We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem on the upper east side”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marmara Manhattan
Ranked #166 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the Maramara on Dec 21-23. This is actually our second time staying there.
The location really is quite good. You are about a 3 minute walk from the subway and like most places in NYC its easy to get a taxi.
We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit at (775.00 a night ) It has a kitchen and 2 bathrooms- and a laundry machine. The views are decent as well and there is a TV in all 3 bedrooms. They do come and do a quick tidy up and change the towels as well.
There is a grocery store near by and a good cafe - The Black Dog - great breakfast. There is a small gym - but it would do in a pinch if you felt compelled to workout.
Every staff member we have met was super friendly.

Really we would not stay anywhere else in NYC. Value for money I think is very tough to beat!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boomerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

Dear boomerusa,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Marmara Manhattan. We hope that you will continue to stay us in the future.
Looking forward to meeting again soon,

Sincerely,

The Marmara Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (907)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 546 of 907 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2012

The staff is very helpful and nice. Always a smile and do you need anything if you approached the desk. You will not feel like you are staying in a hotel but like you live in NYC and this is your residence. We had a 3 bedroom 3 bath for X-mas week. The place was awesome with so much space because the bedrooms were big and the bathrooms. The best, you had a full kitchen and could make a breakfast before heading out which saves you money. The subway was a quick walk and its nice to get lost the best part and when you learn the routes you definitely feel like you live there. The Taxi rides were never over 20 (was holiday so a lot of traffic) and if you take the subway just take a Taxi back. Overall, if you want to experience NYC you don't need a fancy place because the time you spend in a room is only for sleep. However, this place is a clean, spacious, and attentive place that's inexpensive place to stay. Now, I would recommend a little TLC because it does show a little use the rooms like paint and new decor. Yet, for the time we were in the room it was nothing that bothered. Stay here if you want to experience living there, have a big group, and like space not the little hotel room.

Room Tip: Highest floor, the 3 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mercy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear mercy04,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very happy to hear that you felt like a local in the Big Apple! We hope that you will come to stay with us again during your future visits to New York City.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

OK, there are some drawbacks to this hotel - primarily the fact that it is really far from most of the action but we came here to be in the Upper East so it was perfect. If you want to be in the middle of Times Square or down in SoHo, expect long (expensive) taxi rides or some adventurous subway rides. Anyway, other than that, the only negative was the bed - not super comfy, a little over firm, but personally I slept like a rock.

The hotel is neat and unique - it is the only hotel I've stayed in in Manhattan that has a full kitchen. Apparently it was formerly an apartment complex but that's a killer advantage because the rooms are HUGE in comparison to midtown boutique places - for $195 (cheap by Manhattan standards) we got a full living room, a west-facing balcony, a full kitchen (yea, I mean a stove, a full fridge, microwave, sink and all the utensils), a pull-out sofa bed AND a full separate bedroom with a queen bed, two panel TVs, DVD player, a good sized bathroom. And the decor is very tasteful - from the chandelier-lighted elevators to the very whimsical artificial-grass-walled atrium - and it has a substantial gym AND laundromat in the hotel. Awesome.

Highly recommend this place, especially if you're keeping to the UES or if you need a lot of space (i.e. lots of family). Note - there is construction on Second Av (building a new subway) through 2016 but if you're above the 12th floor, you pretty much don't hear it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Mat R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Marmara Manhattan. We are very pleased to hear that you have found what you were looking for! We always try to provide the best service, unique living experience at an unbeatable value. We hope that you will choose to stay with us during your upcoming visit to the Big Apple.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The hotel website suggests a degree of luxury that almost certainly place is not having said this negative generally the place is functional and a good base for a long stay in NYC. We were there for 18 nights and so the 2 bedroom apartment worked much better than a hotel with two teenagers. The accommodation was average not luxury and the photos on the website are a little deceiving in this regard. For Australians they should know that a "fully equipped kitchen" is very American in interpretation and therefore very basic. I am sure the pans I used had never been used before. A complaint about the maids throwing things out they should not have was never dealt with and was not taken seriously. The gym is very basic but there are plenty
to choose from close by. There are heaps of stores to buy food from close buy and some restaurants but the better places need a cab or subway ride. It is walking distance to the major galleries and central park and close to a subway. If traveling with a large group, family or for a prolonged stay this place represents good value for money with daily room servicing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear Patricia P,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at The Marmara Manhattan. We highly value your feedback. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience regarding your missing items. Please contact us at sales@marmara-manhattan.com as we would like to further assist you as it seems to be unintentionally overlooked.
We hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My family needed a place to stay during our apartment renovation and what was supposed to be a month-long stay turned into two plus months. We were familiar with the area, which was a plus. The staff were unflailingly friendly and from what we could see, helpful to the numerous visiting families and groups staying at the hotel, from the doorman to the front desk staff. The doorman were always polite and helpful in getting a cab (which can be difficult because of the construction); the front desk staff recognized us each time we returned to the building.

The large one bedroom was typical of East Side rental apartments we had lived in in the past, as compared to a "hotel" look, and it had pleasant decor and enough cooking equipment, plates, glasses and utensils so that you could treat the place as a home and do cooking and laundry on site, or go out to the plentiful bars and restaurants NYC has to offer. We had a high floor with a balcony with nice views. There's no getting around the Second Ave subway construction, particularly with the expected terminus being at 96th Street, has had a significant effect on Second Avenue, which the building faces, and it is difficult to cross the street and it is dirty and the construction apparently only stops on Sundays. Nevertheless for visitors who know their way around NY or know where they are going, there's no reason to spend much time in the neighborhood, and if you are using the place mainly as a place to sleep and eat breakfast in (Dunkin Donuts and a better than average bagel shop within 2 blocks) with the once or twice pizza or Chinese food delivery on a rainy night then this is very good indeed for the money and the space, especially if you are in a large group. The Lexington Ave subway is very close; the Second Ave bus stops move because of the construction work and probably is best left to the adventurous or the locals. The East River in the other direction is also very close, and worth a stroll (you can get to a riverside walk at 96th Street under the FDR) to remind yourself Manhattan is an island surrounded by water.

Because we were a longer stay we had cleaning done weekly but had more than enough clean towels and supplies (soap, conditioner, etc) to last; and if we needed replenishing it was done promptly and courteously (there is no separate service elevator, so check ins/out, housekeeping, food and other deliveries share the two elevators with guests). The apartment was clean when we arrived and cleaned well enough each time.

All in all Marmara Manhattan is very good for either a short or a long stay for those who want to experience visiting and living in NYC.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YokohamaVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marmaramanhattan, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2012

Dear YokohamaVisitor,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here at The Marmara Manhattan. Guest reviews are highly important for us as we believe that it is one of the most accurate assessment of our services and product. It is a great pleasure to hear that we were able to provide you the comfort of your home during the renovation of your apartment.
We hope to host you or your loved ones in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Marmara Manhattan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upper East Side
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Upp...
#295 of 469 in New York City
894 reviews
Upper East Side
Hotel Wales
Hotel Wales
#203 of 469 in New York City
795 reviews
Upper East Side
The Franklin
The Franklin
#402 of 469 in New York City
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Marmara Park Avenue
The Marmara Park Avenue
#143 of 469 in New York City
213 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#34 of 469 in New York City
270 reviews
Upper East Side
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
Gardens NYC–an Affinia hotel
#85 of 469 in New York City
1,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Manhattan

Address: 301 East 94th Street, New York City, NY 10128-4718
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#139 Family Hotel in New York City
#166 Business Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 9,678 - ₹ 28,386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marmara Manhattan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marmara Manhattan offers a combination of studio, one, two and three bedroom suites for your travel needs; whether it is for a few days of vacation or a few months of stay in the exclusive Upper East Side neighborhood. You will only be a short distance away from famous New York City attractions like the Central Park, the Museum Mile and Madison Avenue boutiques. Our suites provide for all your comfort needs during a stay at your 'home-away-home' with fully equipped kitchens and plenty of sunlight. Hotel featues: Complimentary Wi-Fi, 24-hour concierge, 24-hour exercise room, art gallery, pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Marmara Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing