We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option in NY, clean, fair price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Carvi Hotel New York
Ranked #223 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good option in NY, clean, fair price.”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

people in the front desk speak english ans portuguese.
They are nice and helpful.
Rooms are small, but clean and efficient.
wifi and safe in the room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    233
    56
    15
    8
See reviews for
126
239
38
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Carvi Hotel was a great choice for my first trip to New York City. It was very clean, nicely furnished, reasonably priced, and the staff were wonderful! It is within walking distance of many popular attractions and surrounded by good restaurants. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPeek2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vista, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This hotel is nicely furnished, clean, and a very friendly staff. Problem is, the rooms are so small they are non-functional for more than one person. I was there for 4 days and I very nearly ate the room cost and moved hotels. One person no problem, two people and you are cooked. The shower is literally half sized. I'm 6"1' and dropped the soap and had to exit the shower to get enough room to bend down and pick up the soap.

I saw at least 2 other new guests (both 2 people in 1 room) complaining and trying to get moved to larger rooms or completely different hotels.

I know NYC hotels can be small, but when you book a room that information needs to be front and center.

Room Tip: If you have more than one person, don't consider.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NoSleepSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loftus, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The location of this hotel was pretty good. Plenty of places to eat close by and a subway station within a couple of blocks.

The room was tiny though and not comfortable for two people. I know rooms in NYC are small but this was uncomfortably small in my opinion. You could probably get away with it for one person but only for a few nights...just too cramped.

The staff were friendly and helpful but I did feel like the towels never seemed fresh despite the fact that housekeeping came and changed then each day.

Room Tip: Request the biggest room for your buck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyLeeSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Somehow, I did not expect much - because I was redirected to this hotel, when travel agent could not confirm my another reservation. However - it was very very good; it was - for now - the largest room I ever had in Manhatten, nice decor, very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zsmirnoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Midtown East
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#144 of 466 in New York City
1,220 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 466 in New York City
787 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
Fitzpatrick Manhattan Hotel
#46 of 466 in New York City
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#122 of 466 in New York City
2,091 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#136 of 466 in New York City
5,054 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#141 of 466 in New York City
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carvi Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carvi Hotel New York

Property: Carvi Hotel New York
Address: 152 E 55th St, New York City, NY 10022-4513
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#208 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,464 - ₹ 46,417
Hotel Class:3 star — Carvi Hotel New York 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carvi Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Chalet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing