We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK hotel, rooms are tiny”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #273 of 468 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Great location and a nice lobby, this hotel also has tiny rooms with long and confusing corridors. Construction can be very loud at times, plan on being up at 8am. We did have a nice stay but seriosly question the 4 star rating, it is no more than a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seateacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (11,499)
There are newer reviews for The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,157 - 7,161 of 11,499 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Okay, so check-in was a little nerve-wracking. It took us an hour to manage to pull up in front of the hotel and the line to check-in and get our room keys was very long. But other than that, our stay was wonderful!

My husband just happened to find out that this hotel offers an all-you-can-eat buffet and a perfect view of the 4th of July fireworks for a very reasonable price! We didn't have to fight the crowds at all!

After the buffet, we watched the fireworks from the 38th floor balcony overlooking the Hudson Bay while enjoying a desert buffet and unlimited drinks. The best part...they didn't pack us in like sardines! They only sold it to the first 40 or 50 people lucky enough to find the offer!

The location is absolutely perfect! It is literally blocks from everything! Yes, the hotel is older, but that is what makes it so charming. It has recently been renovated too.

We had an amazing view of the Empire State Building from our room, the price was so much cheaper than surrounding hotels and the room was quite large for a Manhattan hotel. Only downside...no pool.

If we ever get the opportunity to visit again, we will definitely stay at The New Yorker Hotel!

Room Tip: Check out the gift shop downstairs. The prices for souveniers is much cheaper than the ripoff place...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fcfirecat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I stayed here with my family of 5 in July 2012, the hotel suited our needs and was the best value for money in Manhattan. However don't expect a 5 star experience, it's a basic and clean hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rossco1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric B, Front Office Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Dear Valued Guest:

We apologize that your stay at The New Yorker Hotel did not meet your expectations. I am concerned to hear about your experience with our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs, and I was disappointed to hear about the problems you encountered.

Please, give us an opportunity to correct any possible lapse in service by e-mailing us more details regarding your stay. I know that this does not change the experience you had, but I hope that you can feel confident that we hear your concern and are definitely doing something about it.

These details will help us prevent a possible future lapse in service, as well as help address the issues you encountered. Please feel free to send me an e-mail directly at the address below and I will address them immediately.

Again, I apologize for the problems you encountered and I encourage you to please, the future, allow us to assist you by resolving any issues so we may make your stay with us enjoyable. Without your guest feedback, we cannot continue to improve our services. Thank you and we look forward to your return to the area.

Sincerely,

Matthew Slippoy
MSlippoy@NYHotel.com
Front Office Manager
The New Yorker Hotel Mgnt. Co., Inc.
481 Eighth Avenue
New York, NY 10001
Tel: 212-244-0719
Fax: 212-629-6536
Email: MSlippoy@NYHotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

I always come back to this hotel, top position for business
The rooms are small and old
A bottle of water on the arrival day should be appreciated
Be careful with the prices that can be more than double in the differents periods of th year

Room Tip: please ask always the highest floor and possibly far from the ice machine
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mar365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I love this hotel!!!! The perfect place stay. Staff is great!!! Room was a great size for a family of four!!!
My family and I are going back next year. You can walk every where from this hotel!! They also have a 24hr resturant on location!!! Check in went very fast and we were able to check in before 3pm. I love that check-out was at 12pm and you do not have to check out at the front desk, just drop your keys in the key drop box and keep it moving. SUPER CLEAN and very soft beds and pillows!! I could not ask for more!!

Room Tip: I was on the 33rd floor loved the view!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeeBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#98 of 468 in New York City
4,373 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,925 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 468 in New York City
7,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 468 in New York City
4,731 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#193 of 468 in New York City
9,662 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 468 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#181 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 11,128 - ₹ 30,457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing