We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean spacious well -equipped accommodation, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #160 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Stayed there for five days last week. It is true it is on the Upper East side and away from main tourist drag but we wanted to be near our son and see our first grandchild and they live nearby so that was fine for us. Anyway it is very near the 6 line and an easy ride direct into downtown and Grand Central etc. It is also near Central Park and the museums on the Upper East Side and a short walk to the East River.

There were three of us so we went for a 4 person occupancy of a standard suite and we were very pleased with it. There were two spacious rooms, one a bedroom with a tv and a separate sitting room with a double sofa bed, tv and dvd player and a dining table and chairs for eating plus a fully equipped kitchen. Lots of wardrobe space. We made our own breakfast each morning which we liked doing. There was ample hot water, air cond worked and room was kept immaculate by the maid service.There is also free wifi throughout, including guest access with printers in reception where we printed off our boarding passes.

We had a 7th floor room and this is probably the minimum height you need to be at see above the opposite housing and view the NY skyline which was great when it lit up at night as our rooms had very large windows. It is true there is a lot of construction work outside and down 2nd avenue for the new metro and it starts early but it stops late evening. But while we were there it was not every day, as they move the heavy gear up and down the street to work on different sections each day. In any case we come from London and live near Heathrow so we are used to some noise. Besides we were out every day so a bit of noise in the evening was not going to bother us.

If you want value for money, then we found the Marmara was very good and would certainly recommend it. There is no restaurant but I believe there is a gym and laundry facilities.

Room Tip: Try to get one higher up (7th floor above) - less noise from construction and better views, also try...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank usignuolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear usignuolo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Marmara Manhattan. We really appreciate your feedback as it is highly valued by all of our team members. We will make sure to share your kind words with the entire team.
Hoping to welcome you again soon,

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (908)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 522 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed for 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment condo. I thought the hotel staff provided excellent service, answered any questions we had and was very accomodating. Walk to the subway was only a couple blocks but could be troublesome for older guests needing assistance with walking. Closest station not handicap friendly, which is obviously not the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Mandee84,
We really appreciate that you took the time to write a review regarding your stay. We always want to make sure that all your needs are met. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Stayed there for 4 nights. These were formerly condominiums so they are very spacious with a full kitchen, washer dryer, living room, dining room, etc.
The beds were clean and firm and the staff very friendly and eager to please. Even though there is construction going on in the street, the noise level was not as bad as we expected and none during the night.
Will definetly go back. Great value

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidB5395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear DavidB5395,

Thank you sincerely for sharing your experience with us. We greatly value the input provided by our guests to make sure that we are doing our job! We hope to have you back with us in the near future,

Warmest Regards,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights over New Year on our first trip to New York. We wanted somewhere where we had a bit of space and the apartment was ideal.
We had everything we needed and the heaters kept the rooms nice and warm.
It's only a short walk from the subway and we bought a weeks pass which worked out as good value for money for getting about the city.
There are plenty of places nearby for food and we can thoroughly recommend the Barking Dog further along 94th. Ate dinner twice there and breakfast once and it was delicious and a nice friendly atmosphere.
The highlight of our trip was taking part in the Emerald Nuts Midnight Run round Central Park at midnight on New Years Eve. A brilliant and fun way of seeing in 2012. We've already agreed that we're going to go back and do it again in a few years time if they keep it going.
We paid a visit to Ground Zero site which was very moving. Be prepared for some inconsiderate visitors though who do not see it as disrespectful to pose for photos perched on top of the names of those who lost their lives.
If you are an emergency service worker ( as we both are) you might want to visit St Pauls Chapel near Ground Zero. It's where a lot of the workers would rest and take refuge in the days that followed. If you're a police officer there is a collection of badges from around the world there that have been left in remembrance which you can add yours to if you wish.
There is so much that we haven't seen and I'm sure we'll be visiting New York again on many a visit. We'll also be happily staying at the Marmara again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadsab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Nadsab,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Marmara Manhattan and in New York. I am sure all readers would appreciate the tips you have provided about a trip to New York City. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your loved ones again to The Marmara Manhattan during your upcoming visits.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel is nowhere near what they described on their website. The pictures on their website are totally misleading!!! Our room was like an old and poor soundproofed studio apartment on the fifth floor of the building. There is no way for us to feel it like a hotel at all! However the worst has yet to come. After a long drive to the city, we really needed a nice and soundless sleep. However, we could hear cars drive by the hotel during the night and nonstop subway construction noise right next to the hotel from 7am in the morning! In our opinion, this old apartment building cannot be called as a hotel in regards of its room condition and soundproof; it’s just a motel standard building! We will never return for a room which was like a 1 star but at 3 star price!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Dear amy c,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. Unfortunately there isn't much we can control over the noise levels of the subway construction. We would have hoped that you would have mentioned your discomfort during your stay so it could have been addressed immediately.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#295 of 469 in New York City
894 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#191 of 469 in New York City
795 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#402 of 469 in New York City
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#143 of 469 in New York City
213 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
270 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#139 of 469 in New York City
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 9,358 - ₹ 28,529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing