We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Ranked #271 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Just had another great stay at this hotel. Cannot fault it at all, rooms fairly small but good for NYC and they are always clean and tidy. We always find the staff helpful and pleasant especially in the Tick Tock Diner, which does a very nice blueberry pancake!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

10,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,443
    4,537
    1,814
    547
    344
See reviews for
2,998
3,672
543
1,223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Good location, clean and ccomfortable. Check in was immediate (at 11 am) and the staff friendly. Pleanty of coffee shops near by and one block from the subway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keiko3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Book in was fast and efficient considering it was Christmas Eve. Girl at check-in said we had booked a room with two double beds. Told her we only needed one, so she said she would give us a good room. She didn't lie. I think you would call it a corner suite with plenty of space in the room, large bathroom and even a walk in wardrobe type room. Add to that a beatiful view of the Empire State building, so satisfaction all round.

On our first night we had dinner in Copper's. Would say it was a bit pretentious for our liking but food was good. Also had a bite in the Tick Tock Diner. Food was great but service was poor due some poor server being required to serve too many tables while a gentlemen who I assume to be management sat aimlessly at the till, message to management "when busy help out".

As others have said, the hotel's location is excellent with subway across the road and various sites like Times Square close by.

Would gladly recommend this hotel to family & friends and am already planning the trip back to NY & The New Yorker.

Room Tip: Look for a corner suite (not sure if this is extra, but worth it!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RB1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have just recently returned from a 4 night stay in New York with my 21 year old son. This was our first time in the big apple and we stayed at The New Yorker Hotel. We read lots of reviews, some good and some not so good, but we found the hotel to be all we wanted. If you are after an ultra modern hotel, then this is not for you, but if you want very well placed, clean, characterful & comfortable hotel that offers great rooms with great views and good quality, if a little older than some, fixtures & fittings, then this is place for you.
Very well placed and within walking distance of the main attractions. Staff were very good, but not over poweringly "helpful"!

Room Tip: Go for an room on the 30+ fllor - better views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerryJezbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Martha Vic Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Three of us spent a week in a one bedroom suite at The New Yorker in April 2011. The location of this art deco hotel is fantastic. We could walk almost everywhere we wanted to go. The suite was more than big enough for 3 adults and we had the added bonus of a huge outdoor patio from which we could see the river to the left and the Chrysler building to the right. Bathroom was on the old side but you don't spend much time there and it was more than adequate.I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyl3934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestResponse, Public Relations Manager at The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for choosing the Hotel New Yorker.
We appreciate your positive feedback of your visit with us.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy to hear the location was convenient to you and you had to enjoy the city.
We look forward to your next visit with us.

Eric Bryant, Marketing/PR
The New Yorker Hotel
ebryant@nyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#339 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15,674 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#143 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,691 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#326 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square
Millennium Broadway New York Tim...
#274 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,998 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,649 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhat...
#195 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel

Property: The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
Address: 481 8TH Avenue, New York City, NY 10001-1809 (Formerly Wyndham New Yorker Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Green Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
#175 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#222 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,622 - ₹ 27,075
Hotel Class:4 star — The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1050
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Yorker Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in New York City. Come revel in the newly re-imagined grandeur of our historic hotel. Our newly renovated and upgraded guest rooms and suites deliver contemporary comforts that leave nothing to be desired for today’s business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Yorker Ramada Plaza
Ramada New York City
Ramada Plaza New Yorker Hotel
New York City Ramada
New Yorker Hotel New York
Ramada Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing