We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I would stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #14 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“I would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Lovely small hotel close to Times Square. Excellent location, twin room was large and comfortable, no noise from road even though on the front. Complimentary breakfast was excellent, beds very comfortable. I would recommend and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a twin room on the front and had no noise when windows were shut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill3459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    496
    64
    10
    10
See reviews for
713
867
65
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We loved our stay at the Pearl. (We stayed for eight days in July, for our honeymoon.) The hotel is in a really great location, close to the subway, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, and lots of restaurants. It's also walking distance to a 24-hour drugstore and a grocery store. Our hotel room was very clean and looked just like the picture on the website. It was also very quiet---the only noise we heard was the occasional door closing in the hallway. The Pearl staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and extremely helpful. The breakfast had a lot of options and was convenient on mornings when all we needed was a quick bite to eat. The Keurig coffee maker in the room was a lovely bonus, and we used it several times. All in all, a truly wonderful hotel. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theorphanarium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

we chose this hotel after reading Tripadvisor reviews, this was a first trip to New York for myself, husband and teenage son. the hotel was everything that was advertised, very clean, excellent location, helpful, friendly staff, & the breakfast was an added bonus. We'd emailed before arriving to request a room with a patio,which they gave us at no extra charge. (although as we were on the 2nd floor we couldn't take advantage of the views). We will definately stay here next time.

Room Tip: would forego the patio & request a higher floor to take advantage of the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I travelled to NYC for our 10th wedding anniversary. We stayed at The Pear from July 23rd to the 26th. I selected this hotel after reading review after review trying to find the perfect place to stay, which I think I did.

The decor is modern, not like many stodgy chain hotels. It is only a little over a year old and has been non-smoking from the start. The appointments in the rooms are very nice giving you a genuine feel of quality and class.

Everyone we met in the hotel had a smile on their face and was happy to help.

The continental breakfast was great for a quick start to the day, it was really hot so we wanted to get moving as early as possible. There is a wine and cheese hour from 4-5, we only made it one night and it was good.

The EE grill next door is not part of the hotel but is a decent restaurant if you are beat and don't feel like fighting the crowds for another meal.

We saw Wicked and Evita during our stay, the hotel was only a few blocks from each. Times square is down the 49th a few hundred yards. The "Gray Line" bus tours are around the corner about a 3 minute walk. The subway is also just around the corner. The location was super!

Very satisfied, don't think we could have done better.

Room Tip: Small footprint hotel, not sure if rooms are all that different. The rooms were very quiet, only occ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JeremyWeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stayed at room 1105 for 10 nights. As far as noise goes, we could hear some sounds from the hallway, and some sound from the outside - but not a noise from the other rooms at all.

The staff was very helpful when we needed them. The room were very clean and nice, and were cleaned properly every day. The air-conditioning worked well, the Internet connection worked well (on all our 6 devices). The fridge worked well, the umbrella was nice to have, we also had a microwave in our room - but that was never used.

The downsides would be the lack of seating in the breakfast area, and the fact that they do not have a self-service laundromat. They do offer to clean your clothes, but paying 11 dollars to clean one pair of jeans is just not going to happen. We went to the laundromat a couple of blocks away, which was perfectly fine (the staff pointed out the directions).

All in all, I think this was a very positive experience - but the price is probably a bit steep. If I were to go to New York again, I would probably look for a cheaper option.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kvisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#3 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,141 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,276 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#6 of 477 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,694 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,546 - ₹ 48,820
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing