We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting and entertaining!”

Broadway Up Close Walking Tours
Ranked #14 of 603 Tours in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Have you ever wanted to know which Broadway theaters are haunted? Are you curious to know what a Broadway "swing" is? Have you ever heard about the ghost light? If so, then this tour is just for you! "The Great White Way" has always been a world full of mystery, tradition, history and spectacle. Now, you too can learn all there is to know about Broadway on our two hour tour. All of our guides are working theatre professionals and will share stories and anecdotes from Broadway!
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very interesting and entertaining!”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Tim did a terrific job of identifying what it was we were hoping to get from our tour and he spent the next 90 minutes delivering everything we asked for. He has the up to date information on Broadway's current events, actors and shows as well as a plethora of historic knowledge about the Great White Way.
I highly recommend this tour!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jra2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

769 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Now THAT was a tour!”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My nineteen year old daughter and I took our dream trip to New York, starting it off with a BUC tour with Tim. It was an excellent adventure in every way. Tim was personable, knowledgeable, funny and upbeat. He knew about the architecture, history, famous plays, ghost sightings, owners, and more, of the many theatres we viewed. He was also kind enough to laugh at our lame jokes and listened to our own scant theatre knowledge. Our trip could not have started on a better note. Recommended without reservation.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbrook, Maine
2 reviews
“Informative and personal”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Tim shared lots of information about the classic theaters of Broadway. He was friendly and ready to answer all kinds of questions. My wife and I both enjoyed the tour, as well as the reasonable Italian restaurant Tim recommended ( Don Giovanni's, West 42nd St.) Thanks again Tim.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Don3226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipawin, Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Tim showed a small group of us around the Times Square/Broadway area and his knowledge of the theaters and the animated way in which he delivers the information is awesome! He knew the history and made it very interesting to learn about. We really enjoyed the tour and highly recommend taking this very cheap tour. It was only $20.00 each! Tim also suggested shows to go to and how to get cheaper tickets. Don't miss this tour if you are in New York!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pensfan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Berlin, Connecticut, United States
1 review
“A whole lot more than just a conversation about Rent!!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Whether your first visit to Broadway or frequent visitor this tour was very interesting. Tim, our tour guide, was both able to fascinate us with tales of the history of theatres that I've walked by many times but also fascinated us with stories of the theatre world in general. Tim's passion for all things Broadway and all things theatre come through in such a manner that you can't help to find yourself engrossed as he discusses the specific theatres in detail. Tim had a thoughtful and knowledgable answer about every question we could ask and we had plenty of questions. He was patient and genuine in all manners. Tours are as much about the subject matter as they are about the guide and in this tour you get both. From Anything Goes to Spider-Man from Avenue Q to Rent Tim was on top of it. And although I imagine there isn't much room for an average looking 30 something no talent guy in Broadway Tim even offered to put in a good word for me. Do yourself a favor and take this tour.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broadway Up Close Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Broadway Up Close Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing