We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer 2011-2 week stay”

Soldiers Sailors Marines Club
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Soldiers Sailors Marines Club
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Summer 2011 stayed here for about 2 weeks - great location. (Helpful hint - Stair-wise - the 1st floor is actually the 2nd floor in exterior photo (no elevator, but a stair-lift for handicapped). Summary: Very helpful, professional staff working with a somewhat old reservation system. Most rooms hold 2-3 cots. You rent the cot & locker - not the room (shared bathroom & showers are located in the hallways). Saying that, I found all of my roommates to be friendly with interesting military/DOD backgrounds - which is good because the rooms are NYC tiny. To read, there is a library on 2nd floor (w/TV). To eat, there is a canteen on lobby floor (w/TV). To visit with friends, there is a lounge off the lobby (w/TV & internet). Guests are not allowed above the lobby floor. I'm already looking forward to returning to NYC and this 90+ year old gem. Items I'm glad I had packed: A sleep mask, sweats to sleep in, and flip flops for the shower.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USAmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Soldiers Sailors Marines Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have stayed at the SSMAC (Soldiers Salors Marines & Airmans Club) several times. I have stayed there solo and with my wife. For th location in mMidtown Manhattan The Price and accomodations can not be beat. The Building is a wonderful brownstone Build in 1880 and occupied by SSMAC since 1920. Rich in history! Explore the rooms & architecture while there. Every room is filled with important pictures and momentos of history. There is a full kitchen on first floor available for you to use. ther ar TV lounges, Library and free internet use. The rooms are very simple and dated. You get a bed, a wall locker for personals and a desk. Bathrooms and showers are not located in the room. They may be down the hall or another floor. Not a big concern. After all when Im in NYC I just need a room for sleep and the price and location cannot be beat. To stay here you must be in the service, veteran, or retired. Hope this review helped. Say so if it does.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the with a bathroom or shower...what ever you more prefer.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Neduardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I have stayed here twice and have no plans to stay elsewhere in the city unless we're attending some kind on convention and the rooms are paid for by the organization. This is not a 4 star hotel, and it is not advertised as such. It is a clean, affordable place to stay in a great location.

When we travel to New York, we use the subway almost exclusively to get around -- its the only place that we go where we do not rent a car. SSMC is in easy walking distance of Grand Central Station and from there you can go anywhere in the city. There are good restaurants nearby, including all of the shops and the food market located in Grand Central Station. I mean, you are located in the heart of the city!

Except for a couple of rooms, all beds are single beds and the listed prices are per person. Bathrooms are shared ones, down the hall from your room, but they are plentiful and we never had a problem with availability. The rooms are very basic with beds, a table and chair, and lockers to secure valuables and hang up clothes. There are several TVs and comfortable lounges if you want to hang out or rest, and there is also a fully equipped kitchen with a refrigerator for those leftovers that you brought back to enjoy later.

And while you eat your warmed up leftovers or rest after walking all over the city, relax and read one of the many books that they have in their library for your enjoyment. Almost all have been donated and you may even want to take some with you and leave them there if you have some that are in the way and that you will not read again.

SSMC was formerly two brownstones. The separating walls have been removed to make it one unit and you will have to carry your bags upstairs to your room. Take that into consideration when you decide how big a suitcase to take.

No one goes to NYC to hang out in their room, so why pay a couple of hundred dollars for one that you won't be in except while sleeping. If you qualify to stay here, its a great value and the people are warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: Make your reservations early, SSMC is very popular among those who are familiar with it.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mfweave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Rooms were small but I knew that going in. Enjoyed our stay. It was warm and welcoming. Though I was a bit deceived by the price! I thought we'd be paying $45/night. It was actually $45 night PER person! Oh well still way cheaper than the cheapest hotel in the area! If you dont mind shared bathrooms this worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcole2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Just left NYC yesterday after five days of staying at the Soldiers Sailors Marines Club. You will not beat this value anywhere in NYC unless you are staying with friends in their apartment. The building which houses the SSMC is old and screams history. If you want a cookie cutter hotel room for $300 a night head elsewhere but if you are looking for a unique experience which only few can talk about stay in the SSMC.

The SSMC staff were all wonderful. I read reviews on the club prior to making reservations and was expecting a "not so warm" welcome. When we arrived the staff were friendly and kind. I guess you get out of it what you put into it.

The building itself is old and looks it but it serves it purpose well, just a place to crash after seeing the sights. I am planning my next trip already and will bring my teenage daughter to show her NYC.

I guess if you're on the fence about the SSMC then think of it this way; if you like to camp you'll love it, if camping is not your thing look for something else.

Room Tip: Lots of trsffic noise for west side rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edward d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#137 of 468 in New York City
1,060 reviews
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#365 of 468 in New York City
254 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
11,499 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#196 of 468 in New York City
3,366 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soldiers Sailors Marines Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soldiers Sailors Marines Club

Address: 283 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3540
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Number of rooms: 30

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing