We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great building, great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #271 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great building, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Loved this hotel! Nice rooms. It has alot of great and quite funny history.. Very New York.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniellemj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

10,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,450
    4,549
    1,817
    549
    344
See reviews for
3,004
3,684
547
1,224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

Hotel could not have had a better location. The Empire State Building was less than 10 minutes away and we could see it in all its glory from our hotel windown, Madison Square Garden is also next to the hotel - main subway station across the road, everything in midtown and upper Manhattan within walking distance - Times Square, Central Park, 5th Avenue, Grand Central, Rockefeller Centre. You can catch the subway across the road to the 9/11 Memorial which is about 10 minutes away by subway. The Brooklyn Bridge and Staten Island Ferry are also in downtown Manhattan so you can get a subway directly to these as well. The hotel was really great - friendly staff, clean, excellent lifts (which helps a lot because the hotel is about 44 floors high and we were on the 35th floor!). Maceys is also nearby with enough other shops to keep any shopaholic in heaven! The Tick Tock Diner attached to the hotel is great too - although we did find other diners in the area for breakfast after the first day. There are so many places to eat (with huge portions!) you will be spoilt for choice. The hotel could not be better placed. Some people said their rooms were too small but we did not find this - we travelled with our teenage sons and shared a room and it was fine. After all, you will be so busy that it is just a place to shower and sleep. The beds are soooo comfortable and you will have the best nights sleep ever with all the walking and exploring you will be doing! Will most definitely visit again and would have not hesitation in recommending. Also recommend the helicopter ride!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonfamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for the compliment! We sincerely appreciate the 5 star recommendations. We trust that you had an enjoyable stay, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I don't usually care for bigger hotels, but the proximity to Penn Station/subway, government rate, and Art Deco elegance made up for it. Entrance to Penn Station is right across the street, and you really feel like you're in New York here. Beautiful lobby, nicely restored. Front desk is a little brisk, but that's to be expected in a large, busy hotel. Despite a lot of others arriving when we did, check-in was quick and painless, no trouble with our government rate either.

Our room (29th floor) was exactly what I asked for. Not large, but we had a corner room with two exposures, so it didn't feel cramped, and we could bring in fresh air. Nice view overlooking 8th Avenue. Full-size, two sided closet was nice for two travelers. Iron/ironing board, and luggage stand were handy. Bathrooms are not large, but ours had a window! and was well equipped. Plenty of hot water. Comfortable beds. separate chair and desk were included.

Furnishings are quite nice, authentic art-deco reproductions made the room feel elegant, as are the elevator lobbies. Someone has put a lot of tthought and work into to maintaining the character of the hotel, and it shows. Nick and Nora Charles would be at home here! Art deco enthusiasts (and even purists) will approve.

We didn't make it to Cooper's Tavern, but it looked like a nice spot for a drink, burger, etc.

Our rate included a substantial continental breakfast Friday, at a 39th floor lounge with terrific views. Saturday included full breakfast at the Tick Tock diner. Large and busy, but service was quick/friendly, and food was very good. Get there early before lines get too long!

Concierge desk was accomodating, and helped us locate Birdland. We checked our luggage before a 2 PM train, bell staff were friendly, took good care of my suitcases, and we had no delays.

Overall, we had a nice experience, and would easily stay here again. If you dislike bland, chain hotels, and want a little elegant NY feel to where you stay, this is a great place. This location comes with a bit of a premium (not so much as Times Square though), but in this case, is well worth it.

Room Tip: If small rooms make you claustrophobic, ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mjeffersondc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
We're glad you liked our location, and wished our room size was more suitable for you. We look forward to serving you again in the future.


Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed there last summer and it was a very pleasant stay. We just got married and they gave us a bigger room than what we had since we booked with expedia and expedia gives always small room. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. The location was amazing and close to everything.

Room Tip: dont book with expedia always gives small rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valeriaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Brilliant hotel - very central. very helpful staff - very friendly cleaning staff.
Very very clean hotel. the last night of our stay there was a big accident on 6th avenue (2 blocks away from the hotel) however this accident took out some water mains which left a few hotels without hot water. The hotel compensated everyone - we got about 35% discount off our bill even though this accident was beyond the hotel's control. very very accomadating staff. Will def. stay there again.

Room Tip: best hotel I've stayed in , in New york - good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,850 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,705 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#325 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#217 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,653 reviews
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,004 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#194 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,712 - ₹ 27,053
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing