We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value for your money!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Park Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Central Park Inn
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for your money!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

14 July 2010 we went for 7 days to the big apple. We were with 3 students. 2 of 18 years and 1 of 19. We were looking for a cheap hotel/hostel. This one was one of the cheapest and we wanted a private room. After we mailed the hostel if we could check in at the age of 18, we decided to go for it.

We came by plane from the Netherlands and landed on EWR (Newark) in new jersey. We took the NJ Transit to penn station and from there to the 103st by metro. It was really easy to find and the hostel is really close to the station.

We came in for the first time and the entrance looked a bit old fashioned. There was a man at the desk and we gave him our reservation and paid the whole stay. he gave us our key. We slept on the first floor. We went inside the room and it looked really good. There were two queen size beds and a bathroom with a shower. Also there was a small kitchen with a microwave and sink. Also the room had airco although it was a bit noisy at night so we turned it very low before we went to bed.

Overall the service was great. At night there was a guard in frond of the door so strange people couldn't get in. Also there were lockers but don't forget to bring your own lock. And everyday the room was cleaned. So that was really good.

The hostel 150meters away from central park and Times square is about 30 minutes away by metro so everything is very close and easy to find. At the other side of the street is a little supermarket were you can buy your breakfast.

If you go by metro to the hostel be careful that you don't take the express metro because it does not stop at 103 st!

For a budget I really recommend the hostel! I had a great time and I will definitely go back if I'm in New York.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasper91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    54
    33
    17
    23
See reviews for
11
29
49
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DUnedin New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

You guys are awesome. Your service was absolutely brilliant. Of the hostels we stayed in in the States over the last month, yours was absolutely the best. The room was great. The hostel was spotless. The staff all helpful, (despite us being such klutzes - I changed the booking twice, my luggage got lost at the airport and you guys held a spot for my bag should it eventually arrive while I was travelling, my friend left his shoes behind....sigh) but you guys were helpful, tolerant of our hopelessness, and generally, just brilliant. Your cleaners deserve a medal - the place was so clean it squeaked. The room was tidy, clean and the bed was comfy. We love you, Central Park Hostel. How else can we let other people know about how just good you guys are? Robyn, New Zealand

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

This hostel is a block from central park and less than a block to the subway. Parking was easy to find even in new years eve. Bathrooms are clean and the shower is nice and warm. It also had the cheapest prices around the city.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indianadavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
517 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

The hostel was right next to Central Park (uptown Central Park West) so it was in a reasonably good location. The rooms were on the small side - but the sheets and towels were changed daily and the heating was really good. Staff were reasonably helpful. The WiFi only works in the basement.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Its small, not the cleanest place ive been in. Theres not enough bathrooms.
Staff were not that friendly.
Good location in proximity to Central park, thats about it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solowanderer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#390 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#431 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Jazz on the Park
Jazz on the Park
#23 of 167 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#21 of 167 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#25 of 167 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Park Inn

Property: Central Park Inn
Address: 19 West 103rd Street, Near Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 167 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,945 - ₹ 5,031
Hotel Class:1 star — Central Park Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished studio rentals . With our convenient location in the Upper West side of Manhattan close to Central Park and less than one minute from the B and C trains, chances are this is the right hotel for you. We are within minutes by train from New York City's many attractions, museums and cultural centers, great restaurants, fun shops, college campuses and trendy nightspots. Central Park Inn Features: Brand new and spacious studio rooms with private bath Free wi-fi Long term rates for extended stay for 30 days and more Great amenities including, refrigerators, coffee makers, toasters and more ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Central Park Hotel New York City
Central Park Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing