We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in New York City”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #56 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

This is a great, personalised, good value, hotel, well located half way between up town and down town and steps away from the metro. It is walking distance to the Chelsea market and the Highline. Its also very close to the big Apple computer store and, if you are interested in quality discounted designer clothes, very close to Loehmanns.

Ask for a room at the back overlooking the garden if you are a light sleeper as there is some traffic noise (mainly ambulance and police sirens) in the front rooms. We didnt find the stairs a problem (we stayed in a suite at the front on the 3rd floor) but they could be if you arent fit although the guys carry your luggage upstairs and down for you. Complimentary breakfast of fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurts, juice, muffins, toast, croissants, teas and coffee is generous and more than adequate.

The guys running the hotel are the real stars making you feel genuinely at home. Al booked our theatre tickets, Jay had put a vase of fresh yellow roses in our room with a welcome note, Rumel and Troy were always friendly and genuinely helpful with information.

We'd definitely stay again - but next time in a deluxe (larger) back room!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElanAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,244 - 1,248 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

I was at Chelsea Pines Inn for only one night but I was made feel extremely welcome. Movie Star themed rooms, the black and white house cat, very frienldy reception, super conveniently located half a block from 14th st subway station.
Will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malatestiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This i truly a perfect place to live when you are visiting NYC! A home away from home. The location could not be better, with Meatpacking District, West Village within few minutes walking distance. The greatest and most friendly staff you’ll ever meet! Seriously! They also have a lot of tips and information on what to do when youre in town (restaurant-lists, local map on sights and shops etc), and helps out with everything to make sure their guests have a pleasant stay.

It’s really not your main- stream hotel, but a charming, small, personal and unique oasis in the busy city, that you can’t help falling in love with. We had 11 wonderful days in NYC and The Chelsea Pines Inn was one of the reasons. Thanks to all the staff for a perfect holiday. Love you!

Room Tip: We had the suite on the 5th floor, and it was just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Almost everybody in Manhatten is friendly but the staff and owner att Chelsea Pines Inn won our hearts!
They helped us plan our day, conversed, joked and even gave us a nice going back home present. There knowledge about the city was impressing and Troy,especially, helped us find great restaurants and bars to enjoy.
There is no question about what the staffs goal is: to keep ALL the guests happy, comfortable and give us a homey and happy feeling. Now i sound silly but thats the way they do it! Beleive it or not, Jay, the owner, bakes cakes and cookies for his guests. Yum :-) Luckily there are stairs there to burn off the extra calories.
We will recommend this place to everybody looking for a great place to stay..actually we have already done that!
Hugs to you guys and thank you <3

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My husband and I planned a 4 day trip from Toronto to New York for our first anniversary. It was also my first time visiting New York and I couldn't have had a better time. The Chelsea Pines is the opposite of a huge hotel chain - it's cosy and welcoming.The staff at Chelsea Pines were so friendly and attentive. They helped us find restaurants and fun little places around NYC to visit that we otherwise would not have found. They really made us feel at home. We enjoyed sitting on the garden patio for the delicious breakfast and morning coffee. Our room was clean and a great price for the location. We loved Chelsea market and being so close to the subway. If we ever come back for a second visit, we will be back at the Chelsea Pines. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianGirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#49 of 469 in New York City
924 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#163 of 469 in New York City
667 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#133 of 469 in New York City
3,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#39 of 469 in New York City
713 reviews
Little Italy
NobleDEN Hotel
NobleDEN Hotel
#15 of 469 in New York City
737 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#42 of 469 in New York City
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 11,820 - ₹ 51,565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing