We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel between St Patricks Cathedral and Radio City Music Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Ranked #87 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Jewel over the Easter weekend. I chose the location specifically because of its proximity to St Patrick’s Cathedral and was not disappointed, as it was half block away.
As a matter of fact, the Jewel is between St Patrick’s and Radio City Music Hall on 51st street as both buildings could been seen from my room. The facilities were compact, but very clean, and well appointed with lots of plugs, comfy bed and a small desk for work. On either side of the hotel you will find really good choices for breakfast and lunch. Broadway is a couple blocks away, and we easily walked to the theatre to see jersey boys (which was very very good) and strolled along to Times Square to absorb in the sights and sounds of the big Apple. I really enjoyed myself at the Jewel and the staff were very friendly and easy with dinner recommendations. The gym is small but with three good elliptical machines and some weights. I will definitely stay at the Jewel next time I am in Manhatten, and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapodillabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,354 - 1,358 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

The Jewel - what a gem!! Have just spent 4 nights here, 7 of us, all girls! We didnt arrive till 11pm but the receptionist was very helpful and friendly. Our rooms, with views of the Rockerfeller Center and Radio City Music Hall (an apartment on the 10th and a double on the 5th) were superclean and very comfortable. Plenty of storage, free wifi, very quiet -never heard anyone! Bathrooms with a hairdryer, toiletries,lots of hot water and plenty of clean, fluffy, white towels! We had a fab time, in a great location, we're looking forward to staying here again soon!! Try it for yourself- you wont regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leannpWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We've just returned from four nights at The Jewel, and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Typically for NY the rooms are small but they're well-designed with good quality fittings that actually WORK, and the location is ideal. Free chilled water, free wifi, free gym, and delightful friendly staff. I've stayed at some pretty fancy hotels in NY, but The Jewel has been better than any of them. I have absolutely no links to the hotel or staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We recently spent four nights here over the Easter weekend. This is by far the best location for someone looking to explore the city as a tourist. The hotel is within walking distance of rockefeller center, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Central Park, 5th Avenue, Times Square and Radio City Music hall.

I stayed here with my spouse and young toddler and it was perfect for a family. The rooms tend to be long with the bed at the end but still have plenty of space for storage and a small desk. The "living room" on the 2nd floor offers a nice space for people doing business and available computers for internet use, but if you have a smartphone or laptop, you will already have free wi-fi.

The service was great and we loved the free filtered water bottles on every floor. We even used the gym and free laundry facilities, although you should note there is only 1 washer and dryer. But again, they are available to guests free of charge.

The only downsides of this hotel were that the bathroom did not have a bathtub, only a shower stall. And the water pressure was too low for my liking. But these things were minor compared to the benefits of staying at this hotel.

I would highly recommend to families, business travelers and single travelers alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of Rockefeller Center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LA_tao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent 3 nights there. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room is small, but it was comfortable. We had a view of Rockefeller Center. It's in a very convenient location, we will go back there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllaKToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Rockefeller Center
Club Quarters Hotel, opposite Ro...
#284 of 473 in New York City
1,489 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#102 of 473 in New York City
891 reviews
Midtown
3 West Club
3 West Club
#370 of 473 in New York City
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#115 of 473 in New York City
4,551 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#77 of 473 in New York City
818 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 473 in New York City
5,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center

Address: 11 West 51 Street, New York City, NY 10019-6994
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#116 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 9,576 - ₹ 25,964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is a full service hotel with 135 rooms located opposite Rockefeller Center, steps away from the famous skating rink, Christmas tree, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Saks Fifth Avenue, Museum of Modern Art and Radio City Music Hall. Minutes from world class shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Center provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Nearby restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 3 meeting and event rooms available nearby (maximum reception style 55 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Value rates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jewel Facing Rockefeller Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing