We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst hotel experiences I've ever had”
Review of Flatiron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Flatiron Hotel
Ranked #388 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I booked a room at the Flatiron Hotel for one night in late Sept. 2017. I checked in around 9 pm with the intention of quickly showering then meeting friends for dinner and drinks. I returned around 1:30 am and attempted to enter my room, this is where one of the strangest, unprofessional hotel experiences I've ever had began. Getting to my room the key card seemed to not be working, after a few more tries, i began hearing voices coming from inside, I returned to the front desk where I was rudely informed that they had changed my room and somebody should have told me about it. I was given a new key and got to the room to find all of my possessions, which had been unpacked in my original room, dumped into my new room. The next day when i was checking out i mentioned how dissatisfied i was with my experience, the woman at the front desk did not seem to care whatsoever.

my physical experience at the hotel was only half the problem. About a week later i noticed a handful of odd charges that had gone through on my credit card from the flatiron hotel. I called the hotel and was very rudely told they had no record of charging my card. After calling back 2-3 more times a speaking to various employees who completely disputed my claim i finally spoke with someone who recognized my card had been charge. They gave me a refund for about 1/3 of the total charges they had put through.

I have stayed at may hotels as I've spent a considerable amount of time traveling for work and never in my life have i dealt with employees so blatantly disrespectful and rude to a customer. This has been by far the worst experience I've had at any hotel in my life.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

I stayed for one night. Nice hotel and check in was friendly and easy.

The room was average sized for a modern NYC room.

The business center did not have a printer which made it more complicated than necessary.

The Wifi went out 2-3 times during my one night stay for 10 minutes to an hour so that was a drag.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

The decorating choices in the lobby were beyond me, but our room was charming. Even the hallway was beautiful--with curved ceilings and beautiful woodwork. Our double room was surprisingly large for NYC. I found the staff to be very helpful, and I loved the location--near Madison Square Park, Eataly, and a short walk to Greenwich Village. The High Line is also a relatively short distance away. The hotel even included a free breakfast, which made it even more economical.

Room Tip: I would pay extra for the window rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Susan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Our family loved the location but this hotel needs a lot of TLC. The staff was a mixed bag of super friendly people and lazy rude people.
I did not complain while I was there but for those of you who would like to stay I advise not staying in room 701. The room was old, banged up, the bathroom mirror and lighting was terrible and the lit mirror was broken. I imagine other rooms are in a similar state.
The bed didn't have a a fitted bottom sheet, just a small mattress pad with flat sheets, an uncovered duvet and more top sheets. The tub drained slowly. Our pillows were hard as rock but fortunately our daughters had better pillows in their room to use.
They need a window cleaner! you could barely see out the windows they were so dirty. and the rooftop bar they display in their gallery is not for your use it is only for private functions....very disappointing! The bar is more like a cafeteria. Their complimentary breakfast is ok. The free happy hour drink was nice but didn't make up for the lack of cleanliness.
Our daughters stayed in 702 the double queen corner room. it was definitely better and more spacious. For the price of this hotel i would look elsewhere but try and stay in this area. We loved the location..near eataly, near great restaurants, shopping and a park.

Room Tip: 7th floor corner room, 702 was spacious and quiet. away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank marggirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

This place is a low star establishment. I stayed here recently and the TV didn't work and when I called for repair the guy never came. Also the one clock in the room didn't work.
Average room with very old furniture and a drab lobby. Understaffed and unprofessional as well. Stay at your own discomfort

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Randy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Richland New York
Hotel Richland New York
#296 of 473 in New York City
706 reviews
The Evelyn
#280 of 473 in New York City
2,225 reviews
Midtown
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
U Hotel Fifth Avenue
#293 of 473 in New York City
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoHo
Solita Soho Hotel
Solita Soho Hotel
#377 of 473 in New York City
486 reviews
Midtown
HGU New York
HGU New York
#279 of 473 in New York City
247 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#161 of 473 in New York City
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flatiron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flatiron Hotel

Address: 9 W 26th St, New York City, NY 10010-1003
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #388 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 8,962 - ₹ 29,529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Flatiron Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flatiron Hotel - Modern Luxury Hotel in New York Located in the heart of Manhattan, the Flatiron Hotel is a sophisticated, exciting way to experience New York. With modern, luxurious rooms and amenities, the Flatiron Hotel is a destination in and of itself in the center of New York's most vibrant area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Flatiron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing