We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminiscent of a European hotel”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This is our new go-to hotel in New York City. As a family with 2 teenage boys, we found the rooms spacious, well appointed and a continental breakfast and wine and cheese in the evening a great bonus. This hotel is not like the large "box" hotels but rather quite small with about 10 rooms per floor, excellent customer service at the front desk and a comfortable but modern feel. There is a large international clientele which is somewhat surprising given its competition, however, perhaps it is due to the feel of the place that is similar to some of the hotels we stayed in Paris. As far as location - as others have mentioned - it is right off of Times Square and directly across the street from the theatre showing Book of Mormon (note: there was never a sound issue coming from the street despite long lines before show time). The subway was easy and convenient to go to Ground Zero (be sure to get your advanced tickets if you want to see the memorial), and if you don't mind a walking, most attractions are within a 20 minute walk in various directions including Rockefeller Center, Macy's, the largest department store in the world, restaurant row and of course all of the Broadway theatres.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,574 - 1,578 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

I picked The Pearl from the reviews here and am so glad I opted to stay here opposed to my normal Crowne Plaza, Renaissance, Hilton etc. It was in a perfect location just off Times Square and from the moment we arrived til the moment we left, we couldn't have been more thrilled with our choice. Our Room 406 was perfect in every way although don't expect a view staying here. Loved the little kitchenette to put our soft drinks in. The bathroom was gorgeous and alot of thought put into the design. We had a separate shower/bath and loved the way a shelf was cut into the shower design giving plenty of space to put shampoos/soaps etc. It was a belated birthday trip for my mother and we came back one day to find a chilled bottle of bubbly waiting which was a lovely touch. The continental breakfast was lovely and had everything you'd want to start the day. Snacks in lobby of potato chips and biscuits to help yourself was a great touch. Loved the cheese n wine hour and only missed it once. A bonus was also the free wifi. Every member of staff we encountered were fabulous and so helpful. The hotel is opposite the Eugene O'Neill Theatre where Book of Mormons is playing. We managed to get Saturday matinee tickets on the day and paid a fortune but it was the best money spent as we've never enjoyed a musical so much and nearly wet ourself at how funny it was. Best thing about the trip was we were there 24-28 Aug where alot of the fine dining establishments were still offering Restaurant Week offers of $35-$45 for 3 course meals. We had fabulous meals at Ruth Chris's Steak House, City Lobster and our fave the Capital Grill in Timelife Building.

Room Tip: We could not believe we heard no noise at all in room 406.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivitGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed 7 nights in this marvellous hotel located in the heart of Times Square.
The rooms are well accomodated,clean and peaceful.

You will not find a better spot if you want to visit New York.
What a pleasure it was to go out every night and enjoy Times Square and its atmosphere at night (it literally never sleeps!)

The staff is very professional and tends to your every need. I want to thank the doorman Moorad (and the others too) who was very thorough and outgoing when giving us directions and advice.

I will definetly go back to this hotel next time I'll go to NYC.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxime H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

The Pearl is a darling gem in the midst of the hustle and bustle in Times Square. It was wonderful to not stay in a high rise. The rooms were beautifully appointed. The little restaurant/lounge that is attached was great too!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scoobymax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Our family stayed 3 nights at the Pearl in New York City in August 2012. The hotel is situated very close to the heart of the city with most venues withing walking distance. The Hotel was very clean and the staff was very attentive and helpful.

We had 2 rooms, one with a terrace. The rooms were very clean and remodelled. We didn't spend a lot of time in the rooms, but the Terrace was quite spacoius and provided a spot to unwind for a bit and enjoy the sounds of New York. The Terrace rooms were only on the 10th floor, so they didn't provide a "birds eye view" of the city. However, it still did provide a confinced view of New York. The rooms were very quiet and you barely heard a sound from the hallways, although there did seem to be a "low hum" in the Terrace room at night from the street .... but nothing that should keep you up at night.

The room had a nice alcove that had a sink, small fridge and even a microwave. The bathrooms were updated and clean although some what small.

Although the rooms are somewhat on the higher end of the price range, overall, the Pearl was a very nice hotel to stay at especially if you are a traveller who expects clean, comfortable and updated accomodations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zen-Man19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#27 of 469 in New York City
3,098 reviews
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#22 of 469 in New York City
244 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#66 of 469 in New York City
3,272 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#85 of 469 in New York City
466 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 15,532 - ₹ 45,360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing