built long and narrow but efficient. I was pleased with the spotless bathroom with amenities and a blow-dryer. A place to put my suitcase and a wardrobe to hang my clothes. A comfortable sitting chair with a swing out work surface and a generous work desk with a good task light and easily accessible outlets as well as a work chair I was trying to figure out how to steal it was so comfortable. I had requested a mini-fridge and a microwave which were already in my room, right under the flat screen TV that swiveled for easy viewing. The comfortable queen size bed had plenty of soft CLEAN bedding and pillows. The nightstand had iPod docking station / Alarm clock, plenty of outlets and USB chargers; this is also where the thermostat is located.

The frosted glass window in the bathroom door worked well as a night light, kept the bathroom light on without it blinding me overnight.

The view from the 6th floor isn’t too exciting, straight ahead is an office building (with people who work late, if you are a people watcher.) But you can see into the courtyard to Rockefeller Center, and looking left and right you can see the steeples of St. Pats and the lights of Radio City.

The dining arrangement with the neighboring “Club Quarters” is nice. A 20% discount on food and a free drink voucher. Their “all season outdoor” dining was nice. Food was fine, but there are many great casual restaurants in the area including Bill’s Burgers, Johnny Utah’s and Simply Fresh.

I would say that the price is right for NYC, the room is the right size for one or two people and the staff is great. I came into my room at 11:30 one night and staff was cleaning the water station and fire extinguisher. When I had a problem closing my window at 1am, polite staff quickly took care of the problem.

I was able to store my luggage at no charge for the day as I spent the day around town. Cab’s do not often drive by this way, so you might be better off trying to hail one on 5th or 6th Ave. Upper floors have rooms with a balcony that would overlook Rockefeller, might be worth the extra price. All in all, I would stay there again for sure as well as recommending it to others.

Room Tip: A room facing the street is a bit noisey - ask for the back of the hotel when booking if you need qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelGirlFromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I've traveled a lot and am very picky: I prefer luxury, but sometimes have to go with the other!. We booked this room for a one-night stay at the end of March 2012 as we were visiting friends and just needed somewhere to rest our heads. It was an unexpected delight!
It's a little quirky which is to be expected based on its size, but all in a good way. The hotel is new (compared to most in NYC).
You can check in at 2 self service terminals but there is always a staff member on duty at the tiny reception desk. The two staff I met bent over backwards to help with anything a guest needed and seemed very on top of local knowledge also. The hotel is very narrow, but tall and therefore has been arranged VERY cleverly to make maximum use of the space. For example, on our floor (which I think was either 2 or 4), they have built a small guest lounge with TVs and work spaces and coffee area which is close to the rooms though also far enough away not to be bothersome. Our room was very small (all the rooms here are) BUT they were designed by someone with the right idea for how to design small rooms. For example the 'desk' was a desktop arm that swung over the easy chair so you could work from the chair or sit and relax. All areas of the room were designed to be used, every inch was well thought out. The bathroom, like the bedroom, was very small but completely functional, modern and CLEAN - not a speck of dust anywhere. Same with the bedroom - absolutely SPOTLESSLY clean. Best of all - location. Our room directly overlooked the Roc and we were about 200 yards away from St Patrick's Cathedral. It was a gentle stroll to a few good restaurants and wine bars (including the area that is Ireland's 'home away from home' off 2nd Avenue). The hotel has a discounted rate with a parking garage that is 1/2 a block over so that was also a great thing as I prefer to bring my car into town - you just have to get your parking voucher stamped by the hotel on departure. The room was incredibly quiet, even though we were facing the main road of one of the busiest parts of Manhattan and I heard nothing all night...except my husband's snoring....If you turn right as you exit the hotel, there is a little coffee bar halfway down the block which does a great cup of coffee and breakfast. For the price we paid (under $200 in MANHATTAN - unbelievable), we got a brand new hotel, great room, great location and will definitely come again. I think a family coming for a full week might struggle just because of the size of the rooms BUT I could be wrong and there a far worse places to stay! Kudos to the staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdbd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#266 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,374 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Property: The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#91 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,868 - ₹ 28,444
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing