We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Andaz 5th Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Andaz 5th Avenue
Ranked #87 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Location is great, right in the middle of the city.
Can't complain about the service.
Room are clean and the staffs are efficient and friendly. They are helpful.
Food are good, I especially like the roast duck.
Modern style hotel, will for sure come back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,940 - 1,944 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

First stay at the Andaz. We stayed there for a week and have only good things to report. For a start the location is fantastic, on 5th Av. and accross the NY Public Library! Staff is extremely pleasant, check in and out was extremely efficient (no dedicated ounter, just staff welcoming you with a drink and checking you in with their iPade). Our request were handled promptly and efficiently by staff. Could do however with a specific concierge staff/area. We were upgraded to a room with a view on the NY Public library (Thanks to Connie Wang once she learned we were in town celebrating an anniversary!) and the view of the library but also of Times Square is stunning, especially at night. Apart from the view, the room was great. Large by NY standard, with comfortable bed, airy (modern with high ceiling). Rooms however have a very contemporary look and that might not be to everyone's taste... We like it a lot however, the only drawback being the limited storage space (the only closet is a minimalistic glass closet, but does not offer much space). Great bathroom with a huge shower (no bath). Room was not too noisy given the location on 5th Avenue. Bar/restaurants were great. Was new to the Andaz concept but given our experience I can only recommend. Thanks again to Connie and staff for making our stay wonderful.
Fabrice Pasquier

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabrice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

My college-age daughter and I reserved a twin loft room at Andaz for Thur-Sat nights. Room was spacious, especially for NYC. Clean room, comfortable beds. Great location--right across from the NY public library and 10-15 minute walk to Times Square. Complimentary wine and beer available for a few hours each evening. We had breakfast at the onsite restaurant one morning, and it was delicious.

Concierge staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. Warning: they don't communicate well with each other, particularly across shifts. So, if you want help with something, stick with one person until the arrangements are made.

Also, this hotel is probably not good for a long stay or for travellers who like very tidy rooms. Andaz is going for a very clean, contemporary look in the rooms. So, there were no drawers. The only closet was enclosed in glass and handled, maybe, 6 pieces. We pretty much lived out of our suitcases which was fine for a short stay----though our open suitcases and scattered clothes sort of spoiled that clean, contemporary look :-) Also, while not a big problem for us, the television/cable reception was not good.

Room Tip: Askf or a room that overlooks the NY Public Library.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scooter824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andaz5thAveMgr, Manager at Andaz 5th Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear scooter824,

Thank you for staying with us, and for all your feedback! We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your visit!

As you described, our rooms are designed with clean lines, with minimal but high quality materials and textures. If you are returning for a longer stay, we have made extra drawer space/wardrobes available upon request. Some of our rooms have more unpacking space than others, so please let us suggest the perfect room for you.

Warm regards,

Connie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We've stayed here a couple of times. Location is great - on 5th avenue accross from NY Public Library. The staff is fabulous. Rooms and amenities are great as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Andez 5th Avenue is a perfect hotel. The staff is efficient and welcoming. The location which seems a bit too downtown from 59th street is actually NOT as it is an easy bus, cab or stroll to that area, and to such sites as MOMA; The 57th Street galleries and stores, Lincoln Center and Rockefeller center. The big plus is the easy access to the theatre district and to both Byrant Park and Madison Square Park and Grand Centeral. This Hotel exceeds Hyatt expectations and it is a refuge where one really could enjoy NYC from one's room. The cusine is good, the views embrace the Manhatten skyline, the rooms speak of a fresh and exciting environment. and the staff truely knows NYC and is always ready to assist and recommend. A guest at Andez can become a NYC insider with their help and find quality experiences and unique adventures. The immediate access to the architecture and exhibitions of the public library is unbeatable. Stay at Andez 5th Avenue and this will become your home and office away from home. E. Cameron; Community Arts International.

Room Tip: A view of 5th Avenue is desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ECAMERONSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Langham New York Fifth Avenue
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#73 of 471 in New York City
6,722 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 471 in New York City
3,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#146 of 471 in New York City
3,063 reviews
Midtown
Refinery Hotel
Refinery Hotel
#29 of 471 in New York City
4,318 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz 5th Avenue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz 5th Avenue

Address: 485 5th Avenue, New York City, NY 10017-6149
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in New York City
#34 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Business Hotel in New York City
#50 Green Hotel in New York City
#72 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 18,089 - ₹ 45,732 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Andaz 5th Avenue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 5th avenue at 41st street, Andaz 5th Avenue is in the fashionable Bryant Park area of midtown Manhattan directly across the street from the New York Public Library. Guests will enjoy easy access to iconic New York attractions, like Times Square, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, Herald Square and the Theater District. For a little retail therapy, we are within walking distance to endless shopping along 5th Avenue and are near subways to take you to other neighborhoods and the outer boroughs. The Andaz experience begins the moment you arrive and are greeted by one of our Hosts, who will check you in via handheld PC. Art work can be found throughout the hotel, whether it's 14-foot murals by Carlos Capelan, which glow like fire through the windows on 41st Street, or our ever-changing tbd Art series on the doors to the bar downstairs. But we don't just want you to look at beautiful things - we want to let you live the beautiful life as well. As part of that promise, we offer amenities like free Wi-Fi, a mini-bar stocked with complimentary non-alcoholic drinks and snacks, and 6,400 sq. Ft. Of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Andaz 5th Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaz 5th Avenue Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing