We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very modern, very cool hotel in excellent location”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #89 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very modern, very cool hotel in excellent location”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed at the Andaz on 5th Avenue for 7 nights as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is in a great location in midtown, on 5th avenue and is only a couple of blocks from times square. The hotel is directly opposite the NY public library - which is an amazing building. We had a splash suite on the 4th floor, with separate bathroom, showroom, living room and bedroom. The rooms were ultra-modern and very clean. I guess some people might find it a little cold, but the roll-top bath and shower room were amazing. Our room also had a huge HD TV, and another flat panel screen in the bedroom. The bed and sofa were very confortable, and the free soft drinks, water and crisps were good. Perhaps the hotel is better suited to couples and business rather than families, but the location is very central. Our room had a view of the library and fifth avenue, and the only down side is that the road is a little noisy - but it didnt really keep us up.
From the subway across the street you can get the number 7 subway to either times square or grand central, and from there you can get the subway practically anywhere. These two stations are also only 2 blocks away either side, so easily walkable. The Empire state building is a few blocks down fifth avenue, and the rockefeller is about 4 blocks up 5th avenue.

Room Tip: We had a splash suite, with a roll top bath which was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AberdeenMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,620
    515
    161
    60
    35
See reviews for
495
938
136
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed 5 nights in this great hotel. The ambiance is modern, location perfect. The room is very clean, great beds, nice design decor. The only problem is the lack of storage-space. I do not understand why there is no closet in the room. There is plenty of space ...

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Field02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

If you are looking for the best hotel in NYC then look no further. This place is simply beyond amazing.

Right from the relaxed informal check in we felt like we were at home. The rooms are a brilliant size, especially compared to other NYC hotels. This was an added bonus to the fantastic central location. The free wi-fi in the rooms was also great as it enabled us to stay in touch with family in England. There are free robes and slippers and the pillows are heavenly. A small thing perhaps but after a long day shopping and walking the Manhattan streets it is very welcome. There is water as well as tea/coffee available 24/7 and the mini bar in the room is stocked daily with water, soft drinks and snacks. There is also free wine available to guests at 6pm which sold me all by itself!

But the main thing about this hotel which absolutely and utterly made our trip was the outstanding personal service. The hotel manager Joey is literally the best hotel manager I've ever had the pleasure to meet and he, without doubt, will go a long way in the business; purely because he knows how to treat guests. His hosts were also the most welcoming, helpful and friendly concierge I have ever come across, especially Jo, JD, Philina, Elaine, Kelly and Jenny. The Andaz 5th Avenue experience was made all the more pleasurable by the staff at this hotel as it wasn't just a 'heads on beds' feeling but rather one that we were at home with great friends who would go beyond the call of duty to make our stay a brilliant one.

I understand that each Andaz is different but let me tell you the Andaz 5th Avenue hotel is quite simply the best hotel in NYC. Don't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swalks09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a wonderful weekend getaway in Manhattan. The staff was helpful and very attentive. We enjoyed the complimentary soft drinks during the day and wine in the evening. The room was very high tech with a beautiful bathroom. All in all a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leven4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Stayed at the Andaz pre-cruise from New York, last August. Our cruise to Bermuda was delayed due to hurricane and the hotel staff could not do more to accommodate us. Our reservation was extended without any question. Was glad we had the use the laptop in the reception area without charge to check on travel arrangements, which was a lifesaver as we did not have a laptop of our own.
Hotel facilities great, gym had a good selection of equipment and cleanliness was exactly what we would expect from the Hyatt. We had a large room overlooking the Public Library looking down to Times square – great.
Felt quite safe in the hotel during the hurricane, hotel staff stayed on-site to ensure that customers were catered for.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bella1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,333 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#25 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Property: Andaz 5th Avenue
Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#48 Green Hotel in New York City
#71 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,839 - ₹ 51,973
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing