We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, helpful stuff, great bargain!”
Review of Hotel 31

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 31
Ranked #216 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Tel-Aviv
1
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Great to find a hotel for a reasonable price, good location, nice staff, clean, sympathic, etc. The double rooms are a bit small but with a few dollars more you can get a two-bed room, These rooms are latge and great!. In summary, great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 570 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

Staying on a budget, this was the option to take! Placed in a perfect location walking distance to everything, all the attractions and more! Rooms were small, though on a budget it was a perfect choice!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

My fiance and I paid a flying visit to NYC and stayed 2 nights at Hotel 31. The room was cheap and had a shared bathroom, so our expectations were quite low... we wanted somewhere to sleep and nothing more. So we were pleased to be pleasantly surprised... the location was absolutely fantastic, within walking distance on the Empire State Building, Penn Station, Times Square... we also walked down to the 9/11 Memorial and the Staten Island ferry terminal, and also up to Central Park, but appreciate that this isn't everyone's idea of 'walking distance'! The room was on the small side and the window looked out onto a brick wall (essentially rendering the room windowless), but it was clean with a TV, phone and wash basin, and did exactly what we wanted it to do - gave us somewhere to sleep! There were two shared bathrooms near to our room, both were clean and we never had to queue. One was right next to our room and my fiance said that he woke a couple of times during the night due to people using the bathroom, but I slept right through. All in all, a great budget hotel which provides a fantastic base for exploring the city, but probably not for you if you like your hotels with a bit of luxury!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Peppin-Hugheses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Hotel 31 is a clean, charming, older hotel that is conveniently located in the Murray Hill section of the city. You get a lot of bang for the buck here. Just spent the weekend in NYC with my BFF. We rented a two bedroom with ensuite bathroom. Just off of 31st and Park Avenue, You'e in walking distance to The Empire State Building, Times Square and just about anywhere you wish to go. Very satisfied!!! Would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: corner suites seem to be larger, but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jasper F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Was pleasantly surprised by our room at Hotel 31. The room was typical of NYC hotels, on the small side, but clean and well appointed. Hard to beat at the cost. Many good restaurants within walking distance and the subway is around the corner. Great value in mid-town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clearwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#233 of 471 in New York City
5,038 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 471 in New York City
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Seafarers & International House
Seafarers & International House
#372 of 471 in New York City
270 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 471 in New York City
657 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#447 of 471 in New York City
874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 31? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 31

Address: 120 East 31 Street, New York City, NY 10016-6809
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#226 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 4,974 - ₹ 16,518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 31 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel 31 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
31 Hotel New York City
Hotel 31 New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing