We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations”

Il Punto Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Il Punto Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #59 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 28 - US$ 50
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 38th Street
Transit: Bus stop on the block of the restaurant on 9th Avenue and corner of 38th Street. On 42nd Street - A,B,C,D, E and F trains nearby.
Description: Your escape to Italy is here, in Midtown Manhattan, at Il Punto Ristorante. Our lunch and dinner menus feature fresh, homemade pastas, seafood, poultry, and veal. Accompany your meal with a selection from our wine list, and a delicious dessert! Il Punto features a main dining room, a full Bar, and two small dining rooms perfect for private events, meetings or celebrations. Buon Appetito!
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We followed positive TripAdvisor reviews to this restaurant at 38th Street and 9th Avenue and had an excellent meal in a relaxed environment with charming attention from server Rosie, and manager Charlene in a relaxed, yet warmly elegant environment.

The salads were really interesting: insalata di bosco and a special salad with shrimp. Our mains, the pizzoccheri and the ziti al forno were both very flavorful and well prepared. There are a number of vegetarian items on the menu.

We split a tiramisu which was worth ordering. They have a number of good wines by the glass at reasonable prices. We appreciated the complimentary amuse bouche (soup) and the biscotti that came with the cappuccino.

We will absolutely return when back in New York.

  • Visited March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liplord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia B, Owner at Il Punto Ristorante, responded to this review, 23 March 2016
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It is wonderful to hear that your main courses were both flavorful and well-prepared. We are excited to hear that you will be back on your next visit to New York. I will also be sure to share your compliments with Rosie and Charlene.

Until then,
Letizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    226
    64
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery County, PA
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Excellent unplanned dinner”
Reviewed 15 March 2016

We were walking north on 9th Avenue looking into several of the casual restaurants on the east side of the street. My partner spotted IL Punto on the west side and suggested we look at it. I thought it was closed (4 PM). As were looking into the restaurant, the manager opened the door, they were indeed open. We perused the menu and decided to stay.
We had a very good experience: decor was very nice, the service professional and extremely good, the menu selections excellent and the food very good. I recommend this restaurant.

Responding to my question about portion size our server told me that an antipasti and a primi would be a filling dinner. That is what we then chose to do.

My antipasti was the Insalata di Polipo e Patate (octopus, black olives, capers, fennel and roasted potatoes). The octopus was very tender, the dressing excellent. My partner had the Caprese made with buffalo mozzarella, plum tomatoes and evo. I tasted hers and it was very good. He choice for a primi was the Fettucine Nere in Saute di Cozze ( squid ink fettucine with mussels and tomatoes). It was very good. My primi was the Risotto di Mare Profumato d’Arancia e Menta (risotto with mussels, shrimp and scallops with orange). It was excellent. We both had wine by the glass: a Nero D'avola.
For dessert my partner had the Chocolate Souffle con Gelato alla Vaniglia. I tasted it and it was also very good. Having had a filling and relaxing dinner, I skipped dessert and enjoyed a double espresso.

If dining on the west side in the Hell's Kitchen/Fabric district area . . . give this restaurant a try. You will very likely have a an experience as good as ours. I do suggest reservations for prime dining time. By the time we departed it was quite full and they had opened the second dining room.

  • Visited March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JEDMAD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia B, Owner at Il Punto Ristorante, responded to this review, 23 March 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review! We're pleased that everything was to your liking for you and your partner. It sounds like you two had a full-course meal and experienced the best of our restaurant. I loved hearing all the details of what you ordered and enjoyed. Thank you for your compliments to the service too. We appreciate your recommendation.

All the best,
Letizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great delicious food!!!”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 via mobile

Quiet inviting atmosphere. Friendly great service. Very professional. All the food was wonderful! The crab filled mushrooms for appetizer were amazing! Caesar salad was great! Chilean Sea Bass was unbelievable! Lobster Ravioli was the delicious! The cannoli was the best we have ever had....seriously! We are in town for a week and we will go back.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia B, Owner at Il Punto Ristorante, responded to this review, 23 March 2016
Thank you, Cindy, for your wonderful 5-star review! So nice to hear that you felt welcomed, enjoyed the service and your entire meal. Thanks for sharing what you ordered, as we love to hear what our guests enjoyed most. I will pass the compliments on to our staff.
Grazie,
Letizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Good Italian option on 9th near the theater district and a number of hotels on 39th and 40th. Might sound trite but at Italian restaurants it seems as though 90% of the time the bread is an indicator as to how good the meal will be. It was very good as was the perfectly cooked pasta. Apps were also very good (we did not have the non-pasta entrees) and there were nice, and fairly priced, wine choices. Service was very friendly and prices were good for NYC. I have been traveling to this area for a number of years but this was my first visit and I will be back soon.

  • Visited February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DCdavetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia B, Owner at Il Punto Ristorante, responded to this review, 17 March 2016
Thank you, Dave, for the 5-stars! We're so glad you finally stumbled upon us after years of spending a lot of time in the area -- we're happy to hear you enjoyed everything. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Grazie,
Letizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 via mobile

Both the service and the food were amazing! The staff was courteous and helpful. The food was amazing start to finish. Perfect for a date spot!

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank jka_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letizia B, Owner at Il Punto Ristorante, responded to this review, 17 March 2016
Hearing that everything was "amazing" is music to our ears! From the kitchen to the dining room, thank you very much for the compliments to the staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Grazie,
Letizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Punto Ristorante also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Il Punto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing