We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broadway”
Review of Broadway

Broadway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 111.25*
and up
Bandstand on Broadway
Ranked #8 of 1,093 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most famous theater district in the world.
Crewee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Broadway”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Brilliant, fantastic, must see! Great place to see I loved it, you won't believe your actually there !!!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

24,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,322
    5,183
    1,221
    208
    115
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Times Square again and again”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Been there many times and never get tired of all the lights !!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Man030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One huge road”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Broadway basically travels North to Sooth of New York, and if you have the legs for it walk from the WTC North, you will pass so many shops its unbelievable

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank A1JAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
239 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Priscilla Queen of the Desert”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

What a fun show, the theater was smaller than I imagined. Don't worry about what seat you pick, they are all good and everyone feels close to the stage, even if you are in the balcony.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cleanhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Phantom of the Opera, The Fantasticks, and The Book of Mormon”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I wish that I could say I have seen more shows than this in New York but alas, these are the only three. Here are my thoughts and a brief review on each.

The Phantom of the Opera: This is one of my favorite shows ever. I have seen it in both New York and in London. The special effects in New York outdo those in London but the voice quality in London is, in my opinion, better. This show is a clean show. The worst language used is the "D" word. For young children, the show may be either boring, scary, or both. The reason I say boring is that it is 95% singing and almost no dialogue. One who does not appreciate this may want to look elsewhere for another musical. The music is gorgeous and the story is classic. It is mysterious and haunting. This is also one of the cheapest tickets on Broadway. They can be found for as low as $26.00 at the TKTS booth in Times Square.

The Fantasticks: The longest running musical in the world. It features such famous songs as "Try to Remember" and "Plant a Radish." This is a very sweet show with entrancing music and a meaningful storyline underneath an endless array of jokes and funny stage business. The theater it plays in is VERY small; it's Off-Broadway but don't let that deter you. Off-Broadway ONLY means that the theater seats fewer than 500. This theater seats 168 so the actors are very close to you throughout the show and interact with you a lot. Afterwards, they will come out and say hello. This show would receive a G rating from this traveler. As a note, I am directing this show where I'm from so I am VERY familiar with it.

The Book of Mormon: This show, straight from the creators of "South Park," receives a solid R rating from this traveler. The "F Bomb" is dropped at multiple times in the show and some of the subjects are quite inappropriate for young audiences. This being said, however, I must say that this is the FUNNIEST show I have ever seen in my life. I never quit laughing for more than 5 minutes at a time. The music is creative and catchy so you will be humming it for weeks. The show has been called blasphemous...it is but not in the way most people think. It does NOT make fun of the Mormon religion at all. It actually TAUGHT me a lot about it. It does, however, tease it which is not to be confused with making fun of it. The Mormons in the show are sweet, clean, funny, and very focused on their work and they all have good values. The dancing for the show is spectacular.

There are many other shows I have seen live before but not necessarily on Broadway. Choose wisely! It's a once in a lifetime experience!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ryandvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broadway also viewed

 

Been to Broadway? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing