We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mave”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The MAve Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The MAve Hotel
Ranked #379 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
“Mave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Great location and budget friendly. Rooms are small but stylish and clean.

Room Tip: The higher floors have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    357
    169
    71
    64
See reviews for
106
448
99
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

My reservation was on their records, and check in was very easy. The room was very nice, clean, the WIFI worked as did everything else in the room. The continental breakfast had some really good coffee and danishes, too. The bed was comfortable and the temperature in the room was just right. The people who work there was very friendly and helpful. I was relieved to find out that bag storage was no problem. We left them there for a few hours before leaving on the train. The neighborhood is fun and I just had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nurnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Vesa, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We're very happy to have had the chance to impress you! Thanks for staying with us, we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is located at 27th and Madison, which was easy access from Penn station. We were in New York for a wedding and spent little time in the room. Like most New York hotels the rooms are tiny, but have all the amenities I was looking for: A nice bed, internet access, an iron and ironing board, and a helpful front desk. We showed up a couple hours or so before check-in and the hotel was able to finish cleaning a room and let us check in early so we could start getting ready for the wedding. The front desk was helpful with directions and suggestions for bars and restaurants in the area. The bar right next door is a Philly cheesesteak place with a very nice selection of beer on tap. It was a good place to wait for our room to be ready.

Overall this is a very good hotel for NYC. It doesn't get an excellent rating for minor things: the room size is small, there is no restroom in the lobby, and there is no mirror in the bedroom which makes it a little more difficult for 2 people to get ready at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights in celebration of his 40th birthday. Before our arrival I emailed the hotel and asked them to put a bottle of champagne in the room for when we arrived. They responded with a really welcoming email and as requested, the bottle was on ice as we were shown in....what was better is that they did not charge me for it either! The hotel itself was very clean, had a lovely standard of decor and the staff were absolutely fantastic. They provided a map of the city, and an information sheet that included recommended restaurants near by. While the hotel does not provide food, complimentary pastries, tea and coffee were provided each morning in reception. One tip would be that the Urban Standard double room (the smallest rooms) are very small, fine for a one night stay, but when I saw it I decided to upgrade as for four nights it would have been too small. However, the upgrade was so much cheaper than what it would have been when booking online so worth booking the urban and then upgrading on arrival. The hotel is in a prime location, a 5 minute walk away from the Empire State Building and comfortable walking distance to Times Sq, 5th Avenue etc. I would recommend The Mave highly, it was perfect for the price and the staff made it all the more enjoyable....oh yes and the showers were lovely, really hot water at all times!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJPel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Vesa, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you for choosing us for such a special occasion! We're very happy to have been able to become part of your birthday memories and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

What can i say!!!, This was a fantastic hotel in a smart location, It's in walking distance to the entire local and national treasures. the staff were fantastic in offering help & assistance and went out of there way in making sure we were at easy with the fast pace life style of New York. We were put off with the breakfast at first but it turned out to be very refreashing, excellent coffee, muffins and a great choice - a great start to the day. The room was cleaned daily and we had freash towels as well, the bed was very comfy with all the modernfacilities of a higher rated hotel.The only 2 things I would change would be British newspaper's instead of New York news, that would have been a nice touch and a little better noise reduction around the windows would have been great, New York cabs enjoy the sound of there own horns even @ 6:00am..... I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel and would award the hotel 95% out of 100%. I TRUELY RECOMARKABLE EXPERIANCE

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VORDIE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George_Vesa, General Manager at The MAve Hotel, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thanks for the fantastic review! We work very hard to make sure all of our guests have fun at The MAve and experience NYC like a true New Yorker does daily. Your feedback about the newspaper has been noted, we will definitely work on that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
The Evelyn
#295 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#327 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Flatiron District
The New York EDITION
The New York EDITION
#47 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Manhattan
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
Clarion Hotel Park Avenue
#369 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collect...
#364 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The MAve Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The MAve Hotel

Property: The MAve Hotel
Address: 62 Madison Ave, At 27th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8704
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #379 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,587 - ₹ 45,832
Hotel Class:3 star — The MAve Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new center of the universe, the Flatiron District. Located at the core, the newly opened 74 room MAve Hotel puts you steps away from iconic New York, at the crossroads of sophistication and chic. Wander to Chelsea, Madison Square, Gramercy and Union Square from this impressive address. Modern in style, yet simplistic in nature-featuring hardwood floors and eclectic urban artwork, the MAve is your personal Manhattan pied d' terre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The MAve Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mave Hotel New York City
Mave New York City
Mave Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing