We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broadway Up Close Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadway

Broadway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 111.25*
and up
Bandstand on Broadway
Ranked #8 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most famous theater district in the world.
edlinmik@optonline.net
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Broadway Up Close Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

We loved the "Broadway Up Close Tour" we took recently. It was so amazing to hear the stories about the happenings (even the ghosts) in the theaters. Our guide, Tim Dolan, knew so much and kept the tour interesting right up to the end. This is a tour that seasoned New Yorkers would enjoy as well as tourists from out of town. Don't miss it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EdandLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

23,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,729
    4,984
    1,164
    196
    111
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Give Our Regards to Broadway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

This trip was entirely for seeing Broadway musicals and since we hadn't been to NYC in several years, I figured we could get tickets for the 5 nightly shows and one matinee during our visit at TKTS on Duffy Sq. While I was surprised that Wicked wasn't available at TKTS (since past experience has shown that most shows are available discounted in non-peak times if they've been playing a few years), we did find 6 other shows on our short list - even the limited engagement Newsies. Also saw Nice Work if You Can Get It on the last night of previews, then checked the reviews at midnight the following night. This was our favorite show of the trip despite pretty universally negative opening reviews. It was compared unfavorably to Anything Goes, which we also saw; while we certainly liked Anything Goes, we liked Nice Work better. Broadway the avenue, around Times Square in particular, is just a densely packed and unpleasant area you have to put up with to see theater. But since we enjoy a good "musical fix" with singing and dancing boys and girls, along with nice costumes and sets, we're willing to brave the crowds to get tickets and see shows.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tripsforwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Broadway as district:) super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Broadway as district:) super
absolute great climate
I highly recomend to walk all Brodway
You;ll see all Manhattan's attractions

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank artek z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“what a sight!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

My Sisters and I went to Broadway at night (the only time to see it properly). It was amazing. Loved the Hard Rock Cafe there - a great guy called Hugo looked after us really well.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

We absolutely loved walking through Times Square and Broadway. We went to see Mary Poppins, and loved it. Would recommend : )

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleMissSunshine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broadway also viewed

 

Been to Broadway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing