We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chambers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chambers Hotel
Ranked #71 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Excellent location in Midtown. Updated, clean rooms and amenities. The rate was a great value.
The staff and service put the whole experience over the top.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    159
    49
    22
    12
See reviews for
84
222
46
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

First time at this hotel in May 2012. I am always on the lookout for good hotels in NYC as a solo female business traveller. I like staying mid-town near shopping and Central Park. I got a very good rate a this hotel - about $230. I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. Though small it is well appointed. I was upgraded to a king room and it had a nice large bathroom with separate shower (important). I was given a coupon for a free drink at the bar and was pleased that they didn't tell me I could only order beer. Had a nice glass of wine and some food at the bar. It was small and fairly crowded but the bartender was pleasant and helpful. There was a small restaurant but I didn't eat there.

The hotel is on a street right off 5th Ave so it is a great spot for shopping. Central Park is walking distance.Starbucks at the end of the street.

I stayed only one night. No noise. Comfortable bed and pillows. No drama. Planning to stay there again on my next trip if its not too expensive.

The staff were nice and friendly. I left a package for a friend and they were nice about it. All in all a good experience

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I just got back from my annual summer trip to New York where I was happy to be staying at Chambers again for 7 days. The customer service is really top notch. I agree with the other poster who raved about Ty the doorguy. He really made my stay much more fun -- they always know your name at this hotel, which is nice. The manager, who you might note has answered every review written here kindly, included a nice note in my room on Friday night with local tips for a variety of things to do -- and not just the usual main tourist sites. It was a personal note about what was happening that weekend. I mean, if I had been into attending the Hare Krishna parade, well, I knew where to find it. I'm also partially disabled at the moment and they were accommodating without making a big, stupid deal out of it. I needed just a little help and they let me know that all I had to do was ask. When I spent one day sick in my room, Ty actually noticed and the housekeeping staff also seemed concerned, which was rather sweet. I was touched by the sincerity of the customer service here, just as I was last year.

This is a quiet, good-sized room in a great area -- I always have a hard time sleeping in other New York hotels. So if you're willing to give up the coffee maker and buffet breakfast for a really nice bowl of David Chang vietnamese soup and daily Lindt chocolates, this might be your place. The bathroom is very nice and I love their choice in bath products, but the place has a loft-type vibe that some people might not care for. I think it makes it feel more like you're staying with good friends in N.Y. Also, your room has an umbrella, a paper shopping bag, *shelves*, and a bathrobe just for the heck of it. The customer service here is really personal and their kindness seemed sincere -- they weren't just getting in your way for a tip.

I dream of staying in the suites they have in this hotel, which I sadly can't afford. I missed the sugary popcorn treat I got the year before, but it was another great stay with Chambers -- my home when I'm in N.Y. on business. If you travel for work and like to kinda feel like you have friends in town, I highly recommend Chambers. I wish I could take Ty home with me. Dear Mr. Manager, when I come back next year how about a surprise upgrade to the suite with the Japanese bathtub? Then I will be in heaven and never leave.

Room Tip: Um, if you can afford one of the suites, I haven't seen them, but I suspect they are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBookLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
207 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayd at this hotel for 4 nights. Great location, great rooms, great service. Only minus is the breakfast - far too expensive. Forget it and go elsewhere...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank torbenDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

I chose to stay at Chambers again for a short stay in NYC in May this year since I'd liked it so much the first time. I wasn't disappointed. Again, I had a clean, quiet and comfortable room (a standard Queen room at the back), I was concerned that the lift shaft ran through my room but this turned out not to be a problem at all (no noise). The bathroom and shower are great, the bed comfortable, in fact everything in the room was great. The staff were courteous and thoughtful as last time. And it is in an *amazing* location (Ben Stiller was filming round the corner while I was there and I saw him twice!). The only reason I don't give the hotel 5 stars is that it is a little pricey.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet night, ask for a room at the back, though the street is not too noisy anyway so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJH63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#47 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#31 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#89 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
#65 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#186 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee
Hotel Elysee
#9 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambers Hotel

Property: Chambers Hotel
Address: 15 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-3902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#58 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#111 Business Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,770 - ₹ 41,421
Hotel Class:4 star — Chambers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chambers is just off Fifth Avenue on 56th Street in the heart of midtown Manhattan and steps from the most prestigious shopping area in the world, museums and Central Park, offers a seamless fusion of uptown luxury and downtown cool. With a relaxed, attentive culture of service, Chambers is one of New York’s most alluring and chic hotels. Within its 72 rooms and 5 suites you will find an oasis of calm amid the hustle and bustle of one of the most exciting cities in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Chambers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambers Hotel New York City
Chambers New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing