We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated, over priced , over The New Yorker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Over rated, over priced , over The New Yorker”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel may have a bit of history and yes it is a great location but it is not a four star hotel.

The standard rooms are the smallest i have ever seen in any country. The bathrooms are very dated, baths are enamel and chipped and stained. The beds are ok but there is no room for any more than one suitcase and you have to use the very limted floor space. The rooms can not accomadate 2 persons in the same space at one time and there is no fridge, coffee maker or radio.

Sure the hotel is old but to to rate this hotel 4 stars is being dishonest as most travellers expect certain ammneties by star ratings. I didn't choose this hotel as i stayed here by a choosing the secret Expedia deal which i will never do again as it seems ti me that this is one way to get rid of dud hotels to unexpecting travellers.

There are far better hotels for the same price in the same area so buyer beware.

Don't be fooled by romantic notions of staying in a historical hotel this is not much better than a bed sit boarding house. Forgeddaboudit.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHO1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

11,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,602
    4,742
    1,912
    585
    367
See reviews for
3,167
3,836
572
1,281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have delayed posting this review despite the fact that we stayed at the New Yorker at the beginning of June 2012 because I thought it was fair to allow the hotel to address our various complaints first. We only finally achieved a vaguely satisfactory settlement on 11th September 2012 and only then after the tour operators had become directly involved so I do not feel it at all unreasonable that I should set out in detail the problems we encountered to warn others.

We travelled as a family with two teenage children and stayed there for five nights. My husband is very seriously disabled and we had gone to a lot of trouble to ensure that the room would be suitable for us and would accommodate the hoist he needs to be able to be put into bed and to use the bathroom.

The first problem was that, despite having been assured before we booked that there was a three inch gap between the bottom of our bed and the floor to allow the hoist to be used there wasn’t. In other words he was potentially stuck in his wheelchair until we went home. As he can’t move and is at risk of pressure sores this was a very serious issue. All the beds in the hotel are apparently the same and it has not been totally clear whether the fault lay with Kuoni, the tour operators, or the hotel but the New Yorker has not exactly behaved proactively about making amends since we got back.

I eventually suggested a rollaway bed which was provided quickly and efficiently by the head of housekeeping and duty manager who were both charming and prompt. But this was not a great start and it was only my suggestion which gave us a solution to what would otherwise have been an appalling problem. It also meant that we were not able to sleep together whilst we were away and the space to move around in the room was much restricted by the rollaway bed.

The wheel in shower room smelled of damp and the hotel itself looks shabby in parts. I woke up with a number of bites every morning and I notice that another reviewer made the same complaint about a stay at about the same time. Subsequently the hotel produced a bed bug report showing no infestation but it begs the question of what was biting me.

There are no safety/security boxes in the rooms meaning a wait at the front desk every time I wanted to access the box.

There is a major issue also with the front desk and the staff there. There was nearly always a queue at Reception to check in/access security boxes. I waited up to ten minutes to get access to my box and another ten minutes to return my passport. The behaviour of some of the front desk staff was curt and surly although some were very pleasant. One however by the name of Samira (as I subsequently discovered) was the rudest person I have ever met in a public service position. She was offhand and brusque with me telling me to “Get in line” if I wanted to access my security box. Whilst I was waiting (ten minutes) I saw her wave back a group waiting to check in as they were coming forward, barking “Get back I’ll call you when I’m ready”. No please or pleasantry. An elderly Japanese lady was trying to get some attention and she shouted at her to get back to the end of the line nearly yelling “Nobody is going to help you. Wait your turn!”

I was eventually assisted by another member of the front desk and when I was alone with her I asked if this person always behaved like that. I was told – amidst nervous giggling- “I don’t want to comment” but I did establish what her name was which I wouldn’t otherwise have known because she wasn’t wearing a name badge.

I saw the Duty Manager and complained and he said he would attend to it or words to that effect. As I was leaving speaking to him Samira gazed at me in a disrespectful and hostile manner. She did this again when I saw her the next day when she was again not wearing her name badge. In fact I never saw her wear the badge.

I set out all of the above complaints in a letter to Mrs. Lima the owner and operator of the hotel with my feedback form. I included my contact details but it was only when I took it up through Ramada that I was contacted by the hotel. It was however confirmed that Mrs. Lima had had my original letter but nothing had been done about it. Emails about all of this went forward and back for a long time resulting in the hotel offering - to start with - some free of charge accomodation "on our next stay". I pointed out we were not going to be visting them again even if we returned to New York so this was changed to one night's refund for rudeness and inconvenience but with a denial of any blame in respect of the bed problem. I was however told some time ago by the Guest Services Manager that Samira is one of their most highly decorated staff members!! I note that unflattering comments have also been made about her by other recent reviewers.

Our very helpful travel agent then did her best to help and as a result of this a further offer appeared to have been made by the front of house manager Matt Slippoy.I emailed him about the offer on 4th September 2012 The email was not even acknowledged let alone answered. A final settlement has now been reached but via Kuoni with no direct word from the hotel.

Good things are the location and Coopers Tavern which is excellent but if you have any kind of special needs or just want consistently courteous service from the front staff, let alone if you expect legitimate complaints to be resolved quickly then avoid this place like the plague

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It is truly disappointing to me to receive such a negative review from one of our guests and I can assure you your comments will be addressed. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you while you stayed and urge you to contact me directly should you like to arrange another reservation with us.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wavre, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This hotel is very well situated, in the center of midtown, near metro, train, shops, restaurants.
Could be felt as a bit "formal" but in fact employees of this hotel are very helpfull. The Check-out system is very practical. Very kind, pleasant, memorable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for higher and corner room. Newyorker Suites and convenient for couple with one or two children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Review06092012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at the New Yorker hotel for 9 days in June. The hotel was really easy to get to from New Jersey Liberty (EWR) airport via the Air train that goes to Union Station. The hotel was about ½ a block away from the station. Getting around downtown was a piece of cake. The subway is on the corner. Times Square and Broadway shows were within walking distance.

Our room on the 35th floor had an outstanding view; the Empire State and Chrysler buildings out one window and downtown with the new WTC building. We never tired of looking at that view and took countless pics. The room was small, like hotel rooms in Europe generally are, but it was well-organized so that we could move around easily. Closet held both of our suitcases. We loved the Art Deco feel to the building. It was very clean and employees of the hotel were very friendly. We hope to stay there again!

Room Tip: The corner views from the 35th Floor were awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. There is nothing better than getting great guest feedback. We are happy to hear that our facilities and cleanliness met your needs and expectations during your stay. Our location truly is one of the best, right in the middle of everything! We hope to welcome you back to NYC soon!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Email: Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights. When we checked in, we were advised that we had the smallest room. They were not wrong. Barely room to walk between the end of the bed and the wall. Minimal storage space. Bathroom adequate,, but squeezy. The bed was comfortable. The location was excellent. Walking distance to Broadway, Tmies Square, restaurants, subway, generally most of the major sights. As our travel agent booked us Run of House, perhaps check what room is allocated. If we had a better room, perhaps our rating may have been better. One other thing is that the traffic noise was horrendous. Emergency vehicles seemed to be below us for most nights, and we were on the 22nd floor , but it sounded like they were outside the window.

Room Tip: Check what size room you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geebs54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronny Y, Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

I regret to hear that you were disappointed with your room on this occasion. In addition, please accept my deepest apology, as certain rooms in the hotel within the same accommodation category can be different sizes based on where the room is located. We would like to make this right, please reach out to us directly prior to your return so that we can give you the experience you deserve!

Sincerely,

Ronny Yagual
Guest Service Manager
Email: Ryagual@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 467 in New York City
18,014 reviews
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#101 of 467 in New York City
4,287 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#155 of 467 in New York City
7,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 467 in New York City
9,477 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#262 of 467 in New York City
4,541 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#214 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#219 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,373 - ₹ 26,094
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing