We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chelsea Pines Inn is my home away from home in NYC”
Review of Chelsea Pines Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea Pines Inn
Ranked #56 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Chelsea Pines Inn is my home away from home in NYC”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I've stayed at Chelsea Pines since 2000, and I keep coming back. I think it's unique in its approach to hospitality in New York: a five-story brownstone that has been transformed into a chic boutique bed & breakfast. The accommodations have gone upscale immensely in the years I've stayed there (gorgeous bathroom fixtures and beautiful furnishings throughout), but the prices remain reasonable. Having breakfast provided in the kitchen/cafe (including outdoor space in warm weather) is a boon: it gets you started right for your day in the city, and chatting with other guests (if you like) adds to the friendly atmosphere. The staff is top-notch: friendly, helpful, and professional. If you need advice about Broadway tickets, they're right there. If you need assistance with navigating the subway system, they'll provide it. I'll keep coming back as long as they'll have me.

Room Tip: It's a 5-floor walkup, so decide whether you want a lower or higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,679
    320
    74
    18
    20
See reviews for
286
1,076
262
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here one night. We had a lovely time. The management gave us a free upgrade! THANKS!!!!! Extremely clean, rooms a bit on the small side, but since we were on a budget & just the two of us, it was plenty comfy cozy. NO BED BUGS (we checked). The room is fully appointed. There was a white noise machine (which was great!), a small fridge, a closet with a safe, hangers, iron, small ironing board, smallish TV with the basic channels (I think), a writing desk, chair and last but not the least - an alarm clock with an iPhone dock. The toilet is separate from the bath area (awesome idea!). The bath soaps, shampoo etc were top of the line. It is LGBT friendly and I loved the atmosphere. The breakfast spread was great (fresh corn bread anyone?). Upon check in we were provided with a list of places to eat. We went to their recommended restaurant called Bill's Burgers a quick walk away. Great food. It was central to many bars, a CVS is around the corner and a Duane Reade a few blocks away. When we got back that night, their very friendly cat Charlie accompanied us to our room :) The next morning, we headed to the High Line for a walk before check out. All in all, an awesome, stress free, romantic stay for tired parents of toddlers :) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We spent two weeks in the Chelsea Pines Inn and that was a wonderful experience. The hotel is extremely beautiful, the rooms are cosy and very clean and the staff is absolutely lovely.
The neighborhood is great and the team of the hotel is full of good tips, not to mention the daily newsletter of the hotel.
The hotel is doing its best to make you fell at home and that was our case. We were upgraded after two days, without asking anything and without having experienced any trouble, just because it was possible.
I was in NYC for business so I needed a lot of facilities and I found more than what I needed there. The business center is perfect.
Last but not least, it is an incredibly good deal.
We recommend this hotel, without thinking twice, for a great holiday or a successful business trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 555David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

My wife and I were warmly greeted by proprietor Jay on our arrival. From the free coffee while we waited for the guest before us to be assisted, to the delightful introduction to the area Jay was the perfect host. The Chelsea Pines is well located very near a good subway and close to the High Line park. While not in the heart of the Village or Chelsea, it is accessible to both localities. The room wasn't huge, but it was comfortable and perfectly adequate for our needs. The movie star themes were a nice touch. The breakfast food was plentiful and enjoyable. I liked the enclosed patio area where you could eat while bathed in natural light. The heating was good (basic you'd think, but the place we stayed in while on the UES had poor heating!). While I was concerned that the walk up the stairs would be quite an effort, the porter had little trouble taking our bags and I needed to invest some effort to pass on my tip (which I prefer to being pestered). Check out was also smooth, and the staff were all friendly. I thoroughly recommend the Chelsea Pines and will go there again.

Room Tip: Note that the room prices vary depending upon the floor - so if you want to save money, ask to be on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeteinPerth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Loved the use of space, the privacy, the cleanliness, the kind and helpful staff... everything about it. And so reasonable. I will come back again and again.

Room Tip: Our room was probably the smallest, but it's just us two and we prefer cozy quarters. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncwriter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#58 of 467 in New York City
840 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
647 reviews
Manhattan
The Lex NYC
The Lex NYC
#34 of 467 in New York City
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,540 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#87 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#121 of 467 in New York City
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Pines Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Pines Inn

Property: Chelsea Pines Inn
Address: 317 West 14th Street, New York City, NY 10014-5015
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in New York City
#1 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#16 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,257 - ₹ 66,868
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea Pines Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New York City is one of the most interesting, exciting, and diverse cities in the world. There are hundreds of places to see live theater, shop for almost anything, eat food from almost anywhere, visit some of the world's best museums, see fabulous sights, or just have fun, and the newly renovated Chelsea Pines Inn puts you in the center of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Chelsea Pines Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Pines Hotel New York City
Hotel Chelsea Pines
Chelsea Pine Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing