We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room but clean and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The rooms are small but clean and with free low speed internet (premium costs $9 per day) and an excellent diner attached for 24 hour dining. Great menu if on low fat or organic diet.
For the expedia price of about $200, good value and right across from Madison Square Gardens.
Very good gym but no free weights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladgpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (11,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,447 - 7,451 of 11,593 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

I can't say enough good things about the New Yorker hotel in NYC. When we got there we were upgraded to a suite with a view....thanks Jimmy. Excellent service and very clean. Lots of hot water and good security. Tick Tock diner was just o.k., don't order the chicken. We didn't eat in the pub. Our room was on the 40th floor. A beautiful hotel!!

Room Tip: higher rooms have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The hotel is pretty fantastic, with beautiful art deco styling in the lobby. It's a great location in NY, close to many department stores and a good walk north towards Central Park (about an hour). The diner next to the hotel is great for breakfast, although the portions are just huge - most days we didn't have lunch because our breakfast was so substantial!

Our standard room was VERY small, but we were expecting this, and to be honest didn't spend hardly any time in it. The bathroom fittings were pretty old, and the room could do with updating, but we were happy because it was such a good price.

There was no noise on our floor, as per some other reviews.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, and you plan to spend more than just 8 hours asleep in your room, I'd reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elliesophiebeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

We certainly appreciate you review. We strive to offer unmatched value for the price. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and please come visit again soon.

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This was our 1st visit to the Big Apple and we chose this hotel firstly because it was in a good location (Penn Station, Empire State, Macy's nearby) but also because we wanted our hotel to look New Yorkish! And it didn't disappoint. Our room looked out towards the East River, and the view looked good both day and night. We had mentioned before travelling that we were celebrating 60th & 40th birthdays and were given a tiny gold box of 2 chocolates with a picture of the hotel on the front, which was a nice gesture.The room was small (how long do you spend in a NY hotel room when there is so much to see?) but very clean, and the beds were soo comfortable. We asked for tea and coffee making facilities in the room, so we could have our morning cuppa, and we also asked for a fridge too so we could have "proper" milk. The supermarket Duane Read was just across the road for that.The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the concierge desk gave us info on absolutely everything we asked them. The gift shop in the basement was extremely good value for money if you needed to buy souvenirs, and the Tick Tock diner - accessible through the Hotel lobby - was atmospheric if a little on the pricey side. We did like their menu though! Will probably chose the New Yorker for our next trip in 2014!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I had to check in early for this hotel and they were very accommodating. So convenient to Penn Station and felt safe even walking the two blocks at midnight. Would stay here again. Well-priced for the neighborhood. Close to garment district and a short walk to Macy's.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank acushla52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Warwick New York
Warwick New York
#106 of 469 in New York City
4,407 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 469 in New York City
19,269 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 469 in New York City
7,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#265 of 469 in New York City
4,807 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#196 of 469 in New York City
9,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Green Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
#180 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 10,407 - ₹ 28,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing