We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, comfortable, friendly helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Distrikt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zew Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great location, comfortable, friendly helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

Cant add much to other recent reviews. Asked to move room to a higher floor on arival we we did the next day to get a view. Room was vey quiet and comfortable, slept very well.
Surrounding streets are a bit on the seedy side but we never felt uncomfortle or unsafe. Hard to beat the locatin for visitors. Subway in same block as entrance and with one stop (if necessary) op you can get to any station in NY. We spenta goodweek there and would not hesitate to go back if returning to NY.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwit0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
It's great to hear that you "would not hesitate to go back" and we would absolutely love to welcome you again. Thank you for sharing your experience with us here at Distrikt, and please stay in touch with us via Facebook or Twitter so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable! Take care until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,279
    1,228
    224
    30
    14
See reviews for
904
2,440
222
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Excellent value for your hard-earned money. Clean, contemporary, and bright. Friendly, efficient, personal service. Superb location between the dazzle of Times Square and the eclectic Hell's Kitchen. Easy, relatively affordable garaged parking right next door. Two minute walk to 8th Ave. entrance to Times Sq. subway station.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11earl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
We're very glad to hear that you felt your experience was "perfikt" (we love the spelling)! It's always great to know that our goal for efficient and personal service is met and has enhanced your stay. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
225 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

The Distrikt Hotel in New York is only a couple of blocks away from Times Square and all the other attractions of Midtown Manhatten. There is a subway stop two minutes from the hotel with easy access to all other parts of New York. Next to the location, the hotel must be reccommended for the great attentive staff with their wonderful and friendly attitude towards their guests. We have travelled a lot, but have never met this kind of great service, not even in five star hotels. From the reception staff to the concierge and from staff at the bar to the houskeeping staff, everyone tries to make you feel at home. There is a second service for the room at night with complementary chocolates and when it rains the hotel immediately offers you an umbrella. It is those little things that matter. We had a room with two double beds that was quite large for a hotel in Manhatten. The room and bathroom were kept very clean. Linen was changed upon request as in most hotels these days that care for conservation issues. Housekeeping should only take more care when replenishing things like shampoo. Even when we left an empty bottle clearly visible, the bottle would be taken away, but a new one wasn't provided. But a telephone call to the front desk would solve that issue, so this is a minor thing and overall the service provided was good. Of course, the Distrikt Hotel is very expensive, like most things in New York, but the large room was worth every dollar paid. The only thing that wasn't worth the money, was the breakfast. We bought pre-paid vouchers for $13 a person. You can exchange these vouchers at breakfast for three options, a continental buffet, French Toast with bacon or sausages or eggs any style you like with bacon or sausages. All with coffee, tea and juices. We have tried all the options, but neither was worth the money paid and since the breakfast options are very limited, you will get bored when staying more than a couple of days. Since you can get a decent breakfast for half the price in hundreds of places within a mile radius of the hotel, I would reccommend going out. But apart from the overpriced and limited breakfast, the Distrikt Hotel is a very good choice for a stay in Midtown Manhatten.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your experience with us. We're very glad to hear that you had a positive experience, and the location and the friendly staff enhanced your stay. We, too, believe that the small things make a difference, so it's always wonderful to receive our guests' feedback. We apologize regarding items that were not replenished and we appreciate your notifying the front desk right away. We are very sorry to hear of your experience at breakfast. Collage Bistro offers a selection that is best for those looking to grab a quick, light bite before going out to explore the City, however guests are encouraged to approach the front desk staff and we're happy to modify any issues. Please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter for our best rates, and we hope to welcome you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have just spent 9 nights at the Distrikt Hotel. We booked two rooms, and were on the 21st floor. Firstly I was absolutely delighted by our location so near to Times Square. I was then worried that maybe there would be a lot of street noise during the night, but it was so quiet, and we all slept really well.

The Distrikt a hotel has a family run feel to it, so much friendlier than the usual City centre type corporate hotels. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

We really enjoyed ourselves visiting NYC, and the fact that after such long busy days exploring the city, it was great to go back to somewhere so welcoming each night.

I would highly recommend the Distrikt Hotel, and when I come back to New York in the future I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: As stated we stayed in the 21st floor, and there was no traffic noise. I am not sure if that was the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bingopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
It's always so wonderful to hear that we were able to provide a welcoming place to come home to each night after a long day of exploring New York City. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to New York City; please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable. Facebook or Twitter are fantastic ways to stay connected! Take care until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

This was my 16th visit to NYC, but my 4th visit to the little gem that is "The Distrikt", I have found this and I will never go anywhere else now. The hotel is right smack bang in the centre of Manhattan, right opposite the Port Authority, where you can get the bus to/from the aiport and be right there ! (no taxis to take when you get into the city). It is only a short walk to Times Square, 42nd Street where most of the shows are, and Macys ! The rooms are gorgeous, and the beds are sooooo comfy !!! There is a coffee machine in the room, and iced tea downstairs in the reception. The staff are the best I have come across while travelling, they would do anything for you !!! Jennifer and your staff you do a wonderful job, thank you for yet another stay in "The Distrikt"

Room Tip: The top floors have great views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottishperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna S, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you so much for your 4th visit to Distrikt! It's always such a pleasure to welcome back a guest as it feels like seeing an old friend again. We're very happy to hear that your 4th stay was as good as your 1st, and we are so grateful to hear that "the staff are the best" you have come across travelling. We cannot wait to welcome you back for your next New York City trip! Take care until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#36 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel

Property: Distrikt Hotel
Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,559 - ₹ 28,227
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Distrikt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown West, Times Square area on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the cityscape and Hudson River. Offers a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of Broadway where they belong. Additional complimentary amenities include: With dedication to detail with impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guestrooms and 4* amenities. Each of the 155 guestrooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include relaxing Simmons Beauty Rest mattresses, decadent Frette bed and bath linen, 37" LG flatscreen television, business desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER soaps and amenities, and wireless internet in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Distrikt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing