We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Mulberry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mulberry
Ranked #212 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for 11 days recently and booked 2 rooms - one for 2 people and one for 4 people. Location is the border of Chinatown and Little Italy. 10-15 minute walk to Soho and Tribeca. Rooms were clean and spacious and had good views over the park. Beds were absolutely lovely. Rooms were quiet and area is safe - lots of police around given it is close to police station. Staff were friendly. Breakfast is provided at a local cafe, Mama Cafe, a few doors down. Close to Brooklyn Bridge - I am a runner and enjoyed running over this - great views and definitely runner friendly. Great value for a Manhattan location. Only downside is that if you are a tourist, you end up catching the subway a lot. But we were on a budget and the hotel was very high quality for the rate charged - for us, this made up for the extra time on the subway.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAshtonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    236
    35
    14
    9
See reviews for
207
181
16
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Great hotel, very clean with very nice rooms, we did not like the breakfast very much , and went every morning to the local Dunkin donuts
Location is not very central, took us 15 minutes by taxi to Times sq. (around 13$ cab ride)
or 25-30 minutes in subway .
I would stay there again.
Wifi worked just fine in our hotel room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Very nice, clean, well located hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious for NY, bed was very comfy. Location was practical too, with the Canal station a few corners away, but you could just as easily walk to Soho, East Village, Financial district,...

2 things to improve on would be:
1- Included breakfast: you get a coupon for a small restaurant next door (Mama's). Don't know about their lunch or dinner, but breakfast was pretty bad.
2- Our room was great, nice view and all. Good thing the floor was not busy though as the sound carries a lot from the corridor. Looked like a large gap under the door, might be part of the problem. Then again, too much to do in NYC to stay in the room! :)

Overall, very good price to quality ratio.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie_errant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I'm a New Yorker who now lives in the burbs. I have been trying out various hotels because I need to be in town for business a few days a month. I stayed at Hotel Mulberry and will definitely stay again. I had the Penthouse 01. It was a simple room with a King bed and a wall of windows that had a spectacular view of the financial district, the Freedom Tower being built and a park down below just filled with NYC life. The check in process couldn't have been easier with the nicest people. The room was spotless. The one thing that I really hated were the pillows. It was like laying on bricks all night - but the bed itself was fantastic.
The hotel reminded me of staying in Europe in a small side street hotel.
Coffee pot in the room -- 10 points right there. Serious speedy WIFI. More than enough towels. Good vibe. The neighborhood is perfect for tourists who want to experience the real New York. Waking up in Chinatown is magical. And being on the cusp of Little Italy, Soho, Downtown and the Canal Street subway makes for a GREAT location.
It's not easy to get a cab right there - but the hotel can make arrangements or just walk a few blocks.
I would definitely stay again and look forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leslie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed her just one night with the kids but had an excellent time. The check in was quick, they granted our request for a top floor room with park view and it was much larger than expected and quite nice for the price. Breakfast was good as well.

Room Tip: ask for a park view and a higher than 3rd floor room, ask how the thermostat works!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MWisnovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#187 of 467 in New York City
388 reviews
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#267 of 467 in New York City
1,244 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#46 of 467 in New York City
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
TriBeCa
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
Cosmopolitan Hotel - Tribeca
#237 of 467 in New York City
1,937 reviews
Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#243 of 467 in New York City
357 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mulberry? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mulberry

Property: Hotel Mulberry
Address: 52 Mulberry St, New York City, NY 10013-4315
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,562 - ₹ 23,587
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mulberry 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently opened its doors in the winter of 2010, Hotel Mulberry is a brand new hotel that enjoys a desirable location in the Lower East Side of downtown Manhattan where the largest Chinatown in America meets the ever jovial Little Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Mulberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing