We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carvi Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
Ranked #189 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I have read some opinions about the size of the Carvi rooms being on the small side, but I found that the size was fairly typical of most NYC Hotel Rooms. Let's be honest, if you pay the basic Hotel rates in Manhatten you will not get a lot of room. Having said that I found the Carvi room to be clean and comfortable, and my wife and I didn't find it cramped at all. This Hotel is not close to the tourist areas such as Times Square, but there is a Subway station just around the corner, and once you master the NYC Subway System it really doesn't matter what part of Midtown your Hotel is located in. Overall this is a good Hotel with friendly staff, we would stay here again on our next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bourb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    224
    55
    14
    8
See reviews for
122
236
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Carvi Hotel is located close to the subway station and many of New York's best attractions like the Empire State Building, Times Square, 5th Avenue and Rockefeller Center are just minutes away.

The hotel room is really small with a tiny wardrobe and hardly any space to put our few luggage bags. However, the place looks fairly new and the bed is comfortable and since we hardly spent any time in the rooms besides sleeping, the small size didn't really matter but the comfortable bed did. The free Wi-Fi is a big plus for me.

As for minus points, we had a room on the mezzanine floor which in actual fact is just half a floor above the reception area and the sound proofing was not that good so when there were people talking in the reception area, it can be heard from the room.

Room Tip: Stay away from the mezzanine floor room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RoyYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed 3 nights with 2 girlfriends in a room with 2 full sized beds. It's not a big room (but from what I have read in other New York hotel reviews that's the standard in NYC - unless you are willing to pay double or more than the Carvi) but we were out most of the day and evenings and only used the room to sleep and showers, so it was okay. Be aware that each bed only have one cover, but housekeeping brought us an extra blanket so we didn't have to share covers. The room was cleaned every day and in good conditions. I especially liked the built in room for suitcases under the beds, otherwise the room would have been very crowded with 3 girlie suitcases ;) The bathroom had just enough space for each of our toiletries, but one more hanger on the door would be nice. The robes and thick white towels were a very pleasant treat and so is the free wi-fi.
We enjoyed a nice breakfast every morning at the wonderful diner with the sweetest waitress just across the street, where you get a Carvi discount (ask for coupon in reception).

Looking forward to returning to the Carvi next weekend, but are happy it's just the 2 of us this time - because the beds are a little narrow when it's not your sweetheart you're sharing the bed with :)

We never used the free in-room coffee maker, so can't comment on that - but it's there :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

A Valetine's getaway to The Big Apple found us lodged in the Upper East Side Carvi Hotel. Easy to miss as the entrance looks like an office building and the rooms are incredibly small. BUT, with hotel rooms in NYC rented by the square inch, this place is a very good value. Roses on the bed, very clean, European looking, and of course very romantic. There's a good restaurant across the street for breakfast. Easy walking distance to Park Avenue, Central Park, etc. Parking is challenging and I recommend travel by train or taxi.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildraisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I travel to NY frequently, in terms of location, convenience, price and room layout it works perfectly for me. Staff very friendly, hotel very clean, rooms compact by NY standards but they have everything you would need.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ClarkieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#145 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#140 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#41 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Property: Carvi Hotel New York
Address: 152 East 55th Street, New York City, NY 10022
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in New York City
#155 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,223 - ₹ 37,064
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing