We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 99
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$ 161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
US$ 320
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 271
US$ 205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 272/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 210
US$ 178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 145
US$ 132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 163
US$ 103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 663
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
37
65
23
11
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
65
23
11
18
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I telephoned Hotel 99 the day before my arrival to double check that my booking was in place. They told me that there had been 'a change to New York housing law' which meant that they had been forced to cancel all bookings. They did not email me or otherwise notify me of this change, leaving me high and dry and without much of an apology or any effort to secure me a room somewhere else. The excuse was also obviously a lie. It was graduation week at nearby Columbia University and my guess is that they received a large block booking and preferred to take that, ignoring their obligation to honour my reservation. At the very least they should have found me a suitable room nearby and covered any difference in cost. I still haven't received any written apology or account of what happened - all I got was a diffident person on the end of the phone who would do nothing to help me out of my predicament. Avoid it at all costs.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank A_L0nd0ner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We booked a double room with private bathroom, and cannot fault it. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels provided, the staff where friendly and helpful and the location was great. Only downside was the noise from the road, since our room was right on the front of the hotel. We bought earplugs from the hardware store downstairs which helped. We used the local "Americana" food deli on the corner of 101st. great coffee, snacks + open 24 hrs. The Metro Diner was ok, apart from the old guy who comes in at night , sits at the bar and spits on the tiled floor......gross.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not facing Broadway if pos
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RocketRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

I booked this hotel about 4 weeks ago for a weekend in NY. Two weeks before the date of arrival I got an email from the hotel stating they canceled my booking. In fact it said that all bookings for May and onwards were canceled. Luckily my stay was still 2 weeks away, but for those who had booked for the beginning of may: horrible! The cancelation had something to do with a new law, but nothing was specified. I phoned the hotel to ask for an explanation, which remained rather vague. The owner was friendly and all and new laws might not be in his hands, however, that doesn't make it OK to cancel bookings without providing another hotel option in a similar price range with free rooms. A law is generally not issued from one day to another, so they should have known.

I was looking very much forward to staying at hotel99 after reading the reviews on tripadvisor, so was pretty bummed and stressed when I got the email. The hotel I got now on short notice is about 100$ more expensive for 3 nights, money that I had rather spend on other things when in NY. However when looking back in time into the reviews, I found a similar cancellation action back in 2009. This is thus not the first time the hotel has canceled bookings just like that, therefore beware when you book this!

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank LoveTraveling00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

I was so impressed with Hotel 99. From the very start and throughout our stay the staff were friendly, chatty and very helpful, providing us with a list of local restaurants and bars.
The entire hotel was very clean, especially the shared bathrooms, not a stray hair in sight! Yes the rooms are on the smaller side but as its been said before, in New York you really only want a bed to sleep in!
Our only complaints would be the boiler problem which led to one day having a cold shower, however it was fixed the following day, and they took some money off our bill for this. The other issue they couldn't really do much about, but we had several mosquitos (or similar biting flying insect- definitely NOT bed-bugs) in our room, and had to buy bug repellent. But they were only minor complaints.
As I said myself and my sister were both really happy with hotel, excellent location to explore the upper west side, and not too far away from all the attractions of mid town.
Nearby recommendations would be Regional, an Itailian restaurant on Broadway between 98th/99th. Food was amazing, best cheese ravioli I've ever had, and they do cheap deals on a Monday. Also Sara Beth's on Amsterdam and 80th, few blocks walk but fantasic for bruch and outdoor seating.
Another major plus is the hotel provides free wi-fi, at many other more expensive hotels you have to pay for this.
I could go on and on..... but simply for a reasonably priced hotel that is reassuringly clean and well located you cant go wrong with Hotel 99.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

It's clean, neat, affordable, very well located (next to the subway), the staff is nice, it offers free high speed internet. Only the room is a bit small and the bed takes up almost the entire space. But apart from that, it's Very good deal !!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inseglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews