We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated by Hotwire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental New York Times Square
Ranked #174 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overrated by Hotwire”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel was decent enough, but hotwire listed it as a 4.5 star hotel. No way. The room was nice, and standard sized by NY standards, but almost everything cost extra $$. Parking was $50 each time you took the car out. A messenger arrived, and instead of calling me, they brought it to my room and charged me for it. Wifi access is on a per-unit basis. So, when I logged on with my phone AND my computer, it was a double charge. Raise the bill, and add it in. However, the bill was already not cheap by NY standards (though it would have been a bargain if it really were a 4.5 star hotel).

Beds were comfortable. Housekeeping was very thorough, but service in general (other than the doormen) was just ok. Some of the lobby art/decor made me wonder if they'd hired a professional.

Room Tip: Ask for something in the tower if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blewis1041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear blewis1041,

Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am glad you had comfortable room accommodations. I am sorry your stay was negatively affected by our service charges. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance in the future to show what we have done.

Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,717
    1,704
    534
    175
    123
See reviews for
1,619
1,693
242
858
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Booked a room high up corner 44th and 8th several weeks before, on arrival given a room on a low floor floor over looking a carpark on 44th, rubbish outlook athough room ok. When asked why I could not have a room as requested was told there was none availabe and would not comment as to why the reservation was accepted without advising my requested could not be accomodated. Would never book an Intercontinatal again without a confirmation they will provide what was ordered. Also charge for internet is insulting considerering the room rates thats penny pinching.

Room Tip: Dont ever prepay a room they only let you have rubbish rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geesee2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental New York Times Square, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear geesee2504,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I'm truly pleased you found our location satisfactory to your needs. It is disappointing you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, and regrettable you were not satisfied with the condition of the room you received. I would like to discuss this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional information regarding your stay.

I look forward to being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I am an Intercontinental Ambassador, so my experience is likely a little enhanced (private check-in area, free WiFi, and upgrades as standard).

I paid a really reasonable rate (sub-300) and was upgraded to a high level room on the 8th Avenue/44th corner side. One of the best rooms I've ever had in NYC. Floor to ceiling glass windows that you can open (important for me). Working, sitting, and sleeping area. Full size shower (no tub, which makes a lot of sense). Really, really comfortable bed.

Common areas are really well done. Staff very attentive. A little slow on cork screw request, but second call saw someone running.

All in all, a great place.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m2010x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Found a great deal for a girls' weekend of R&R in NYC. This turned out to be an awesome hotel. The rooms are very modern, the beds extremely comfy, the hotel extremely quiet and the subway entrance just outside the hotel door made it easy to get anywhere. The front desk was helpful with every request and the service at every level was over the top.

While it is on the edge of the heart of Manhattan, I would be willing to walk a little further and make an extra subway stop to stay here again.

In the last 5 years, I have stayed in 5 different upscale NYC hotels and this is the one I will choose to go when I'm in charge of planning the next trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSandersCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly, Mass.
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

This Intercontinental is a top-notch hotel. No real complaints from me. The check-in was smooth with helpful and friendly employees. The rooms are quite large, especially for Manhattan, and were clean. The bed was comfortable.
The location is second to none - very close to Times Square with easy access to many other area of the city on the subway (or cab). I didn't eat in the restaurant but it looked real nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soxskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#107 of 466 in New York City
1,027 reviews
Midtown
The Westin New York at Times Square
The Westin New York at Times Squ...
#181 of 466 in New York City
2,432 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
W New York - Times Square
W New York - Times Square
#272 of 466 in New York City
4,253 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#188 of 466 in New York City
9,562 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#109 of 466 in New York City
6,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental New York Times Square

Property: InterContinental New York Times Square
Address: 300 W 44th Street, New York City, NY 10036-5419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in New York City
#60 Business Hotel in New York City
#88 Family Hotel in New York City
#88 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#131 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,715 - ₹ 42,875
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental New York Times Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 607
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Towering 36 stories above the city, the InterContinental Times Square features 607 luxurious guestrooms with floor-to-ceiling windows offering panoramic views of the Manhattan skyline and Hudson River. Drawing upon natural elements, the rooms are designed to evoke the feeling of a chic Manhattan residence, and average at 350 sq. ft. amongst the largest in midtown. Each room includes spacious work station, 42 in" HDTV and a spa-inspired bathroom with walk-in rain shower accentuated with blue mosaic tile. Situated just off the Times Square neighborhood, known as the "Crossroads of the World," the hotel brings the InterContinental touch to one of New York City's most popular areas. The hotel is close proximity to the Broadway Theatre District, Central Park, Fifth Avenue shopping, and many major transportation centers in Manhattan making it a convenient base to explore the city. Featured at the hotel is the Stinger Cocktail Bar and Kitchen, a lounge experience by Celebrated Chef Todd English. Guests are welcome to indulge in worldly comfort food alongside bespoke cocktails and an extensive offering of wine and beer. Offering signature cocktails three sized options and large batch punch-bowls the lounge at the Stinger brings the art of craft cocktails to Hell's Kitchen and the Theater District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your InterContinental New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental New York Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing