We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Ranked #35 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed at The Chatwal at the end of April for three nights. Overall, our experience was perfect -- everything was clean (always the most important area for me), the hotel itself was quiet and serene, and the staff were helpful. It was great to have staff helping with everything from handing you an umbrella as you left to hailing a cab for you. The location just off Times Square (I mean really close!) was perfect, and we were completely amazed how quiet it was inside the hotel itself. I haven't stayed anywhere else in New York, but the rooms were small in general. I would guess this is quite typical for NY, and yet the bathroom was large and really made up for the small room! As other reviewers have mentioned, the bathroom is pretty cool, and I loved the heated toilet seats! The one small disappointment was that on the phone we were told that we were given a free upgrade, and when we arrived, that upgrade was no longer "available" since someone had booked the upgraded room. While this is understandable, it would have been better if the mention of the upgrade wasn't made - since it caused some confusion at check-in and left us a little bummed initially. However, overall I would recommend The Chatwal without hesitation to anyone interested!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catsneezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,173)
There are newer reviews for The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 874 of 1,173 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband booked this hotel for my birthday. The room was beautiful, the staff was amazingly attentive, and the location couldn't be beat. I also enjoyed the spa during my stay, and the treatments were of the highest quality. Couldn't have enjoyed my birthday more.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYTheaterLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear NYTheaterLover,

Thank you for your review of The Chatwal Hotel.

We are honored your husband chose to have you celebrate your birthday with us. I am delighted to know it was a memorable birthday.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Chatwal Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

If your travels call for Theatre, there is no better place to stay than the Chatwal. Amazing friendly and spot on service, the rooms are extremely modern. Truly a home away from home.

Room Tip: Splurge for one of the terrace suites, breakfast al fresco is amazing!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We recently had the opportunity to stay at the Chatwal NY for the first time, and my wife and I were extremely impressed with both the hotel itself, and the staff.

As we were only at the hotel for a brief two nights (with a very late arrival the first night), followed by a very busy schedule the next two days, we didn't have an opportunity to see or take advantage of any hotel features beyond our hotel room and the lobby/reception area.
However, what we did see and experience, we loved. We found the hotel room to be impeccible, and the design details in the room and bathroom were outstanding. Every detail spoke to quality, and attention to detail, right down to the leather handle on the bathroom and cupboard doors. When we left the room, it was cleaned to perfection, and we didn't even see a misplaced fingerprint on the shiny stainless steel bathroom fixtures.

But beyond the beautifully appointed hotel room, and extremely comfortable bed, what made our stay special was the people who worked at the hotel. From the doormen, to the concierge, to the front desk staff, everyone was polite, friendly, and noticeably helpful. However, the icing on the cake was when we arrived at the airport after checking out of the hotel, when my wife noticed that her backup 'diabetes pump' had been left in our room, in the fridge area. We called the hotel from the airport 6 hours after checkout, and spoke with the conscierge on duty(Philip). Philip very calmly handled this stressful situation, managed to locate the diabetes pump, and then arranged to have it couriered to our home.It arrived safely and intact two days ago.
We have nothing but great things to say about the Chatwal NY, and have already started singing your praises to our friends and relatives. We hope to stay at the Chatwal NY again in the future. Until that time, thank you and your wonderful staff for a great experience at your hotel.

HHK & MTK

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear H2k2,

Thank you for your review of The Chatwal Hotel. We sincerely value your kind words.

I am pleased to see that you appreciated the details appointed in the guest room and had pleasant interactions with our staff. Furthermore we are all very happy that the concierge was able to arrange to have your diabetes pump safely returned to you.

We very much appreciate your support and kind words you have spoken to your friends and family. We do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Chatwal Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
Lance Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Chatwal is a quiet and luxurious oasis located only one half block from the madness of Times Square. The lobby and rooms are decorated in an art deco style with comfortable beds and large bathrooms (TV in the mirror, two sinks, and heated toilet seats). I would recommend the King Deluxe rooms or suites since the Superior Queen rooms are smaller and have a Murphy Queen size bed whch is easy to run into and bruise your shin. The staff was friendly and helpful especially the front desk (esp. Elizabeth) and the bellman/car valet/doorman. One caveat is that this is a small hotel so when a wedding party rented the second floor lounge on a Saturday night they closed the lobby bar. Fortunately room service came to the rescue with great cocktails which were delivered in only 10 minutes.
There is also an Irish bar next door with 19 beers on tap which was convenient when rain storms were inudating the city. I will definitely stay here next time we go to New York City since it is close the theaters but is tranquil compared to other hotels on Times Square.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGovern72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lance M, Front Office Supervisor at The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2012

Dear McGovern72,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences of The Chatwal Hotel. I am delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay.

We will look forward to your next visit at The Chatwal Hotel.

Cordially,
Lance Miller

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Knickerbocker
The Knickerbocker
#64 of 468 in New York City
2,204 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 468 in New York City
3,222 reviews
Midtown
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New York
Baccarat Hotel & Residences New ...
#26 of 468 in New York City
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Langham Place, New York
Langham Place, New York
#21 of 468 in New York City
2,221 reviews
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#48 of 468 in New York City
1,094 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York

Address: 130 W 44th St, New York City, NY 10036-4011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#33 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#40 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 37,710 - ₹ 69,767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York.Once home to the prestigious Lambs Club, this Stanford White designed landmark was reborn as The Chatwal in 2010. Fusing Art Deco style with Manhattan’s signature sophistication, The Chatwal has reinterpreted the elegance and glamour of classic New York City.Offering 76 guest rooms, inclusive of 27 suites, The Chatwal features a current pool, 24 hour fitness center and is home to The Red Door Spa by Elizabeth Arden. Guests are invited to enjoy celebrated “Iron Chef” Geoffrey Zakarian’s Lambs Club Restaurant, featuring modern American Cuisine. Wireless internet access and butler service is complimentary to all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chatwal Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing