We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What you need to get in Manhattan!”

Broadway Up Close Walking Tours
Ranked #14 of 594 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Have you ever wanted to know which Broadway theaters are haunted? Are you curious to know what a Broadway "swing" is? Have you ever heard about the ghost light? If so, then this tour is just for you! "The Great White Way" has always been a world full of mystery, tradition, history and spectacle. Now, you too can learn all there is to know about Broadway on our two hour tour. All of our guides are working theatre professionals and will share stories and anecdotes from Broadway!
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What you need to get in Manhattan!”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

It is an intensive 1.5 hour of inside stories, dramas, historical perspective and behind the scene of Broadway Theaters during last century. Tim, the Guide, was friendly, very informative and funny. He toured us around the theater district, stopping in front of influential theater places to give us the story behind them and of course some superstitions ones! He answered every single question and his talent and vast knowledge of the theater industry was absolutely impressive. I recommend everybody visiting Manhattan to get this tour. Remember without a tour the Broadway Theaters are just bunch of old buildings.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PsychoTripFORlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“what you never knew about the buildings you keep passing”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

As native new yorkers and seasoned walking tour veterans my fifteen year old son and I recently took Tim Dolan's "Broadway Up Close" walking tour. In the days that have passed we have already recommended the tour to dozens of friends. It is rare that a tour in its entirety has provided facts to a Manhattan raised "tourphile"that continued to entertain throughout the span of the tour. Tim Dolan, however, is so filled with fun and entertaining facts concerning the various theatre buidings and "Broadway" area that we thoroughly enjoyed his tour. In fact, it will easily become one the 2 tours that I would gladly recommend for friends who are limited in their time in NYC. Bravo Tim for giving us insight into an area that we have passed through many times but will view with more interest and insight from hereon! Break a leg!! K. T. Barany

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kenneth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edlinmik@optonline.net
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Tour!!”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Every year my grown daughters and I celebrate "Girls' Night Out" in NYC. This year the highlight was Tim's tour "Broadway Up Close." He knows so much about every theater, even the ghosts. This is a tour for seasoned New Yorkers and visiting tourists. Not to be missed!! Really!! Do it, sign up!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank EdandLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great behind the scenes info”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Tim's excellent tour gives you a lot of inside stories about the business - eccentric theatre owners, tyrannical producers, how much actors really get paid, etc. he is passionate and knowledeable.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting and entertaining!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Tim did a terrific job of identifying what it was we were hoping to get from our tour and he spent the next 90 minutes delivering everything we asked for. He has the up to date information on Broadway's current events, actors and shows as well as a plethora of historic knowledge about the Great White Way.
I highly recommend this tour!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jra2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broadway Up Close Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Up Close Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing