We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I have always enjoyed my visits to Braai....”
Review of Braai - CLOSED

Braai
Price range: US$ 20 - US$ 40
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Hell's Kitchen
Cross street: Between 8th and 9th Avenues
Transit: C & E trains to 50th Street and 8th Avenue.
Reviewed 28 November 2017

Always had great food here -- visitied 3-4 times, though the service could sometimes be very slow..... Unfortunately, just checked for reservations for an upcoming trip and it has closed and is now an Italian restaurant.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank poh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2017

A taste of home and everything about it was great.
The service, the food and atmosphere.
It was interesting seeing all these business people having lunch meetings enjoying South African food...felt like home.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Niala O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We stumbled upon this restaurant during a NYC visit. Great atmosphere, wonderful service, and delicious food and wine. Family of 5 with three teenagers. Highly recommend!!

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank mamaskats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Well, the idea of having RSA food in New York was dreamy being away from home already 6 months. So we gave it a try. The specials menu was confusing written by someone who appeared to be in 5th grade on the back of an old piece of paper. We skipped the specials rather.
Settled for 1 appetizer: peri peri chicken wings and two main courses: Bunny Chow and Lamb Shank.
The bunny chow was advertised as being "curry" however sadly no curry to be found. The wings were crumbed and a side dish of what i guess is a relish but peri peri is nowhere to be tasted.
Although food was very good perhaps team needs to revisit South Africa to bring back the truly authentic Indian curry and Portuguese Peri Peri. Lastly the ambience...the music could be better, the wine more realistic in pricing. The "Diemers Fontein" was priced at $90...last I checked this bottle equaled to $8.47 when bought in South Africa...anyway. Nice place. Romantic almost. But needs more attention to detail.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank meghan z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

If you are not used to better or are hard set to find South African food you will be fine - the food leaves much to be desired and are overpriced for what it is. Do not bother with desserts, this is the biggest let down of the entire place.
Service was terrible, only 2 staff on duty to run the entire front of house with one runner clearing tables. Despite having booked we were left waiting for our table (were only 5 mins early)
There are better choices in Hell's Kitchen

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Explorer2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Braai also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing