We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location but not good for tall people” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #274 of 463 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location but not good for tall people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Spent 4 nights in NYC thought this hotel had perfect location for shopping and sightseeing.
Prices were reasonable.
Reception team need to work on their customer service skills though as some were quite rude, not necessarily to us but to other customers which was very embarrassing to witness. The security team though was very welcoming each night that we returned to hotel.
The rooms were clean, housekeeping team did a good job but to be honest the beds were very short in length I'm only 5'10" (175cm) and feet went past the edge. Ultimate power showers though bordering on jet washing!!
The Tick Tock diner was very useful as open 24hr and they do takeaway - amazing cheesecake.
If like us you don't spend much time in the room the details don't matter and the location outweighs everything

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraPPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

10,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,336
    4,427
    1,784
    539
    332
See reviews for
2,915
3,582
531
1,176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,078)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We had a great time in NYC the last weekend of January. This was the second time that we stayed at this hotel. The staff was wonderful, except for the guys that watched luggage after check out. These guys had zero personality, and actually, the desk folks were pretty curt also. They all did their jobs very well, but not a happy bunch. The concierge was spectacular! The door man had his own agenda...but in the in did us a big favor. We like the bar attached to the hotel, and the wonderful service people that worked there.

The New Yorker is so well situated...MSG across the street. Subway right on the corner for coming and going, and within walking distance of Chrysler Building and Empire State! Fun little restaurants and little shops for food and fun.

We had such a wonderful time in NYC, we were there for 4 days, saw so much, and met so many wonderful people that were so willing to help us find where we were going and how to use the subways and where places were. We came home thinking that everything we had heard of NYC was just so wrong. Not one bad experience, not one issue with anyone. And the weather was amazing. Sixty degrees riding in a pedicab in Central Park. We had a list of want to sees ~ and we got to 99% of it, and saw a few things on the spur of the moment!

Room Tip: If you are there to see the sights, and won't be in your room much take an interior room. We le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c52larson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Just had another great stay at this hotel. Cannot fault it at all, rooms fairly small but good for NYC and they are always clean and tidy. We always find the staff helpful and pleasant especially in the Tick Tock Diner, which does a very nice blueberry pancake!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Good location, clean and ccomfortable. Check in was immediate (at 11 am) and the staff friendly. Pleanty of coffee shops near by and one block from the subway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keiko3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Book in was fast and efficient considering it was Christmas Eve. Girl at check-in said we had booked a room with two double beds. Told her we only needed one, so she said she would give us a good room. She didn't lie. I think you would call it a corner suite with plenty of space in the room, large bathroom and even a walk in wardrobe type room. Add to that a beatiful view of the Empire State building, so satisfaction all round.

On our first night we had dinner in Copper's. Would say it was a bit pretentious for our liking but food was good. Also had a bite in the Tick Tock Diner. Food was great but service was poor due some poor server being required to serve too many tables while a gentlemen who I assume to be management sat aimlessly at the till, message to management "when busy help out".

As others have said, the hotel's location is excellent with subway across the road and various sites like Times Square close by.

Would gladly recommend this hotel to family & friends and am already planning the trip back to NY & The New Yorker.

Room Tip: Look for a corner suite (not sure if this is extra, but worth it!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#337 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 14,164 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,541 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#329 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#218 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,570 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#272 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,991 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#139 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,489 - ₹ 28,330
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing