We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good experience!! Close to Museum Mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #175 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very good experience!! Close to Museum Mile”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

At first we were very concerned when we arrived to 2nd Avenue and we saw the subway construction that was there. But we were pleasantly surprised when we were shown our 1 bedroom suite on the 22nd floor. It had a great view, nice light wooden furniture and the bed was very good. However, the sofa bed was not as good as the rest of the furniture and it was a little difficult to handle. The kitchen was nice and very well equipped. The apartment was very clean and the towels were of very good quality. It was also difficult to adjust the heater to the desired temperature. The noise of the construction was not really a problem since we were on the 22nd floor, but some dust clouds at the entrance of the Hotel bothered us when we were going out or coming back.
The location was very good, close to the Museum Mile, and despite the construction we really enjoyed our stay there and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingrid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Ingrid A,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We will make sure to share your kind words with our entire team. We are very aware of the inconveniences caused by the subway construction however we also appreciate the efforts of the city trying to improve the quality of our lives. We hope to get a chance to welcome you and/ or your loved ones in the near future.
Sincerely,
The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    318
    73
    28
    21
See reviews for
360
227
34
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed at the Marmara Feb 10 for the weekend. Our daughter moved to Manhattan in September and this was our first weekend visit. We chose the Marmara because it is directly across the street from her apartment and because of the glowing reviews on TA. We paid for a studio ($169) but were thrilled to be upgraded to a one-bedroom on the 8th floor upon arrival. The apartment was lovely, clean and super spacious, especially for NYC. The view was amazing. Yes, there is major construction going on out front but it was no problem getting around and the noise was minimal. The apartment had every amenity you could ask for. The doorman was so helpful and all the staff we came across were warm, friendly and eager to please. We really felt we hit the jackpot with this place and it will be our "go to" place when visiting NYC. The Upper East Side was such a nice change from downtown! Nicks Restaurant across the street from Marmara had fantastic food, best veal I've EVER had and their pizza is amazing too. The Barking Dog for breakfast was amazing with the most unusual omlettes. We walked to Central Park and Museum Mile which were lovely. Can't wait for our next stay and exploring more of the Upper East Side!

Room Tip: An upper floor is a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrannyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear FrannyK,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Marmara Manhattan. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We highly value your opinion as it is the best way to measure how well we do our jobs. We look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to New York City.
Sincerely,
The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chartres, France
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I've booked for my daughter 'Christmas a 5 days 3 nights in the Marmara Hotel. One week just before flying (from 03/3 to 03/7/12) I add two person in my one bedroom suite standard (my son and his girl friend) and all the employees were able to find a great solution.

The "flat" is functional with a complete kitchen and a great view from the balcony.

I would like to say thanks to Maureen and Ashley for their great help and welcome.


I would book this hotel again.


A special thanks to the taxi driver (EDDY 9179302046) to bring us quickly from newark to the hotel (plus he spoke French)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear philippe m,

Thank you sincerely for sharing your experience here at The Marmara Manhattan. Guest reviews are highly regarded as we believe it is a great way to assess our services and product. We will make sure to share your kind words with the entire team. We truly hope to see you again during your upcoming visits to New York City.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My group booked five rooms/apts for our stay recently and had a decent stay at Marmara. The apts are spacious, the staff helpful and friendly. There are many restaurants nearby and the subway is convenient.

However, all five of our apartments are NOT renovated and look like they were last updated in the 1970's or 80's. They do NOT look like the renovated rooms that you see in the professional photos on their website or here on Tripadvisor. It's all about expectations and it is deceptive to advertise such opulence, when in reality, the apartments are quite dated and old. In addition, there is currently significant construction in that neighborhood which makes it difficult to catch a taxi at times and quite noisy at times even with the windows shut.

I don't know how may rooms have been renovated but if you were to choose Marmara, ask specifically for a renovated room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank justamreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear justamreally,

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. We will make sure to share your feedback with the entire team. We hope to welcome you back during your upcoming visits.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Great location.
Great apartment, very high standard.
Well equipped kitchen covering all the basic needs.
Friendly and professional staff.

Highly recommendable!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Jonathan S,

Thank you for writing a review about your experience here at The Marmara Manhattan. We will make sure to share your kind words with the entire team. We are hoping to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#257 of 468 in New York City
728 reviews
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#284 of 468 in New York City
819 reviews
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#127 of 468 in New York City
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#384 of 468 in New York City
695 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#70 of 468 in New York City
1,818 reviews
Upper East Side
The Surrey
The Surrey
#73 of 468 in New York City
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Property: The Marmara Manhattan
Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
#170 Business Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,298 - ₹ 26,655
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing