We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and excellent service at a very fair price!”

Dafni Greek Taverna
Ranked #845 of 13,638 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 8th Avenue
Transit: Times Square NQRW, 123, S, close to Port Authority ACE.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent service at a very fair price!”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Food was excellent and the service was even better! Very reasonable prices for the Times Square/Theatre District.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BluenoserNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    194
    57
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The BEST”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I ate here during our visit to New York. I am a big fan of Greek food ever since my sister married a gentleman of Greek Orthodox descent and learned how to cook traditional Greek food from her mother in law. The food was wonderful. The service was wonderful. Prices reasonable. I have not enjoyed Greek food this much since the last time I was invited to "Greek Easter" at my brother in laws family's home.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food! Wonderful Service...”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

This restaurant seems to be hidden amongst some that I would not have walked into.... We had a look at the menu and while peering at that could see through the window that the atmosphere looked relaxing, clean and inviting.

We were greeted at the door by several staff and seated right away in this very busy restaurant. After ordering pikilia (an arrangement of dips and bread) as an appetizer, we settled in. We ordered some of the usual suspects- Greek salad and Souvlaki which arrived promptly. The waiter had suggested that I make a switch to a more "traditional" Greek salad and I was very happy that he did. It arrived with huge pieces of fresh feta, and all of the fixings except this version was heavy on the cukes, olives and tomatoes (onions and yellow pepper +feta) with no lettuce... perfect! The Souvlaki was equally delicious! We were very happy with our meal.

Price was amazing -dinner for 40 bucks.... Can't beat that!

Don't be shied away by the surroundings- this is a great restaurant!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch/appetizers”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Was skeptical of eating so close to Times Square and ended up making a great choice. We ordered apps (Gigantes, Saganaki, Cheese Spread, Octopus, Spanakopita, etc). Ingredients were fresh and they did not try to overdo the cooking. Nice simple, high-quality, authentic Greek food. Had a nice long relaxing lunch. Wait staff was great. Judging by the constant delivery action, must be plenty of businesses in the area that feel the same.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akarnavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downey, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food. Average service.”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

great food. nice ambience. service not bad, not great... just average

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank CycoPath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dafni Greek Taverna also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Dafni Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing