We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #46 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Thanks to Starwood's overly generous and short-lived Best Rate Guarantee Free Night NYC promo, I stayed here last week in a Junior Suite. It was wonderful. At no point did anyone make me feel badly that this was a free stay. The room was large and well appointed, although very masculine in decor (which is fine but my tastes are more feminine). I enjoyed a drink in the hotel bar and while the drink was delicious, my friend and I were ignored until we flagged down a waiter and then ignored again once we got our drinks until we flagged him down again for the check. I guess we didn't look like the typical patrons. Oh well. Otherwise, the night was great, the bed was comfortable, the rain fall shower was amazing (although the rest of the bathroom was a little too mirrored for my tastes--everything including the vanity and sink was completely covered in reflective metal) and it was well sound proofed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    853
    172
    65
    28
    25
See reviews for
190
539
62
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I was overwhelmingly impressed by my stay this week at The Chatwal. As a frequent business traveler, I've stayed at several different Midtown hotels, but this one was far and away the best. From the moment I walked into the beautiful Art Deco lobby, everything at the Chatwal was perfect. The Front Desk staff and Concierge were both friendly and extremely helpful. The room was incredible - amazing amenities and the best hotel bathroom I've ever seen (think heated toilet seat and TV integrated into the mirror!). The restaurant also had great food and service for breakfast. For such an amazing location so close to Times Square, my room was perfectly quiet. I can't wait to come back and stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The care and attention that the front desk staff, concierge, wait staff, extend to the guests is a joy! We enjoyed a one night stay in this gem of a property.The Art Deco style is a throwback to a long ago era. From the room design, wall sconces, furniture,as well as the bellhop outfits, one feels transported to another time. James at the Front Desk provided an interesting historical perspective about The Chatwal Thank-you, also to Desdemona, at Guest Services. A stay at the Chatwal is an opportunity not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSRoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear BSRoth,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from The Chatwal Hotel.

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your stay and that you found the historical aspect of our hotel interesting.

We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit. Please email me at lmiller@thechawalny.com if I may be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goldsboro nc
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We just returned from staying 3 nights in this wonderful hotel - the nicest one I have stayed in in NY and I have stayed in many both down market and up market. My 2 grandsons were wowed by the bathroom - the cocoa colored tiles have sparkled material in them which makes the entire bathroom glow. The kids thought it was the coolest thing they had ever seen. The technical aspect of the hotel is amazing - curtains and lights are controlled by a console beside your bed and the bathroom has so mahy features you just have to experience. Even a heated toilet seat!!!
The staff is most attentived and efficient. Always a doorman to greet you on arrival and departure. The bar was relaxing and lively but still soothing after leaving the hectic street activity. You would never kinow you were so close to Times Square. We did ot experience the restaurant but it looked very upscale and intimate. Had we not had our two 6 and 7 year olds we definitely would have gone. If you love theater this is the location to be in. I want to stay here for a month.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear berkemp,

Thank you for your very kind words regarding your stay at The Chatwal Hotel.

We are delighted to know that you appreciated the intimate aspects of your guest room and the bathroom.

We do hope to welcome you back for a return visit…maybe even for that month you want!

Sincerely,

Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Right off Sixth Avenue on 44th St., the Chatwal conveys a sense of luxury and peace as soon as you enter. Between the lobby, the bar and the rooms, it conveys a sense of art deco splendor as if you are traveling in a private rail car or yacht.

The room furnishings are unusual and successfully camouflage the small size of the room. The bathroom is not large, but big enough and is gorgeous.

The staff was extremely helpful and gracious---a wonderful surprise in every way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lionslurking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear lionslurking,

Thank you for your very gracious review.

We are thrilled to read you appreciated the room furnishings, all of which are custom designed for each room by Thierry Despont.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a return visit. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at lmiller@thechatwalny.com if I may be of any assistance.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#68 of 467 in New York City
1,962 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 467 in New York City
3,174 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#19 of 467 in New York City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#34 of 467 in New York City
1,062 reviews
Midtown
Langham Place, New York, Fifth Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#41 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 23,765 - ₹ 66,968
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing