We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not What We Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Hilton Club - New York
Ranked #193 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Club in early October as part of a timeshare sales offer. Our plane arrived early, so we were not able to check in at 11:00, but this wasn't unexpected and the hotel held our luggage. We returned after dinner to first enter our room. The room was nicely decorated, an adequate size, and the bed was comfortable. However, that first night, it took us two and a half hours to get decaf coffee, two coffee cups, and a normal blanket because we don't like the down comforters that are always provided these days. There was a blanket in the room, but when I unfolded it to put it on the bed to replace the comforter, it had a totally disgusting stain on it! It's hard to believe that this horrific large stain had not been discovered prior to the blanket being put in a plastic bag. Our second night, we were already ready for bed when my husband discovered that we had no bath towels. Instead of calling, he went to the concierge desk on the 37th floor. He was told that someone would be right up with the towels, but because of the long, poor service the previous night, asked that he be given them right away, which they did. We were given an apology gift of sparkling wine and chocolates, but this didn't make up for our disappointment and inconvenience. When we attended our timeshare presentation, we did so with little chance of even considering a purchase at their new property, considering our experience at the Hilton Club thus far.
On a positive note, the breakfast was good for a free continental breakfast, and one night we returned early enough to enjoy a complimentary glass of wine. We found the location convenient and within walking distance to places of interest.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KarenMaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    155
    50
    19
    18
See reviews for
180
281
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aventura
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We visited the Hilton Club October 13-16th . Check in on the 37th floor for the Hilton VIP Guest was very smooth even though we were 3 hours early the Hilton team was very accommodating. The one bedroom suite is huge and I did not expect it to be so warm and comfy. There is continental breakfast in the morning and cocktails and h'orderves in the evening. This a great location because it is close to subway and all the favorite spots. The Hilton team at the desk on the 37th floor made sure our stay was enjoyable. This is my favorite hotel!!

Very modern with all the amenities in the room such as desk, Ipod, robes, minifridge .....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jijiflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Great hotel in a busy city area. Operated as most Hiltons in the world - very clean and high standard service.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We visited this hotel between October 1- 5 2011, it was our first trip to New York and my wife and I had been recommended this hotel by friends who have stayed there previously. We were aware it is a hotel for business people so we believed we knew what to expect. On arrival we were greeted by efficient and friendly reception staff who immediately upgraded our room, a pleasant surprise following a long journey.

After our initial exploration we returned to the hotel and decided to partake in a drink in the bar situated in the entrance lobby. We are not naive and fully expected to pay hotel prices for our drinks.

What we did not expect was the poor service we received. The bar was not busy however we waited for 10 minutes to be served at our table and when we approached the bar to purchase our drinks we were told it was waiter service and return to our table where we would be served. We declined and took a seat at the bar and to our amazement were served almost immediately; I trust this was a mere 'blip' on behalf of the bar staff as I found all other staff, especially the breakfast staff to be extremely polite and helpful.

The room was lovely and was always immaculate on our return after a long long day, just what is needed to help you to relax.

Despite the incident in the bar on the first night I would have no problem in recommending this hotel as a base from which to tour the city. Times Square is in walking distance, only minutes away and if you feel very adventurous Battery Park is a a walk of 1hr 45mins but then you have to get back!! (typical English). Book an open top bus tour!

Our thanks to the hotel and staff for making our first trip to NYC so memorable.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlopeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed at the Hilton Club for a couple of nights on business. As others have noted, this is like a "hotel within a hotel" -- occupying only the 37th and 38th floors of the massive New York Hilton Hotel towers. There is a separate check in on the 37th floor, at the entrance to the lounge area where breakfast is served in the morning and an early evening cocktail hour is featured. This helps remove the hotel from the usual "convention crowd" feel of the Hilton.

I stayed in a studio suite, which was surprisingly large with updated furnishings and bedding. Quite handsome. Flat screen TV, iPod dock, mini-fridge, coffee maker, bathrobes, safe, etc. I would have preferred a desk over the small round table but it was adequate.

Breakfast, afternoon cocktails and WiFi are included in the rate. The breakfast was decent considering the rather small lounge area -- nothing hot other than drinks, but there is a Nespresso machine, juices, cereals, pastries, fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs.

If you are a Diamond Hilton Honors member, you might get a better upgrade staying at the regular part of the Hilton, but I found the Club to be a good value and it was extremely convenient for me.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
West 57th Street by Hilton Club
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#136 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#92 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The London NYC
The London NYC
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,403 reviews
Midtown
Chambers Hotel
Chambers Hotel
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hilton Club - New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hilton Club - New York

Property: The Hilton Club - New York
Address: 1335 Avenue of the Americas, 36th, 37th and 38th Floors of the Hilton New York, New York City, NY 10019-6012
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#137 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,664 - ₹ 49,971
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hilton Club - New York 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Club - New York is superbly located on the 36th, 37th and 38th floors of the renowned Hilton New York offering the immediate convenience of a full-service hotel. Located in the heart of thriving midtown Manhattan, the surrounding ten-block neighborhood offers some of New York's most notable treasures. The Hilton Club - New York offers an exclusive check-in on the 37th Floor for Hilton Club guests and features studios, one and two bedroom suites. The accommodations are elegantly appointed and offer numerous amenities to help capture the contemporary sophistication of Manhattan. Guests of The Hilton Club - New York have charge privileges at the restaurants, fitness center, spa and retail outlets of the Hilton New York. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hilton Club - New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Club New York Hotel New York City
Hilton New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing