We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best secret in NYC!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phillips Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phillips Club
Ranked #334 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best secret in NYC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

While mainly an extended stay hotel, you can also do shorter stays here. They all come with a kitchen, which saves a LOT of money while in NYC. The staff is lovely and the place great. Free laundry machines on every floor so you can under pack and wash. They don't have room service or other hotel like amenities, but you are literally across the street from the subway, and lincoln center, and I could not imagine staying anywhere else. I have also stayed at the Trump which I found laughable in terms of how nasty the employees are. And the STandard downtown, while gorgeous views, have rooms so small they are laughable.

Room Tip: The facing 66th one bedrooms have a lot more space, but not much view/light... The one bedrooms tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Writerguy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, 19 May 2016
I like secrets but thank you for getting the word out about The Phillips Club! Even a Studio here is larger than most hotel Suites! We don't tolerate 'rude or nasty'. We are here to serve and do so with a smile and we genuinely appreciate our guests. You have selected us and we must live up to your expectations!

Thank you and hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    23
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
20
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I love everything about this place. The location is great, (just two locks from Lincoln Center) All around are excellent cafes, pizzerias, grocery stores and terrific shopping. The rooms vary in size from studios to two bedroom units but each one is spacious, modern and well appointed. You could easily stay for a week or two and feel like you are home. You can access private storage and leave what you want behind for use upon your next visit.. The doormen are professional and the front desk will accept deliveries for you and place the in your room when you are out. Nice in room amenities such as a music system, Sat TV, and twice daily housekeeping. The staff is top notch and he rooms are as nice as anything. Their is 24 hour room service from 3 local eateries and they deliver good food, quickly!

Room Tip: If possible try and get the street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jpresskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, 20 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review! The Phillips Club is unique in that it is partly Fractional Ownership entity and partly a Hotel as well. It is by far the best way to own a piece of New York without committing to an expensive condo or coop model. It is also a hotel offering the largest rooms in NYC and one of the best neighborhoods!

Hope to see you soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

In planning for my recent NYC trip with three friends, the Phillips Club did not show up in my hotel searches. I wasn't even aware of it until a friend made a recommendation. I'm glad we ended up staying there! The apartment-style room (with kitchen and living room) provided plenty of space. The decor is classy and everything seemed to be of fairly good quality, though some things were showing wear & tear. I wasn't expecting much from the pull-out bed in the living room, but the one in this room was just awful. Hotel staff was generally helpful, though most were not especially friendly nor did they go out of their way to ensure a pleasant visit. What I liked most about the Phillips Club were the quiet environment & upscale residential feel... and, above all, the fantastic W 66th Street location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, 23 May 2016
Thank you for your Review! Since your review was written in 2011, we have undergone quite a renovation and if you return (which we hope you will soon), you will find many wonderful changes. The Phillips Club is unique in that rooms are more like Suites and have full kitchens. The location is absolutely superb (and this from someone who came from Midtown). I wish I had started my career here!

Hope to see you soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

I just love staying at the Phillips Club. The location is wonderful. Bus pick up right outside the door, subway 100 feet, grocery store next door, spa next door, health club across the street. What more can you ask for. I have been to NYC many times before and this is the best location by far. Close to everything and easy access. You will enjoy.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a small balcony. You can face 66th which is nice or for a quiter view the inside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamba G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Truly! What more can you ask for? Thank you for your wonderful review. You mentioned most everything. I would add that the size of the rooms is truly a plus. Even if one is on his / her own, it is nice to feel like you are in an apartment and not a small hotel room.

Hope to see you again!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, MD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I have to first of all thank the doormen, they were so sweet and helpful. The location is fantastic, near Lincoln Center, grocery store, wonderful cafes and restaurants, and of course Central Park. We stayed in a one bedroom exec suite. It had all the amenities including a kitchen that had everything you would ever need. The apartment was huge. My husband is handicapped and has to use a powerchair so having a lot of room is important for him to maneouver. This apartment was perfect for him. Only issue was we had booked an accessible room and they put us in a regular room. Within half an hour they had corrected the problem and relocated us to a more suitable room. We throroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifish222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Phillips Club, responded to this review, 25 May 2016
Thank you so much! Even the Studios here are larger than many hotel suites! I am sorry about the mix up and am happy we were able to accommodate your husband. The kitchen does come in handy, especially late at night or early in the morning when you don't feel like getting dressed for breakfast!

Hope to see you again soon!

Regards,

DR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#396 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#319 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,459 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#53 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#203 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#285 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#123 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phillips Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phillips Club

Property: Phillips Club
Address: 155 W 66th St, New York City, NY 10023-6501
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in New York City
#194 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 28,173 - ₹ 35,216
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phillips Club is a unique residential-style hotel in the heart of Lincoln Square - 1 block from Lincoln Center, 2 blocks from Central Park. We are surrounded by theaters, lovely boutiques and the area is a gourmet lovers paradise! Accommodations start at 400 square feet (twice the size of average hotel rooms) with full kitchens. Guests receive access to one of the best fitness locations in the city - Equinox, with a swimming pool, running track, outdoor lounge area and indoor cafe. The subway is half a block away and we are walking distance to many of New York's sights! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phillips Club Hotel New York City
Phillips Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing