We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Luxurious...but troublesome” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #44 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Luxurious...but troublesome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed at the Chatwal earlier this year for about a few weekdays.

I came to the door, my bags were taken up. I believe I was SPG Gold at this point - anyhow, availability was low and I was put into a standard room that overlooked 44th. The front desk was kind and welcoming. However, no one took me up to my room which I usually don't mind, but more on that below.

In the room - the feel is that of uber luxury - the Great Gatsby/ Roaring 20s theme really jumps out - the attention to detail is meticulous. Now, the lighting, blinds, tv, and toilet in the room were all extremely confusing. It would have been nice if someone were to walk me through everything. I spent a decent amount of time trying to figure out both the console/ phone and their magic toilet which apparently is a heated seat with all sorts of other features. Turns out that mine was actually broken.

Anyhow, I had called and asked for a charger for my phone - it never came. I had to call back a second time - this time my butler picked up and brought it. The woman who picked up the first time was extremely rude and sour. Anyways, the bed is AMAZING. Probably the best bed I've ever slept in.

Anyways, the next morning as I'm getting ready, I asked for an iron and an ironing board. The same woman from yesterday picked up. I waited 15 minutes before deciding to just hop into the shower. Wasn't there when I got back, had to call again, wait 10 more minutes and my butler brought it. Luckily I didn't need to be anywhere exactly at 8:30 but if I had, that would have been a huge problem.

When I returned, I mentioned these points along w/ the dysfunctional electronics to the woman at the front desk. She was very understanding, asked if I knew who picked up the phone both times (I didn't) and offered to move my room to a suite with a terrace. She also sent up 2 $40 certificates to use in their restaurant/bar. I appreciated that of course. The 2nd room was even better obviously! The terrace was fantastic - very private with a lot of large plants around. It was a warm day in NYC with light drizzling.

This room had a functioning toilet with all the gadgets. I would also like to mention that the showers are GREAT (rain showers), although the sinks are a bit odd. Overall probably the most luxurious room I've been in (really just something you have to see for yourself).

Additionally, I used the gym once while there - it's tiny, just a few cardio machines and some yoga balls with a short rack of dumbells. Disappointing - wasn't able to try the pool.

Also, never ordered any food either. Overall....it's nice, but the price tag is rather hefty, I'm not sure I'd opt to stay there too often over a place like the Trump SoHo unless I needed to be in midtown.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear Kal D,

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent experience at The Chatwal Hotel. We truly appreciate your time and value your feedback.

At The Chatwal, we pride ourselves on the intimate level of service we provide our guests. I would like to apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. I would welcome the opportunity to further discuss your stay in greater detail. I can be reached through email at lmiller@thechatwalny.com. You may also call the hotel directly at 212-764-6200 and ask to speak with Lance.

On another note I am delighted to read that you appreciated the theme and overall design of the hotel. I am thrilled you enjoyed custom handmade beds.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your review. I will look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    807
    162
    60
    27
    23
See reviews for
174
509
59
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I don't feel the hotel merits 5 stars, the rooms are a bit dark, drinks and food are overpriced, etc, but I would definitely give them 4.5 stars and would return. I just feel that, for the money, and based on the other 5 star ratings, this hotel should have a bit more umph.

The hotel's background/story is very interesting, the design is very cool, the lobby bar and upstairs bar are really well designed, the luxuries in the room are fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crabjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed at The Chatwal at the end of April for three nights. Overall, our experience was perfect -- everything was clean (always the most important area for me), the hotel itself was quiet and serene, and the staff were helpful. It was great to have staff helping with everything from handing you an umbrella as you left to hailing a cab for you. The location just off Times Square (I mean really close!) was perfect, and we were completely amazed how quiet it was inside the hotel itself. I haven't stayed anywhere else in New York, but the rooms were small in general. I would guess this is quite typical for NY, and yet the bathroom was large and really made up for the small room! As other reviewers have mentioned, the bathroom is pretty cool, and I loved the heated toilet seats! The one small disappointment was that on the phone we were told that we were given a free upgrade, and when we arrived, that upgrade was no longer "available" since someone had booked the upgraded room. While this is understandable, it would have been better if the mention of the upgrade wasn't made - since it caused some confusion at check-in and left us a little bummed initially. However, overall I would recommend The Chatwal without hesitation to anyone interested!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catsneezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband booked this hotel for my birthday. The room was beautiful, the staff was amazingly attentive, and the location couldn't be beat. I also enjoyed the spa during my stay, and the treatments were of the highest quality. Couldn't have enjoyed my birthday more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTheaterLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this review, 6 May 2012
Dear NYTheaterLover,

Thank you for your review of The Chatwal Hotel.

We are honored your husband chose to have you celebrate your birthday with us. I am delighted to know it was a memorable birthday.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Chatwal Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burr Ridge, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

If your travels call for Theatre, there is no better place to stay than the Chatwal. Amazing friendly and spot on service, the rooms are extremely modern. Truly a home away from home.

Room Tip: Splurge for one of the terrace suites, breakfast al fresco is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#107 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#35 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#48 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
AKA Times Square
AKA Times Square
#124 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#20 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#52 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Property: The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 29,370 - ₹ 62,168
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing