We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply great!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The James New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The James New York
Ranked #154 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

This was my second time staying at the James in New York and I was definitely remembered. Because I was a repeat guest, they got me in over tight dates and then, when I arrived, the doorman greeted me by name and welcomed me back! This was a great beginning to quick one night visit. David Burke's Kitchen was great as always. I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Bill D,

Thank you for taking to time to share the details of your 2nd stay with us. We pride ourselves on how we take care of our guests; I’m glad to see that our Team’s hard work has shown through. You pointed to how attentive we were to remember your name; my Front Office team will appreciate the mention. David Burke Kitchen is definitely one of our hotel’s great features. Whenever you make your back to the New York City area, we would be happy to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    332
    118
    67
    34
See reviews for
142
622
70
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Little Cayman
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Perfectly placed for shopping in Soho, the restaurants excellent. Best of all the beds and pillows superb. The rooms don't have a huge amount of space for clothes but the view makes up for it.

Room Tip: Try a corner King room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C-Seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just arrived back from our stay at the James Hotel in SoHo.

The majority of the staff at the James are terrific: courteous, friendly and knowledgable. Michael Daniels on breakfast service was particularly professional and took the time to engage with us about our trip. He clearly has a thorough knowledge of New York City and its best venues and locations. The James would possibly make better use of his skills as a concierge (this position seemed to be hot-desked and was hit-and-miss in its quality). This wasn't a major issue for us, though.

The big issue we had with the James was that when it was good it was excellent, but when it was bad, it was diabolical. I have honestly never experienced such a resentful attitude from hotel staff. There were only one or two bad staff members on the James team, but they completely nullify the best efforts of their colleagues. The rest of the James staff have every right to feel cheated and betrayed by this ruinous minority.

The cleaning and room service was shocking. Dirty cups left to pile up, consumables not replenished and the worst possible attitudes. We had to call downstairs EVERY DAY of our stay to tell them things were dirty, missing, not replenished, unfinished etc.

On one occasion, guest services brought two clean cups after we informed the hotel that we had no clean ones as the dirty ones had not been cleared.

When they arrived, we had this little conversation at the door:
Us: "Can you take these two dirty cups for us?"
James Staff (already walking away): "No. You have to call room service for that, I’m a houseman".
The tone of this member of staff’s voice was unnecessarily forceful and resentful.

We made a complaint to the manager of the hotel about this, and she was very apologetic about the shortcomings and the rudeness of her staff. She promised us that all of our needs would be catered for the rest of our stay. Unfortunately, the lack of care and attention to detail continued to the point where we became bored of ringing for a breakfast order form and telling them that they hadn’t cleared away our breakfast cups and replenished the tea and coffee.

This, in addition to the shower knob missing from our shower and a blocked sink when we arrived (which were quickly and efficiently rectified) only highlighted that more attention should be spent on the housekeeping.

The view from Jimmy's bar is terrific and it's worth going up there before 9pm (before the crowds arrive). But it's not enough to justify a stay at the James.

So, we can’t recommend the James and we won’t be going back because it’s just not worth the risk. Lots of terrific staff (as I stated earlier) like Felix, Christopher, Nicole, Michael Daniels and others. I just feel bad for these people that they have colleagues that are severely jeopardising their hotel’s reputation.

Finally, charging $40 for a rollaway bed for one of our five nights, that we never requested may have just been an honest mistake. Check your bill at the end of your stay, just like we checked ours, so you don’t pay extra.

It’s OK trying to be the coolest hotel in town, but they really need to get the basics right first.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe King room, which was a reasonable size with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_James_NY_Hotel, Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 17 June 2012
Dear RyanRoberts,

We wanted to thank you for taking the time to give feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We apologize for the shortcomings in the service we've provided and have shared your feedback with all of the respective areas to ensure we are providing the same excellent service that we've become know for to each guest who stays with us. We're happy that there were some bright spots to your stay, namely the service of Michael Daniels. We've shared your positive comments with him as well. We hope you give us a chance to show you a true James experience during your next visit to New York. Please feel free to contact myself directly so I may assist with your booking and personally oversee your stay with us.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

This was our first visit to NYC and after researching and talking to friends we decided to stay in Soho - right choice! The next question was whether to rent an apartment or stay in a hotel. Although I travel a lot I'm not a fan of corporate and chain hotels and usually prefer to look for an apartment or boutique hotel in the place that we are visiting. We settled for The James as the choice in Soho seemed to be limited. What a good decision! The hotel itself is light and bright making up for the rooms being quite small. The bedrooms are comfortable. The restaurant and rooftop bar are spectacular. The interior styling is modern, natural and chic. The staff are the friendliest I have ever experienced - anywhere! Christopher, our doorman deserves a special mention. This gentle giant of a man was a feature of our NY experience. Hands down - highly recommended.

Room Tip: As high up as possible on the South side for the views. It's a 17-floor building. If you are l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cello377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Despite the small - really small - disappointment in the cleanliness of the room, our stay was just amazing. The staff is very very friendly and helpful. The room and the view were really wonderful. And what a great location to explore Soho and its chic boutiques and beautiful people, also walking distance from The Village and Meatpacking. The place to be if you are interested in the south of Manhattan.
Free coffee in the morning / wine & cheese in the evening in the hotel lobby are a clear plus vs. other hotels.
Had fun at Jimmy's , James' roof top bar, where cocktails are great as well as breath-taking views on Hudson, WTC, Empire...
Overall great, unforgettable experience !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khalil-KD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The James New York, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Khalil-KD,

Thank you for taking time to share the details of your most recent stay. I apologize for the issue you experienced in regards to the guestroom; we are constantly striving to make improvements. However, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed many of the great features of our hotel, including the James Club Sky Lobby, Jimmy rooftop bar, surrounding SoHo area, and most importantly attentive Team. We really appreciate your feedback and look forward to providing another unforgettable experience.

Best regards,
Jeff Hentze
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
SoHo
Soho Grand Hotel
Soho Grand Hotel
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,873 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
SoHo
11 Howard
11 Howard
#35 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
NOMO SOHO Hotel
NOMO SOHO Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
SoHo
The Broome
The Broome
#8 of 467 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Manhattan
Trump SoHo New York
Trump SoHo New York
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The James New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James New York

Property: The James New York
Address: 27 Grand St., New York City, NY 10013-1618
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > SoHo , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New York City
#113 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#141 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,662 - ₹ 42,212
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchoring Soho's southwest corner, The James New York is an ideally situated, warmly modern, residential styled luxury hotel that delivers an artful blend of exquisitely hand-crafted design, intuitive service and personalized comfort. Unique features include all-glass Sky Lobby, rooftop deck and pool with river-to-river Manhattan views. The lush Urban Garden is an outdoor escape, offering seasonal entertainment, cultural events and fine cuisine. With activities including Tribeca Film Festival screenings, yoga, spa services, croquet and more, the Urban Garden is a hub for creative communities to gather and interact. Guests are invited to dine at David Burke Kitchen which offers wholesome and hearty modern American food, locally sourced and presented in the creative and whimsical style that is Burke's trademark. Enjoy cocktails at JIMMY, our rooftop bar which boasts a sexy social atmosphere, with an enclosed bar and lounge set against 360-degree views of the Manhattan skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The James New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The James New York Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing