We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My 5th stay here, that should speak for itself.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Ranked #150 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Once again the Staybridge Suites times square does not disappoint. Here for business again, I find the hotel rooms to be especially comfortable and accommodating. Never have I been able to sleep as well as I do when staying here because the beds are so comfortable and the rooms are able to maintain a cool temperature as needed. I also love to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast each morning although if it's around 8:15 - 8:45 it is more crowded than the earlier hours. Trying to get a cab during the week can be painful bc they are driving toward 8th and its always congested. We usually walk left to 9th to try to find one. The bellman was great he offered to walk our luggage down to 9th and hail one for us since we had not reserved one in advance. It was exceptional service. The bathrooms once again were clean and the elevators can be a little slow but overall not bad. I should mention that I am a Priority Club platinum member and I am still not quite sure of its advantages and how it can benefit my hotel stay. I usually book this hotel through points earned on my Priority Club credit card and the options provided never allow for a double bed booking, we always have to "request" it and it is not guaranteed. We have always been accommodated thankfully but the system is not set up to offer a double bed option which I would like to see. The location of the hotel is convenient (not glamorous but this area of ny is pretty dirty in general) to Times Square and midtown, the street itself pretty quiet bc it faces the port authority and is not directly on a main street. I am a light sleeper so having street noise is always a concern and I'm glad I found this little jewel tucked away on 40th. Remember that $1 pizza on the corner of 9th has cheap drinks including $1 water you can keep in your fridge in the hotel (just discovered the fridge has an ice maker). We will be back September for the next business trip and have already
made our reservation. Thanks again to Staybridge Suites for another good one!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dallasiteonbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for coming to see us once again. We appreciate your loyalty and are glad that we are able to exceed your expectations every time and never disappoint!!

Our rooms were made with the mindset of comfort and convenience, to allow for our guests to enjoy the best of home and hotel. All of our rooms are double-paned as well, so it makes for a much quieter sleep, no matter where the room is located. We are thrilled to hear you were able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast every morning, which is one of the most raved about amenities we have.

Thank you for pointing out one of our team members, we are always eager to help our guests in any way possible. With your Platinum Priority Club Membership, you receive complimentary upgrades and late checkouts when available. In addition, you receive a warm welcome along with a special treat made especially for our Platinum Members. Our goal is to make your stay is even more enjoyable, so please do not hesitate to contact me in advance, so I can make sure you receive the room request you prefer!

We all appreciate you making the Staybridge Suites your #1 choice hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in September!

Again thank you for leaving the tips for our future guests to enjoy and I know you will find out even more on your next visit!!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (5,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,047 - 3,051 of 5,766 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

SUMMING IT UP: The breakfast was FANTASTIC! The rooms were beautiful and comfortable beds. Location was 2 blocks from Times Square. Staff was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel based on service, value and location.
EXTRA INFO: Our family of four stayed 4 nights.
Breakfast: So many food items to choose. A full crew constantly restocked, cleaned and cleared tables. Eggs, meat, potatoes, yogurt, breads, cakes, muffins, bagels, croissants, fruit, hot & cold cereals, cheese, etc. If you get to breakfast before 8:45 am. there are usually plenty of tables. After that, the tables become limited.
ROOMS: They were spacious enough - (I read many complaints about small NYC rooms). The beds were very comfortable. There were hypo allergenic pillows and 2 real down pillows in the drawer. A big flat TV screen. A full kitchen with cream, sugar, coffee, dishes, etc.
LOCATION: 2 blocks from Times Square, subway accross the street and near 9th street where there were many restaurants at lower prices than Times Square inflated tourist pricing. The famous Hell's Kitchen on 9th too.
FREE LAUNDRY: Hotel gives you free detergent!! 5 washers & 5 dryers - all free to use. Wow!
FITNESS: Room was pretty big & had a lot of equipment. We didn't use though.
STAFF: Very nice. There was always someone available to assist.
VALUE: We paid approximately $249.00 per night (plus tax). We thought it was a good value because of breakfast, free wifi and location. The subway is $2.25 one way per person. This adds up for a family of four. We would stay here again,

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jszap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for writing this wonderful review, it’s much appreciated!!

We are very glad that you and your family had such a wonderful experience while staying with us. We at the Staybridge Suites Times Square make it our job to make every guest experience as memorable as possible. From cleanliness to service all of our associates thrive for excellence and friendliness.

Our all American breakfast buffet served daily (M-F 6:30-10 & Sat/Sun 7-11) is just one of the many complimentary amenities our guest can enjoy. The Complimentary Social receptions on Tues-Thurs from 5-7, the Business Center, Laundry and Internet make the value of our property that much more substantial. The hotel also boasts for an ideal location which provides easy access to all of New York City’s famous attractions and entertainment, which I am glad you were able to take full advantage of.

Again, thank you for leaving all the tips and comments for other prospective travelers to see. We look forward to welcoming you back again next time!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Pretty much everything about the Staybridge has been mentioned in the dozens of reviews by others. It lives up to its billing and is a very good stay in central Manhattan for a price that's not as bad as many lesser hotels around.

Yes, there can be some waiting for the elevators but during my five nights stay only once or twice did it start to bother me in the least. Breakfast is crowded but travelling solo I didn't have trouble finding a spot to sit down on any morning, at any hour. For a party of three or more could be more troublesome though.

Hotel staff was very friendly and attentive - especially considering that this is a very busy hotel and there's always, always 10+ guests in the lobby and a lot of things going on.

Airconditioning worked quite well but it was really, really loud. Not quite ear-shattering but certainly enough to start to get on your nerves after a while. Wi-Fi was available throughout the hotel but was painfully slow.

The "business center" was pretty much the worst experience I've had staying in something like 70+ hotels around the world. All of the three computers kept crashing, constantly. All of them were painfully, dreadfully slow. The printer had a mind of its own. And this was repeated for three days and no turn for the better. The computers were located in a cramped hallway - so there's five other guests looking behind you; forget about privacy. So, beware all and BYOD.

Still, alltogether a very fine experience. The location is great, easy walking distance to a lot of place and only two blocks to the nearest subway station. The rooms are large, kitchenettes great - and everything worked like a charm and was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We are currently staying at the Staybridge on our second trip to NY. We booked this hotel after reviewing many hotels in and around Times Square. We are not disapointed. The service is good, the breakfast is excellent and the hotel facilities are first class.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Len_FLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you Len for taking the time to write your review!

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we met up to your expectations! It is our goal to make sure all our guests have an amazing time and our staff provide 100% guest service satisfaction!

Our breakfast buffet is offered complimentary daily and is amongst a favorite amenity of our guests. The free Wifi, socail reception, fitness center, business center and laundry are just a few other services we offer complimentary and adds a great value for our guests!

We are happy to have had you stay with us and hope to welcome you back next time you come to visit NYC!

Warm Regards,
Staybrigde Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

we booked this hotel on recommendation from a friend and were not disappointed. Close to Times Square, friendly and welcoming, spotless rooms with cooking facilities. Buffet breakfast was excellent and on three days of the week they had social hours which included free snacks and drinks between the hours of 5pm and 7pm which was a nice touch. There was also a gym and free laundry self service for guests.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel which was excellent as were all their staff. Nothing was too much trouble they were friendly and helpful. To name a couple of people Manny in the restaurant, and Bradley and Jamie in the foyer were always on hand to help

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen L, Front Office Manager at Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Thank you Vince for writing this wonderful review and please make sure to tell your friends thank you as well!!

We are excited to hear you were able to take advantage of all our complimentary amenities and services we offer! The features we offer are to give our guests the comforts and conveniences, just like they would receive at home. We want all our guests to feel comfortable and welcome because that’s the Staybridge way! All our staff are truly dedicated to going out of their way to ensure our guests are taken care, so I am glad you were able to get to know a few of them!

We are happy that we made your stay just that much more enjoyable and would be glad to do the same next time you visit NYC!

Warm Regards,
Staybridge Team (Especially Manny, Bradley & Jamie)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Midtown
Element New York Times Square West
Element New York Times Square We...
#302 of 469 in New York City
4,201 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#65 of 469 in New York City
5,463 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#235 of 469 in New York City
1,885 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#289 of 469 in New York City
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City

Address: 340 West 40th Street, New York City, NY 10018-1404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Family Hotel in New York City
#57 Business Hotel in New York City
#60 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 10,073 - ₹ 32,818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you're traveling to New York City, you want to be confident that your accommodations will meet your every need. Staybridge Suites • Times Square •New York City has been meticulously created to do just that. No hassles. No mysteries. Just a single focus on you! A short walk to Times Square, a block from the nearest subways and the Port Authority Bus Terminal, you’re in the heart of Manhattan, with all the city attractions in easy access at your doorstep. It’s All On Us! We’ve included in your stay a COMPLIMENTARY breakfast each morning, complimentary wi-fii/high speed internet in all rooms and throughout the hotel, complimentary cocktail hour/social reception with free drinks/beer/wine/and appetizers 5-7pm Tues-Thur, complimentary in room coffee/coffee maker and tea daily, in addition to complimentary coffee/tea/and hot cocoa in our great room-lobby throughout the day, complimentary newspapers by our front desk; and, complimentary laundry facility, business center and fitness center. Each room comes with its own fully equipped kitchenette, with a full-sized refrigerator, microwave, stove top, dishwasher, pots, pans, utensils, and cookbook to make you feel completely at home. On site is a concierge service to help you with tourist/and travel arrangements, bellman/porter service for car and luggage assistance, bar/lounge space open in the evenings, 24-hr pantry and convenience mart for late night snacks and last minute travel needs, and board games by our great room fireplace. Our hotel allows pets. 24-hour security is onsite. Reduced rate parking at nearby hotel garage just one block away. Stay a Night, Stay a Week, Stay a Year. Our hope is you never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing