We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Ranked #76 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Good hotel with friendly Staff! Big size rooms, good bathroom, every day the The New York Times!
Ideal for Times Square area, Central Park! Extremely clean and very friendly.

Room Tip: Email directly to the hotel
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mieke4361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for staying with during your New York City trip! We're happy to hear you enjoyed the many popular elements of Distrikt, such as the very attentive and friendly staff, modern and clean rooms, bathroom with ample counter space and a power shower, and the New York Times delivered to your door every weekday morning. Other complimentary amenities include a Keurig coffee/tea machine in your room for your convenience, free wifi throughout the building and your room, Mac computers in the lobby with printing ability, and so forth. We are just minutes away from Times Square and many other major attractions, and is an easy 10 to 15-minute walk to Central Park. As you mentioned, we can most easily assist guests by directly speaking with guests, so everyone is encouraged to contact us directly via phone, email, Facebook, Twitter, etc. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your next trip to the Big Apple! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,266)
There are newer reviews for Distrikt Hotel New York City
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,223 - 3,227 of 5,266 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed here with friends from the 19th Feb 2012 for 5 nights. We came for our honeymoon as NYC is our favourite city!
I cannot think of anything bad to say about this hotel, it is just wonderful. The lobby is small - but it made it all the more personal - all the staff we encountered were lovely and always had a smile on their faces.
We checked in and they have kindly upgraded us to a room on the 25th floor which had amazing views over to the river! we also had a note welcoming us to the hotel, along with a chocolate brownie (which was to die for!). The room was a really good size, especially by NYC standards and had everything you needed - huge bed with high quality bedding, a decent hairdryer - not one of these ones that have no power and a HUGE powerful shower - Excellent!

We ventured down into the bar on arrival after dropping off our bags as they had kindly given us a $20 voucher for the restaurant/bar. We ordered a couple of cocktails for the ladies and beers for the gents. The girl behind the bar was absolutely lovely (i didn't get her name but it was a sunday evening - she only worked the weekend) She mixed us AMAZING cocktails and was really chatty and friendly, offering us all kinds of 'local knowledge' for places to eat and drink.

There was free WIFI in the hotel as well as Apple Macs in reception to use which was handy and in a morning there was lovely hot coffee, later in the day there was hot cider (unfortunately I only tried this on my last day!)

The staff go above and beyond the call of duty - making sure you had an umbrella when it rained (luckily only on our last day!) and were always available for banter - especially about football - I think it was Joseph that supported Man city that we used to chat to - but all staff lovely - they are a real credit to this hotel.

People have mentioned the area being seedy - I didn't find that at all - yes there are a couple of sex shops, beggers (this is the real world we are living in), a bus terminal and rubbish waiting for collection but I didn't feel unsafe at anytime - perhaps those people that mentioned these things are not used to big cities, but please don't let this put you off at all - New York is one of the safest places I have been to.

I would have no hesitation in recommending the distrikt hotel. The hotel is in an excellent location, is clean and modern, but the staff are its biggest asset.

Well done Distrikt!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms give better views - but do you really come to NYC to sit in your room all day?
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarelovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us at Distrikt Hotel! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to spend this time in your favorite city. We do pride ourselves on our friendly staff, and they are always eager to celebrate such occasions with you, so we're glad you were able to get to know them. Our rooms are designed for our guests' utmost comfort, privacy, and also with modernity in mind, and the very comfortable bed and power shower are some of our very popular elements! Glad you enjoyed them. We are glad to see you were able to take advantage of our Collage Bar & Bistro located on the ground floor, open for dinner and drinks every night. Our cocktails and beers are perfect for starting off or finishing up a long night in the City. We offer many complimentary amenities, such as those you mentioned; complimentary wifi throughout the building and in each rooms, Mac computers for your convenience available at all times, and coffee/iced tea (apple cider in the colder seasons) in the lobby for your refreshment. Our immediate neighborhood has truly flourished in recent years with the revamping of Port Authority and planting of more trees and so forth, and we as employees who commute to the hotel daily find the area safe and typical of a busy New York City neighborhood. Our front desk is open and available 24 hours a day, and there is a security agent available during late evening and early morning hours. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you for your next trip to New York City! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We spent four nights at the Distrikt Hotel and the hotel exceeded our expectations. Great value for money. Upon our arrival we were welcomed with a big smile and checked in smoothly - just what you need after an 8hr flight. The room was spacious, the staff helpful, friendly and dealt with us and all their guests with a smile. Drinks in the bar in the evening before stepping out in town was always relaxed and Christine, the bar-lady, as well being happy to chat and have a joke, pours a great pear martini! The hotel is ideally located in NYC, with only a five to ten minute walk to Times Square and a metro station 30 seconds away. This is the first time I have posted a review on Tripadvisor, which goes to show how impressed we were with the Distrikt Hotel. This is the place that you'd like to keep secret it's such a great find..but I had to share.

Room Tip: Although not essential, we paid a little extra to be higher up and have a view of the city. Was nice...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyVParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for your very first Trip Advisor review ever, and staying with us during your New York City trip! We're so happy to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we were able to exceed your expectations. Our staff strives for your absolute comfort and enjoyment, so it is fantastic to hear they were able to provide a smooth and efficient check-in process after your long trip. Our Collage Bar & Bistro is perfect for those who wish to grab a quick bite or drink before heading out to explore the City or returning from a long day of walking around, so glad to hear you got to try our popular pear martini! We are, as you mentioned, located just minutes away from Times Square and most major subway lines, which allows for our guests to make the most of their time in the Big Apple. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed here recently while on honeymoon. The hotel upgraded us because of this reason and have to say they were excellent. When we arrived, we were greeted with two cheesecakes which said "Happy honeymoon" in our room. The hotel is very close to Times Square, Maceys, the Port Authority and the Subway. The staff were very helpful when it came to giving us directions. For example, we were going to get a taxi to Ground Zero but were advised that all we had to do was take Subway E outside and get off at the last stop. Being close to the Port Authority was very good because we could easily get a bus there to Jersey Gardens for shopping. We found no problems with the street. They were a few people around the odd time who could be classed as dodgy looking but this is New York, a huge city and you can meet those on any street corner. We never had trouble with anyone. Great location and great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us for your special trip! We are always happy to celebrate such special occasions with our guests, and we are very glad to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. Our central and convenient location allows for an easy and efficient route to anywhere in the City, as well as a quick walk to any major Midtown activities, such as Times Square and Macy's as you mentioned. We're glad our staff was able to provide you with efficient directions to make the most of your trip. Our immediate street has improved dramatically in recent years, and as you say, in a City of 8 million people, we as employees of the hotel and citizens of New York arrive at the hotel at all times of the day everyday and feel absolutely safe. Thank you again and we very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Take care! Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

I wanted to go to New York all my life and my Dad took me for my 21st Birthday in October. Having waited 21 years to get there, it was well worth the wait! The hotel and its staff were absolutely fantastic. Everything you could ask for and more from hotel staff. I can’t big them up enough!! It was extremely clean and had great facilities, for me at least, (Wifi and apple computers to keep in touch and check in with friends back home). The hotel is in a great location, across the road from port authority bus terminal, 2 minute walk to time square and 5 minute walk to 5th avenue... simply can’t go wrong! I just checked the Hotels website and realised its only 3 star and I can not understand why! As the holiday was a present to me I did not know the star rating but if I was asked to guess when I was there I would have given it 4.5 to 5 star with out a shadow of a doubt!! I recommend the hotel to anyone I know that’s thinking about visiting New York and if I ever go back to New York, which I hope to, I will be staying in this hotel. To sum up... Great Hotel... Great Staff... Great Location... Great... Great... Great!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASDistrikt, Guest Relations Manager at Distrikt Hotel New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for spending your special birthday trip here with us at Distrikt Hotel. We are so glad to hear you loved your stay! Our many complimentary amenities, such as the wifi throughout the building, and the Mac computers available at all times for your convenience, are for our guests to take advantage of, so it is great to hear that you were able to make full use of them. Our friendly and attentive staff is always eager to celebrate special occasions with guests, so we're glad to hear you were able to get to know them! Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Please contact us directly next time so we can make your next stay even more enjoyable. Best wishes from the entire Distrikt Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#72 of 468 in New York City
407 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 468 in New York City
1,033 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 468 in New York City
3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 468 in New York City
5,207 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#123 of 468 in New York City
1,201 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#78 of 468 in New York City
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distrikt Hotel New York City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distrikt Hotel New York City

Address: 342 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 12,085 - ₹ 29,699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distrikt Hotel New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one of a kind, upscale boutique hotel, located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, at the edge of Times Square on 40th Street between 8th and 9th Avenues. The Distrikt Hotel towers 32 stories tall with unobstructed views of the Midtown Manhattan, the Hudson River and the Theater District; Offering a unique experience with the concept of staying in one of ten neighborhoods of Manhattan within the hotel. The sleek lobby space features a 14 ft. Green living wall representing Central Park and the check-in area welcomes guests to a hand carved wall of wood, detailing the streets of Manhattan. Airport grade 6/8 inch windows keep the sounds of a bustling city where they belong. With dedication to detail and impeccable service, cutting edge technology, comfortable yet luxurious guest rooms and 4-star amenities. Each of the 155 guest rooms are designed for the comfort and needs of the guest to include decadent Turkish bed and bath linen, 43" LG flatscreen televisions, work desk with ergonomic chair, LATHER aromatherapy bath amenities, and an in-room coffee and tea station. Additional complimentary amenities include: Free Wifi, Free Gym Access, Free Lobby Refreshments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Distrikt Hotel New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing