We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveller rating
537
370
86
30
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
537
370
86
30
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen upper east side subway construction one bedroom apartment sinai hospital living room second avenue central park new york washer and dryer museum mile great apartment laundry facilities home away from home front desk staff higher floor the upper floors
Filter
Updating list...
583 - 588 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2012

For our 25 anniversary we visited New York City in July 2012. We booked this hotel through Wotif.com and did not have any expectations only that it would be a good because of previous bookings with Wotif. We were blown away with this hotel. The hotel upgraded us to a suite. Everything about the hotel was exceptional. The staff were professional, courteous and kind. The hotel was clean and had all the amenities that you could want (fitness room, in suite laundry facilities, internet, etc,) The suite was huge!!! We couldn't believe that it had a balcony. The views were spectacular with the large windows on three sides of the suite. The lobby was quaint with old world charm and the complimentary lemonade was delicious. The location was close enough to many sites, shopping and restaurants. My only regret was that we didn't stay here for the three nights we were in New York. Thank you Marmara for making our anniversary extra special. (sorry we took so long to review, but we always intended to say thanks for the memories)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judiroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

Our professional staff were enchanted you chose to spend such a monumental celebration with us here at the “exceptional” Marmara. It is so encouraging to hear their great effort doesn’t go unnoticed.
We will mend that regret when you return to celebrate your Golden anniversary week with us, to our delight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

we stayed at the Marmara because of the location. we had a great experience. The kitchenette was a great size for a short stay with a full-sized oven and refrigerator. The room was a comfy size with plenty of storage. My only complaint is that the street noise was a bit much. I will ask for a higher floor-we were on the 4th.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor to avoid the street noise.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC-travel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

We always are grateful the Upper East Side location is a draw for making new friends that report a great experience. Grievance aside, we will be pleased to be your New York destination when returning to find the clamor has blossomed into our own Subway stop.

Thank you for taking the time to support us with your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We booked this hotel for our family to stay at for my daughter's wedding November 1st. Well, Superstorm Sandy hit. One phone call to the Marmara and a wonderful gentleman, Dennis, made what could have been a disaster a seamless transition. He was SOOOO accommodating changing our arrival/departure dates and even was able to rearrange so that all the family had rooms on the same floor once he realized why we were there. We had a 3-bedroom suite, a 1-bedroom suite, and a studio booked. Everything was beautiful and in a great location. Awesome and reasonable restaurant and deli across the street and easy access to cabs...EVEN DURING POST SANDY... I would recommend this hotel to anyone and it is now our go to hotel for any trips the family takes to NYC.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefanie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2012

"Your magnificent evaluation “Rocks”!
It is forever our goal, to seamlessly accommodate through any storm that may hit.
Congratulations again to the happy couple and your “Go To” hotel will expect to Toast your 1st anniversary come rain or shine.......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Ah, how it hurts to be sitting here at home today, recalling our wonderful suite! So large, clean, BRIGHT, well-equipped and comfy! At night, we'd lift our sore feet & stare happily out the window at the gorgeous city lights. The TV monitor was lovely, but the massive windows were better. Noise from other suites was nonexistant while in our room. Sadly, noise from new subway line construction was awful - but they stop during night (start early, boo) and on weekends. Earplugs fixed this problem, although I'm not a fan of earplugs. Although we love a king bed when on getaways, the queen and bedding was superbly comfy... hard to get up & start your NYC morning, but it was made easier with the full kitchen. Big thanks, Dennis & Ashley for ALL of your efforts & chats, and for finding a charger that worked for my cell! I could do a long stay at Marmara verrrrrrrrry easily. Missing it so much already.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Front Office Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

So Verrrrrry pleased you enjoyed your time in New York. We return your “big thanks” for your response, always thrilled to see the words “large, clean and BRIGHT”.
During your loooooong stay, think how spectacular and “awful” convenient that subway entrance will be. Anticipating that wonderful day, your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My husband and I just returned home after a 12 night stay at the Marmara and can't say enough about our positive experience. We drove to NYC ahead of Hurricane Sandy as all flights were cancelled during the week. My surgery at Mount Sinai Hospital was scheduled for Nov. 1 so I knew we had to "beat the storm". From the moment we entered the lobby we were greeted with a smile from Dennis at the front desk who continued to make us feel welcome throughout our stay. We had an opportunity to observe Dennis and other reception desk personnel and were impressed with how gracious and accommodating they were with all inquiries and guests throughout a difficult period with both Hurricane Sandy and the Nor'easter the following week. Never did we see them respond rudely or in an unfriendly manner. Considering they were on duty without going home (due to the storm) for at least 3 days, they maintained their professionalism and friendly demeanor throughout.
The Marmara was "home" to my husband and family throughout my hospital stay. Whatever they needed was provided quickly and efficiently. Our 1-bedroom suite was perfect. The kitchen was spotless and well-equipped with dishes, glassware, cookware, etc, including a full-size refrigerator and dishwasher. In addition to a dining table which seats 4, there was a desk with computer outlets (and free Wi-Fi) and very good lighting. Our daughters said the sofabed in the living room was comfortable. The queen-sized bed was very comfortable with high-quality sheets and comforter. There was ample closet space in both the bedroom and living room area, including a spacious pantry which was more than we needed. The bathroom was relatively small but more than adequate. We loved the extra-large towels and amenities. There is a large mirror-faced medicine cabinet with more than enough space for toiletries.
If we were to make any recommendation it would be to consider updating the carpet in the hallway on our floor and perhaps increase the lighting which was a bit dim.
All in all, the Marmara will be our "home" for future visits to NYC. We made a reservation for my post-surgery appointment in a few weeks and look forward to our visit. Kudos to Dennis and staff for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: Upper floor helps decrease noise from 2nd Ave. subway construction.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurselawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Front Office Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2012

What an overwhelming review! We were truly honored to find a new member of our “home away from home” family. The old adage comes to mind “what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”. Your thoughtful words were shared with the entire staff. Upon your return we will only order resplendent weather, enormous thanks for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews