We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love at first Sight”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #37 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love at first Sight”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

What can I say that hasn't been said already. CPI is as charming, warm and welcoming as the staff. Birthday weekend for my beau, from Frisco Bay. After countless searches for the perfect hotel that was budget friendly with a NY flare, and hospitality being extremely important to me, I found CPI.

It was sold out at the time of inquiry; thanks to popularity, May graduations & summer travel. Something told me to keep checking daily because when your heart desires something, you go for it. And sure enough, one day, the dates opened... thank you sweet karma.

Thank you Al, the first to greet us, so accommodating with our check-in/payment arrangements. A special shout out to Jubel, who greeted us coming & going with a genuine smile, great conversations and really made us feel so welcomed as if we were old friends.

And there's Charlie. The special kitty that came into our room at 5am when my boyfriend & I had a spat that evening. He came onto the bed, slept between us and stayed until we realized how silly we behaved. And as if his job was done, left regally out of the room.

Thank you CPI. You made our trip special.

Room Tip: CPI has various room configurations, call and ask about them in details to best find what you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalBear76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,666
    315
    71
    16
    18
See reviews for
281
1,067
257
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My partner and I could not have been happier with Chelsea Pines Inn. The stay started with the helpful and friendly staff, one person taking our bags up the flights of stairs to our room while another took the time to go thorough the area's restaurants and attractions. Our room on the back of the building was amazingly quiet, with a comfortable bed and surprisingly spacious bathroom. The room was typically small for a New York Inn, but really had enough space overall. I would not hesitate to recommend them.

Room Tip: Don't forget that it's a classic NYC walk-up before you pick a room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Chelsea Pines Inn is a great quirky little hotel in the middle of a Chelsea street. The inside lobby is clean and modern. The rooms are an adequate size (I might have had to squeeze to get around the foot of the bed but it was never really any problem) but the beds are big and comfortable. The best part are the people running the place: Jay and Al were immensely helpful and pleasant and really made us feel at home. Everyone else from those running the front desk to those keeping the break area stocked (and it was always stocked with fresh items and little snacks) was absolutely courteous, professional, and happy to just chat about how things were going. Although the rooms are up some flights of stairs, the people working there moved our luggage for us. The noise from the street was never a problem, and I never heard anyone in any of the other rooms through the walls. The location was perfect for seeing local sights, and I have to agree with others here who say that the High Line is a must-see.

I would feel comfortable recommending this to anyone I knew, and I know they would come back raving about what a great place this was.

Room Tip: You're going to have to climb some stairs, so maybe ask for a lower floor room if that's a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hornsfan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

My week-long stay at the Chelsea Pines in May 2012 marked my second visit to this charming boutique hotel near the Meatpacking District, High Line Park, and Chelsea Market. This is a very personal establishment; every member of the staff team relates to each guest not just as a patron customer but as a friend. This personal touch really pays dividends when you come inside the door, morning noon or night, and you are greeted warmly with welcoming conversation (and the staff has the sense to leave you alone if you appear to be hungover or otherwise under the weather). The festive atmosphere is contagious such that all the guests feel like included family, and the breakfast room and deck leading outside give travelers a place to come together and share their experiences. The all-day breakfast room, by the way, is a real highlight with the thoughtful inclusions of the complete gamut of what a Continental breakfast can be: Nespresso machine, a smorgasbord of teas and other beverages, luscious fresh fruits, high-end yogurts, sumptuous breads and pastries, imaginative cereals, even peanut butter (a personal favorite). I also like the fact that one can use the hotel's refrigerator to stash a bottle of wine or nosh. The establishment's silver screen theme is amusing and entertaining (i.e., in which movie star's room are you staying? Sophia Loren's or Rita Hayworth's or Albert Finney's or ??) All in all, this place is unique, distinctive and memorable, and I look forward to coming back again and again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmpneyCrucis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I have stayed at Chelsea Pines Inn 4 times. Each time, I feel more welcomed and at home. The folks who run CPI couldn't be kinder, more helpful, and better conversationalists. Having said that, if you want privacy, you've got it.

And who can resist sitting on the back patio in good weather having a 'many-options' breakfast, reading the paper, and hearing the birds sing (yes, this is NYC!). The Inn is very clean and well run. And for those of us who miss our pets when we travel, Charlie Chaplin, the resident cat, helps fill that need.

Finally, the location is fabulous. At the end of the block is the subway. The Highline (a 1.5 mile walk) is a couple of blocks away, as is the Hudson River. Small neighborhoods like Soho, Greenwich Village, and Chelsea, to name a few, offer unique shopping opportunities and are a short walk away.

You get a very different picture of what NYC can be like staying at the Chelsea Pines Inn: friendly and slower paced yet all the things you want to do are easily accessible.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dulang723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
772 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#162 of 468 in New York City
633 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#35 of 468 in New York City
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#21 of 468 in New York City
567 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#115 of 468 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,287 - ₹ 57,534
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing